Neil3030 wrote: » I'm starting to think there's pressure on the national selectors to play centrally contracted players. When you look at the disproportionate amount of gametime given to players not in great form (Kearney, Trimble, C Healy) during the 6N etc - not a huge surprise that they were all centrally contracted. So I'm not sure I like the idea of central contracts being used because a certain province needs help to keep important players. This could (if I'm right about the pressure on selectors) wind up being to the detriment of the national team, no matter who the coach may be.
Deleted User wrote: » Exactly my point. Central contracts should be used to promote the national team, and retaining Zebo and Earls at the expense of Moore would appear to be a very poor piece of business.
Bazzo wrote: » I dunno if you're going for a hypothetical here, but if it's genuine speculation then there's absolutely no reason to believe at all that Zebo & Earls were retained at the expense of Moore.
.ak wrote: » Having said that before Moore got injured he looked on a downwards curve. He struggled with fitness and I'm not sure he would've held his place in the pecking order.
salmocab wrote: » This is an odd one I think keeping Earls was probably more important to Munster than Moore to Leinster but in the grand scheme Moore will be more important to Ireland over the next couple of years especially once Ross retires.
Deleted User wrote: » Wasn't it you who was pointing out Gilroy's try scoring record and and attacking threat whilst lamenting his exclusion on several if not multiple occasions?
Trimble has been much more commended than Earls for his contributions this 6N unfortunately for your arguments sake.
I thought I read a post by former Ireland coaching staff member Les Kiss that Olding is the real deal and he won't be leaving Ulster. Sure sounds ready to step up?
Are Earls and Zebo on anyone's horizons for Lions 2017 right now? Anyone? At all?
I think a lot of people are wondering about that, myself included. But at the same time, unlike anyone who has been mentioned in this post - at least he was at one time World Class.
awec wrote: » I would definitely say the three year deal given to Healy (now comfortably second choice) was a poorer decision.I would rather lose Healy to England than Moore, Zebo or Earls given that he struggles with injury and struggles with form. He may have been world class at one stage but he certainly hsan't been for a while
brokenhooker wrote: » Healy needs to rest until preseason begins. He is clearly not 100%.
CMOTDibbler wrote: » I'm not sure he needs rest, he's had plenty of that so far. He probably came back to early after the neck surgery and without the benefit of a pre-season when he was by necessity unfit. He couldn't do weights or even running until given the all clear by the surgeons. Straight into a RWC training camp and matches when he hadn't built himself back up properly was the mistake really. It's just time to build himself up, keep training and playing matches and he'll come good. A normal routine in other words.
Deleted User wrote: » Does that explain constant brain farts?
.ak wrote: » Tight heads are more important than utility backs. I'm not going to open up the can of worms that is a Zebo debate but I really don't think there's much between our back three players at the moment. Having said that before Moore got injured he looked on a downwards curve. He struggled with fitness and I'm not sure he would've held his place in the pecking order.
CMOTDibbler wrote: » Healy knows he's not up to par and he's not in a very good place as a result. Trying too hard to show he's still the player he was before the surgery is symptomatic.
brokenhooker wrote: » The last try Leinster scored against a team in the top half of the table was on New Years day.
dub_skav wrote: » Is that a problem? In their 10 matches since New Year's Day, Leinster have played twice against teams in the top half of the table and scored no tries in those 2 games. In their other 8 matches since New Year's Day, they scored tries. I'm not exactly sure what point you're trying to make, with such a limited sample size there's not much to take from it.
brokenhooker wrote: » Glasgow were effectively an A side, yet leinster were still incapable of scoring a try. Connacht do not have a good defense and Leinster were still incapable of scoring a try, in fact they looked bereft of ideas apart from one out runners. Where are the skills and backplay gone to in Leinster? Without Sexton leinster are a blunt object in attack against teams with a pulse.
irishbucsfan wrote: » It was a pretty poor attempt at obfuscation really, wan't it? Leinster have scored tries in 8/10 games since New Year's day. Not an awful rate of return.
Deleted User wrote: » Leinster also did not score tries in any match where they did not touch the ball down beyond their opponents try line
brokenhooker wrote: » and against good teams they havent scored.
stephen_n wrote: » In two games, hardly a crisis of epic proportions :rolleyes:
Deleted User wrote: » Leinster have not scored a single try from a top 12 opponent's conversion attempt since before the 25th June 2015.
Podge_irl wrote: » Neither in particularly good conditions.