Vel wrote: » I'm looking for some advice
TheChizler wrote: » Four people generating wear and tear in the house, he's responsible for 1.5 of them?
I feel that as he already owns a home,
Chemical Byrne wrote: » This bit stuck out to me and shocked me. He doesn't own a home. He owns 50% stake in a *house* that is formerly his home which you have now taken from him.
And I'm flabbergasted to hear you state that it is you who is on the back foot!
As an unmarried mother who retains the family home your are in fact on the pigs back!!
I'd be interested to know how both of ye can have the same disposable income every month despite him paying mortgage AND bearing all the costs associated with running a second house?
Anyway, my opinion on it is that this is wear and tear maintenance brought about through use. He is no longer in the house so causes no wear to the fixtures. My personal opinion on this is that you'd be the one to bear the majority of this particular cost. But I'm many would be more than thrilled to use maintenance payments as a stick to beat and already beaten partner in the event of dividing up the proceeds of sale of the house.
Chemical Byrne wrote: » Has it ever been done where the parents rotate occupancy of the house periodically? Like the wife would live there for 6months (or whatever) and husband elsewhere, and then for the second 6months they swap over. The kids would stay living there 100% of the time.
My blood pressure spikes when I see this craic of the man being the losers time and time again and quite often its the woman is an absolute dragon wagon.
Vel wrote: » I was reluctant to post this as I knew there would be people sweeping in with assumptions that as the woman in the situation I am trying to milk the man for all he is worth, which is absolutely not the case! All I am trying to do is ascertain how the scenario might play out. If I am not entitled to 50% for essential maintenance then so be it but if I am then I very much intend to try to get it. You are somewhat correct in your assumption - yes he is renting somewhere but no he is not paying for it himself. I have never been in a situation like this before, don't have any friends who do and unlike him do not have access to funds for solicitors so was hoping for real life experience type advice rather than moral judgements! Have you any advice to give FortySeven - maybe you've been through it from the other side?
FortySeven wrote: » I do understand where you are coming from Vel and I applaud your stance on the children's access to their father. The correct way to go about this is to save receipts for any work done on the house and then when a sale is forced, ask for half of this expense to be taken from his share of the profits. That is the norm as far as I understand it. I too do not wish to get into the rights and wrongs of this kind of situation. My own belief is not going to fit in with the outcome you want from this thread. You believe you are somehow entitled, a feminist ruled society has taught you this and I don't blame you for that. I do believe however that it is time for men to start pushing back as the current situation regarding these matters is so far removed from equal it is absurd. Men deserve equality.
Chemical Byrne wrote: » Do many separated out broken up couples manage to remain living in their joint home but live largely separate lives like housemates? I wonder is this feasible provided relations are reasonably cordial? I suppose the house would need to have enough space to facilitate it. Avoid issues like the ops and children would have access to both parents..... I lived with an ex for roughly 3 months after breaking up with her. Our of necessity rather than choice though.
Vel wrote: » Sure, he doesn't live in the house any more but he still owns 50% of it and if we sell it and it comes out of negative equity he will be entitled to any profit and it is important for me to know how that would be dealt with in the context of him contributing or not to the essential maintenance.
TheChizler wrote: » Good point actually, structural stuff and things that are more part of the building should be 50:50 as it's a 50:50 ownership. Maybe treat it like landlord/tenants would? Anything the landlord would normally pay for (structural, major plumbing and electrical work, anything long term basically) go 50:50 on, and things reasonable long-term tenants would pay for (wear and tear, new non-basic carpets/painting, minor electrical and plumbing) go 63:37 on.
FortySeven wrote: » You are missing the point. She has the use of the property and he does not. This is a benefit to herself. He is not her landlord.