AuldManKing wrote: » Super post tbl. Showed it to the family as we're heading stateside for the summer. (Mainly NY though, so they may be a bit crankier)
BeepBeep67 wrote: » Surely a bad day in Disneyland is better than a good day in the office
FBOT01 wrote: » We were in NY for New Year and if your clan need 8 positive things written about it I will ask either of my daughter and the challenge would be if I told them they were only allowed list 8 ......could never get enough of NY.
ThebitterLemon wrote: » I also heard that there is a running track on one of the decks and that 2.5 laps equates to a mile so I'll have to give that a lash as well as the Aqua Duck slide that circles over the top deck. TbL
ThebitterLemon wrote: » We finished up in Disney on Saturday and transferred to Port Canaveral, Orlando, to board the Disney Fantasy cruise ship for a 7 day cruise with ports of call at Cozumel, Grand Caymen and Disneys Castaway Cay. The ship itself is huge, probably the size of a small rural Irish village. There are 14 decks, it's 1115 feet long, 216 feet high and weighs 130,000 gross tons. (Excluding the passengers that probably add considerably to that!) I really wasn't looking forward to this part of the holiday as I usually get sea sick in the bath but so far I've been blown away by it. It's really smooth sailing and the standard of everything on board is superb. Unbelievable attention to detail and a huge variety of activities for all ages. The kids love it, there's loads of others kids for them to hang around with and different activities nearly every hour of the day, which means that Mrs TbL and I get to spend some time doing our own stuff. Looks like Murph was right on the staff front, the missus got talking to one of them and he said most of them were from indigent countries, they work 14 hour days, 6 and a half days a week and don't see their families for months. Might have to start adding a few additional bucks to the tip! They feed you morning noon and night and I'm really trying to manage the grazing as I'm starting to shuffle my hips and turn my feet in as I walk, I'll need a mobility scooter if I don't cop on The gym is also well equipped and I was surprised by how busy it was! Managed to get a few miles done on the treadmill. It was the best view from a treadmill since I was running beside some scantily clad blonde young wan in Lanzarote a few years ago. Took a while to get the brain accustomed to running on the treadmill as the ocean drifted by in front of you. I did a couple of miles with 400 metres progressive tempos from 6.45 to 6.00 minute pace. The missus booked me a massage and I was expecting the usual hotel massage type tickling! It was something called a bamboo massage and I'd low expectations. The masseuse appeared and her silhouette filled the door, she had a physique of an East German hammer thrower. The last time a bamboo touched my arse was 40 years ago when Mr Curran the 4th class teacher gave me a lash with his cane . She bate into me and by the time she'd finished I felt like I'd been intimate with a hay baler! I've her booked again for Thursday I also heard that there is a running track on one of the decks and that 2.5 laps equates to a mile so I'll have to give that a lash as well as the Aqua Duck slide that circles over the top deck. TbL
tang1 wrote: » now in those days I had hair and resembled Daniel Craig and fancied reinacting his beach scene from Casino Royale!!.
ThebitterLemon wrote: » I don't get adults fascination with this Star Wars stuff, it's a bit mad Ted. Some grown men and women (with no kids!) had come on the cruise especially for this Stars War day!! They were dressed up in full Star Wars regalia and were really getting into it! They were buying merchandise, getting photos with all the characters and going into the cinema to watch the films. One lad even asked the character to autograph a postcard ffs!!!. They appear to me to inhabit some parallel universe. Might seem rich coming from a lad who spends a fair bit of time posting up inane ramblings on a log but Jazus get a life, your not obi wan knobi, you're an overweight man in his forties who needs to get out more TbL
tang1 wrote: » Just like Ros A Mhil on a summers day C!!!
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Looking forward to kicking off again on Monday with a new plan and focus. I'd a very poor 2015 running wise and I'm hoping to pb across all distances from 5k to marathon in 2016, just hoping I can stay consistent TbL
AuldManKing wrote: » Just do us a favour and not let this running lark get in the way of the travel blog and the good stories.
tang1 wrote: » Bob Heffernan 5k, Tuesday 17th of May @8pm. No excuses, plenty of advance notice, your a chicken if you don't turn up.
ThebitterLemon wrote: » If I'm in the country, I'll be handing you your ass! Sure weren't you inhaling my methane in Trim, and I'd only one good leg to go with my one good eye. I hate to see grown men cry but I'll make an exception here!! TbL
tang1 wrote: » We'll see old man we'll see, be man enough to turn up now.
ThebitterLemon wrote: » €50 to charity of your choice if you beat me!!!
tang1 wrote: » Bogger me ho!e, real Bogger would have just turned them inside out and saved himself 6 quid
tang1 wrote: » Nice to see you listened to my advice C!!!