manofwisdom wrote: » Wouldn't be looking at what was conceded more how many scoring chances were given away and the latter was alot yesterday where a better forward line than Mayo's would have made hay. As i said before the game the defence lacks structure and no Connacht title will be returning to Roscommon anytime soon unless that problem area is sorted out.
Syferus wrote: » The best defense in Ireland would give up a rake of scoring chances if they were under constant pressure play after play for 25 minutes straight. No defence can look good in that situation. We don't lack structure anymore. We lack personnel around the middle but hopefully over the next three months that will change. And to address the above poster, I don't think anyone from Roscommon that had any sense was expecting good things with Cian, Senan and Niall out on top of all the other injuries and seeing the state of the pitch, if Mayo could play all their matches on a heavy energy sapping pitch they'd have won the AI by now.
Syferus wrote: » The best defense in Ireland would give up a rake of scoring chances if they were under constant pressure play after play for 25 minutes straight. No defence can look good in that situation. We don't lack structure anymore. We lack personnel around the middle but hopefully over the next three months that will change. And to address the above poster, I don't thon anyone from Roscommon that had any sense was expecting good things with Cian, Senan and Niall out on top of all the other injuries and seeing the state of the pitch, if Mayo could play all their matches on a heavy energy sapping pitch they'd have won the AI by now.
Rawhead wrote: » If Roscommon could play all their football in February when they're at their peak ye would be grand.
nice_guy80 wrote: » We've been doing that for 3/4 seasons now. That's why we're second in Division one.
manofwisdom wrote: » 3 season ago Roscommon couldn't get out of division 3 and four seasons ago Roscommon were almost relegated back to Division 4. A far cry from now division one status secured with two games to spare.
nice_guy80 wrote: » We've been playing our best football in February. We've been muck in the championship
Syferus wrote: » Yesterday's selection was a pretty clear indication the management are targeting June and July this year. Mayo started their star U21 starting while we left all ours on the bench. One of them was fit and able but left out of the 26 because he's just back from an injury too.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » So Roscommon were playing an understrength team yesterday ? If that is the case then the previous 5 games you played closer to your championship team. Not a good thing to get too excited then, Cork, Kerry and Donegal may not have been up to championship speed, while it seems Roscommon were. Thomas O Se was very complementary to Mayo on TV last night, saying that this is the time to be putting out close to a championship team and playing with that level of intensity.
megadodge wrote: » As I said, in this league Roscommon haven't fielded a team anywhere near what their championship side (hopefully) will be, so to read a whole lot into yesterday's game would be foolish.
megadodge wrote: » Roscommon have been playing an understrength team all league! That's what's made the good run so surprising. But yesterday's team was even weaker again. At the beginning of the year all of the following players would have been expecting to be starting come championship time, yet none of them played yesterday - Niall Carthy, Donal Ward, Ciaran Cafferky, Niall Daly, Cathal Shine, Donie Shine, Tom Corcoran, Kevin Higgins, Ultan Harney, Senan Kilbride, Cian Connolly. Plus Diarmuid Murtagh (the best forward we have) only came on in the second half - like Cillian for Mayo. Only two of those would not be regarded as big/strong men, which is why the physicality disparity was so enormous yesterday. As for catching teams at the right time, that's lazy analysis - real lazy! A quick look at other results would show why. Monaghan went flat out to take Roscommon and were handed their victory at the death. The way they celebrated after showed it meant a lot to them as undoutedly it was a game they had targeted for a win. Cork hammered Mayo in their first game. Mayo were definitely not up to speed, but Cork obviously were in good nick. They play Roscommon a month later, when they are hardly going to be in worse shape but because Roscommon hammer then suddenly Cork 'have no work done'. Donegal had won their first three games on the trot and it was noted widely in the media how they were taking the league seriously, but when Roscommon beat them only two weeks ago the revisionists come out with their bullsh*t theories on how Donegal were way behind Roscommon in their preparation. As I said, in this league Roscommon haven't fielded a team anywhere near what their championship side (hopefully) will be, so to read a whole lot into yesterday's game would be foolish.
TCDStudent1 wrote: » This really has to be a worry for Roscommon. Almost at the end of the league and they haven't been as to field anything near their championship team, makes you wonder if their 'championship side' will have anywhere near the necessary preparation done
Syferus wrote: » It's no worry at all. We usually get the injuries now and not having them starting to clear with a good three months before the business starts. Lads like the Shines, Donie Smith, Keenan, Corcoran, Harney are not actually injured now - all have played for club or U21 recently - but but they're just not ready for IC action. I'd go as far as to say most of them are fitter than Cillian O'Connor is and he came on for Mayo yesterday. Management have done an absolutely stellar job not throwing lads in at the deep end for short term benefit this year. With all the injuries we have to still have the sense to plan for the long term takes some doing. Last year it was the championship where we were wrecked by injuries.
TCDStudent1 wrote: » I'm really not criticising the management. Injuries happen and I am all for not rushing a player back from injury. However, personally if I was manager, I would be concerned that the league has gone by without being able to prepare with the side that is likely to start in the championship. Teams & players improve by playing matches. Some people like to dismiss the league but the league serves a purpose and really is invaluable when trying to mould a team together for the championship. It is far from ideal that certain key players are only returning at the end of the league.
Syferus wrote: » It's the most ideal situation we've had for years. Almost all those players have been involved and training when they could since November/December.
RoscommonTom wrote: » THE under 21 moved to sligo, daft they didnt think of Kiltoom, the seniour will stay in the hyde, the jacks are scared of a bit of muck and have been giving out but the forecast is not bad so the hyde should be sound out
TCDStudent1 wrote: » You think its better that players are injured and don't play during the league, rather than be fit and play during the league? We are gonna have to disagree on that one!
Syferus wrote: » I don't think you're grasping what I'm saying. What we've had consistently the past three or four seasons was much worse with management re-injuring players. I heard a lot of nonsense from the media about us burning out by peaking early but anyone that knows what the situation is can tell you we've been managing a lot of players with an eye to the summer.
TCDStudent1 wrote: » I understand what you're saying but I'd still be a little concerned that those players have missed a league campaign.
Kristopherus wrote: » Don't know where you get your forecasts from, but there is no dry day between now and Sunday, with the prospect of Thursday being largely dry. However Friday is gonna be wet and windy and Saturday showery. That leaves damn-all time for pitches to dry out.
mayo.mick wrote: »
nice_guy80 wrote: » as long as there's no hail and thunder showers like last Saturday and sunday morning, the pitch should be playable.