kneemos wrote: » women tennis players should get down on their knees for players like Federer and Nadal
kneemos wrote: » Raymond Moore CEO of Indian Wells ( no idea ) reackons women tennis players should get down on their knees for players like Federer and Nadal
Menas wrote: » In Tennis I reckon the womens games are actually more competitive and less predictable than the mens sport. Same with Running and athletics.
maudgonner wrote: » There's a video on the Guardian website. He's some tulip, the eejit. He went on to say that the WTA has a handful of 'very attractive prospects, very attractive'. When a journalist gave him a chance to dig himself out of the hole and asked him to clarify whether he meant competitively attractive or physically attractive, he said 'Both, I mean both'. What a gobshíte
seamus wrote: » There's a chicken-and-egg scenario with this. The mens' events receive more coverage and more funding. Which makes sports a more attractive pursuit for young men than young women. Which means the mens' events get more coverage and more funding, and so on. It's a constant feedback loop. People will remark that the mens' events are more competitive, more impressive, that's why they're more popular. But that's part of the same feedback loop. Mens' event are more competitive because there are more people taking part, a much greater challenge to rise to, and far more money in it for coaches and sportspeople, therefore their training brings them to a higher level. My belief is that all gender barriers should be lifted across sports at all levels. End any segregation, but start at the amateur levels first. A local football team can field as many teams as they want, and if the "A" team happens to be all boys because they're the best, so be it. But don't have a girls' and boys' team; then you're setting the girls up to fall behind.
Deleted User wrote: » Not sure who you're trying to wind up with that.
gramar wrote: » What he said was in essence correct. Making intentionally innuendo ridden comments like 'attractive' and 'get down on their knees' is just asking for trouble.
gramar wrote: » Mens sports attract more interest from the public, the sponsors, tv etc etc That goes for pretty much any sport you can think of.
seamus wrote: » My belief is that all gender barriers should be lifted across sports at all levels. End any segregation, but start at the amateur levels first. A local football team can field as many teams as they want, and if the "A" team happens to be all boys because they're the best, so be it. But don't have a girls' and boys' team; then you're setting the girls up to fall behind.
BattleCorp wrote: » Would women's beach volleyball not have a larger following than men's beach volleyball?
biko wrote: » I think we need to start with banning Lingerie Rugby Football A "sport" invented by **** and watched by ****. Portraying women is "sexy" alternatives to "real" sports is not only demeaning, it's sexist and helps keep women's lib back.
Jimoslimos wrote: » I think in competitions where mens and womens tournaments are run together, (Grand Slams, Indian Wells) the prize money should be equal. Sponsors can pay individuals (men or women) whatever they want, as can individual tournaments run respectively by the WTA or ATP.
Jimoslimos wrote: » You simply can't have mixed-gender competition in many sports, biologically women are at an overall disadvantage when it comes to strength and size. Plus it would probably have the opposite effect of driving more girls away from sport - knowing they couldn't realistically compete with their male counterparts.
seamus wrote: » Why do we still maintain gender separation for these, right from the very start when a child starts out?
seamus wrote: » Assumptions. It has always been the assumption that women wouldn't be able to compete. So they haven't. Which means they can't. Even then, there's a competitive issue; if a women can make the requirements to qualify for a men's heavyweight boxing bout, why shouldn't she compete?
seamus wrote: » But you're assuming I'm trying to wind someone up? After Hours has made you terribly cynical.
seamus wrote: » Assumptions. It has always been the assumption that women wouldn't be able to compete. So they haven't. Which means they can't. I'm not going to deny that men on average are going to be bigger and stronger. But in how many sports is that an absolute deciding factor? So in some events, this fact means that by default more men will arrive at the top level than women - 100m sprint, boxing, wrestling, etc. Even then, there's a competitive issue; if a women can make the requirements to qualify for a men's heavyweight boxing bout, why shouldn't she compete? But there are other events where gender makes basically no difference. Where 99% of the game is tactics and technique, not raw strength. Shooting. Tennis. Soccer. Why do we still maintain gender separation for these, right from the very start when a child starts out?