Dubgal72 wrote: » ^^^^ I growled (yes, growled!) at a little fecker crossing my path this afternoon and realised a lap later that 'the rat' may belong to one of the school mammies
Neady83 wrote: » Talk about a week with everything thrown at it, long run, fartlek, rage run, intervals and a tummy bug thrown in for good measure. I'd have been curled up in a ball with that bug, takes mental strength to get over that quickly, kudos. Are you seeing a difference in your racing or recoveries with all the stretching and mobility work?
Hannibelle Smeeeth wrote: » Hah..Morto! That happened to me once with one of the mammies from the school..admittedly at a much slower speed .... but the little yoke made a run for my laces and i let a shout at it. It was attached to an extendable dog lead. She never apologised then, or in the yard and ive borne a grudge with her ever since :pac:
Chivito550 wrote: » Arrgh, I thought when you were looking for the 400m start line, you were going to be doing 400m time trials!
El Caballo wrote: » Jesus, that's fairly impressive especially this early in the year:). You'll smash that sub-5 this year, the speed is definitely there anyway. Don't think I would've been able to manage that session at the time when I ran 5.01 last year so you look to be well on track to go a lot faster.:)
Dubgal72 wrote: » Yes, but we still needed the same start line, yeah?! No, no time trials yet. I'd live to do a 400 and 800 but might have to bargain some sessions with coachy for something like that. Thanks El C. Yes, am really pleased with today's session and it's a good sign for the gradeds etc. I think another cycle of training laid down has made such a difference. The speed was there, now it's being backed up with strength. And I've said it before, but I think those killer hills were the icing on the cake. We won't be doing it this side of the relays, but wouldn't the real test here be to shorten the recoveries? Today's focus was on speed.
Dubgal72 wrote: » Thanks El C. Yes, am really pleased with today's session and it's a good sign for the gradeds etc. I think another cycle of training laid down has made such a difference. The speed was there, now it's being backed up with strength. And I've said it before, but I think those killer hills were the icing on the cake. We won't be doing it this side of the relays, but wouldn't the real test here be to shorten the recoveries? Today's focus was on speed.
KielyUnusual wrote: » I would say if you want a good indicator of your 1500/mile time then 8 X 400 with 90s recovery won't lead you too far wrong. So yea shorten the recoveries and increase the number of reps but hey its only March yet
Dubgal72 wrote: » 1) I swear I had 80 secs programmed into my inner metronome last year and was able to tell if the pace was off by two seconds either way...so off I went. A quick glance just before the half way mark (we were in lane 3) told me the pace was...ehm quicker than planned but felt comfortable. A little deadness in the last bit of the finishing straight had me wondering if Sunday's run was lingering in the legs. Nope, 74.5 secs was causing that Apologies to S and CC... 2) CC led the second one out. 75.xx. (Low 75) Ok, so we agreed that 'alea jacta est'/the pace had been set after this and we'd carry on, maybe pulling back slightly on the next two and just leaving the last two to whatever was left in the legs. 3) S led the third: 75.xx (slightly higher 75) 4) My turn again, really pulled back :rolleyes: 77** 5) CC again, back to 74.x (low 74) 6) S led out for a final 73.68
Mulberry wrote: » Gosh, brilliant to hit 75 (and less) on those, especially on your first session. And I'm very impressed that you were able to remain controlled, no jelly legs etc. Looking forward to seeing how next week goes!
Dubgal72 wrote: » This is a tough session, no doubt about it and when you're only on #1 or #2, mentally the session feels very long and tough. However, as the session progressed, I was pleased with how it felt on the final 100 on each, up until the last one, I felt I was pushing it but on cruise control with another gear to spare if needed. Pain wise, I emptied my mind and ran. Magic. It was more the immediate recovery (20 secs) which hurt. But with two to go it was all good Psychologically and physically, this session was nearly the equivalent of the Strathmore Road hill session when we did eight of those bad boys.
Murph_D wrote: » I'm not going to ask about this "rubber routine". And imagine not having any coconut flour. :roll eyes: Great session!
Tue PM: session in coachy's torture chamber to loosen out calves after track session. Left quad and upper right calf particularly tight. He also showed me an interesting new stretching technique using a latex rubber band or bicycle inner tube sliced open and cut to size. It involves wrapping the required body part quite tightly so the area resembles a very attractive looking piece of sausagemeat bursting out of its casing. In my case, it was my thigh just above the knee and my foot and ankle. You do a series of small pulsing movements and stretches using - like AIS - a rope to assist the final stretch. Another thing to add to my repertoire....just as I had slimmed down my 'stuff' to a manageable minimum
spaceylou wrote: » Sounds like a great session DG!! Having just failed to do a planned interval session properly today because I am basically a wuss - I was wondering, how exactly do you empty your mind? I am relatively good at the auld magic wand trick for longer runs but for short fast stuff (in my case attempted 400s) I really struggle. Oh and I am definitely borrowing that recipe for energy bar thingys
Dubgal72 wrote: » ... you literally make your mind go blank. ..
aero2k wrote: » My mind tends to be blank a worrying percentage of the time:eek: I'm also learning my own "rubber trick" but I won't go into the details.
Firedance wrote: » Just catching up here - I'm going to try those delicious treats! You can eat without running yes?! Those rubber bandit stretches are great & hilarious all at the same time I use an old bicycle tube.
Mulberry wrote: » Well, dying to know - did you do another 8 X 400 last night? We did 2X(3x400) w 2 min recovery. Very tough! I'm not even going to type in my times. Apart from hijacking your log they're mortifyingly far off yours. What's your target with these 400s? Assume you're doing the Leinsters on 5th June? What distance do you plan racing? (hope it's not mine!) (Actually, are you a master? Apologies if not!)
spaceylou wrote: » Mind yourself, and enjoy the rest for the next few days
Dubgal72 wrote: » I will thanks Am doing a TTTT as we speak
Firedance wrote: » A what? And shouldn't you be in bed? (An hour before midnight worth 2 after!)
Firedance wrote: » A what?
Dubgal72 wrote: » Hi Mulberry. Not pretty, see log update below Fair play and a 2 min recovery flies by, doesn't it :eek: The immediate target for these is the national road relays next week (10days). I imagine the next step would be to target race pace for the laps (back to 78/80 sec laps) and shorten the recovery. We'll see! As you will see below, my body is protesting loudly from the intense block of training involved so I have no idea what's next. The Leinster's are pencilled in but it all depends how the body holds up over the next few weeks. I'd be targeting the 1500 fyi and yes, I am well and truly a master - have been for quite some time What's your distance? Must get firedance to introduce us next race. Will you be at the relays?