cantdecide wrote: » I'm asking out a girl from work on Tuesday coming. It may be a minor diplomatic incident if she says no but I doubt it will go so badly even if it's a negative answer. Either way, I have to know- I'll regret it forever if I don't ask- she's just too awesome and I'll regret it 1000 times more if I don't say something. Le gulp!
Elessar wrote: » Best of luck man! You're doing the right thing! Let us know what she says
Dial Hard wrote: » Lads, if I may: yis are all waaaaay overthinking this. If you like someone, ask them out. There are only two potential outcomes, neither of which is world-ending.
Mister Vain wrote: » Something similar happened to me. She went back home to lithuania before I got a chance to ask her out.
Dial Hard wrote: » Likewise, if you want to go out; go out. If you want to stay in; stay in. Calculating the enjoyability-factor of every single night out based on the likelihood of meeting someone strikes me as utterly depressing, not to mention as having the potential to be a bit of a self-fulfilling prophecy.
cantdecide wrote: » If that's aimed at me, I think it's a fair point but having reflected on it, I think it's too closely confined a work environment and it could get weird, realistically.
Wibbs wrote: » Aye. I didn't want to put you off CD, but I'm glad you didn't go through with it. As the saying goes "don't poo where you eat"(polite version ). It's a good metric to go by. Even if it goes well, it can and usually does get awkward down the line. If it goes badly? Well if she says no off the bat, then awkward is a near given, but over time that can fade. depends on the work environment. If it goes well initially and it's all love and roses and then you breakup? Atomic powered awkward. It's rarely worth it IMH. Not when the world is chockablock full of other women without that potential issue.
Deleted User wrote: » Yes the world is chockablock full of other women ....and men ....but if it was that easy to find "the one" this thread wouldn't exist . So many people struggle to find love .....despite knowing the world is full of potential partners .
[Deleted User] wrote: » Yes the world is chockablock full of other women ....and men ....but if it was that easy to find "the one" this thread wouldn't exist . So many people struggle to find love .....despite knowing the world is full of potential partners . I don't even think online dating, tinder or social media has made things easier . Easier to meet people , just as hard to find that special person .
Deleted User wrote: » Yes the world is chockablock full of other women ....and men ....but if it was that easy to find "the one" this thread wouldn't exist . So many people struggle to find love .....despite knowing the world is full of potential partners . I don't even think online dating, tinder or social media has made things easier . Easier to meet people , just as hard to find that special person .
Mister Vain wrote: » Yeah dating someone in work can be tricky alright. A few years ago I was with a girl I met in work and while it was great at the time, it got real awkward after we broke up, especially when she started going out with another guy in the same job. I have no regrets though. Neither of them work there anymore so its all good. I'd be a bit more wary now if I started dating a girl I work with but I would not let it put me off as its very difficult to meet someone you click with so you have to make the most of it. As for the online dating, it has always felt like an audition for me. Meeting someone in work or through mutual interests feels more natural.
cantdecide wrote: » Well, I have closure. We were at a work party tonight which was an unofficial plan B- unfortunately she was using the occasion to announce that she was handing in her notice and moving to London. I felt deflated to say the least but the moment presented itself to tell her that I was especially sad because I really liked her and was trying to find the right moment to ask her out. She was perfectly sweet about it as I knew she would be. I think she felt flattered and she made fun of me a little to lighten things. I'm glad I got it off my chest and I'm glad she was so sweet about it. /sigh
cantdecide wrote: » Holy carp. I'd forgotten how much the world of online dating sucks for a not very easy on the eye kind of guy. In the last two months, I've had just a handful of Tinder matches and a solitary conversation. I think I need an angle or something.
Dravokivich wrote: » I don't see online dating any different then trying to approach women anywhere else really. It can be a bit of an odd setting though, as in sometimes I just end up browsing through it and not really bothered engaging with anyone on it. EH, I'd recommend not coming up with an angle. I've seen a lot of women try it and I'm not sure if they know they are all doing pretty much the same angle.
Dravokivich wrote: » I don't see online dating any different then trying to approach women anywhere else really.
Wibbs wrote: » I would see quite the number of differences D. Much wider access for a minority and the sense of picking out items in an online shop. There's a different psychology and expectation to it. Then the "dating" itself is more like a bloody job interview. Online the top winners are women who are high middling to very attractive in photos, followed by extremely good looking in photos men. The lowest rung on the ladder would be the plainer guys. Even ladies with faces and figures better suited for radio generally get more attention.
cantdecide wrote: » As someone who doesn't have any high value USP's and isn't possessed of an especially sexy character or physicality (pragmatically speaking simply), my experience of OD is that I get a few hits from new users here and there but they soon realise they're spoilt for choice and I fall by the wayside. Let's not go down the nice guy fallacy road but realistically, as a single guy in OD, you simply must stand out in some way and if you don't you may be wasting your time. It's easy to see how normal guys self esteem can take a beating. When you complain, people tell you you have self esteem problems and take a break and others tell you to be more confident, which in itself is just a highly over-valued sales tool, IMO.
cantdecide wrote: » Wibbs, you're sounding very depressed and definitely definitely lacking self esteem. You should give it a break for now and work on your modesty/ humility confidence. Remember, only exceptional people find love.
Wibbs wrote: » I have zero idea of what you're on about there TBH CD. Not unless your first sentence is some sort of projection. Oh and muppets find "love" all the time.
Wibbs wrote: » Ah right. Feck. *sarcasm detector switched to ON"
Deleted User wrote: » Every time you post about dating and your experiences of it you comment on yourself negatively. That is your problem right there cd. Your lack of confidence in who you are and what you have to offer.