Andy From Sligo wrote: » Stupidly I suppose, but more times than not, I personally would think that a bunch of teenagers or under 25s that were out at that time of the morning and had crashed either had drink on them or were mucking about, or speeding and lost control of car, couldn't correct it and crashed it. I dunno maybe I shouldn't be thinking like that. Enough about me, what do others think?
Deleted User wrote: » Natural selection
Andy From Sligo wrote: » Would it be too forceful, too nanny state, too over the top (if they had resources) if the gardai or traffic corps were more zero tolerant with young drivers and pulled them over more often on our roads? If it would save lives by randomly arresting law breakers (even if it was not legal modded motors or defective dangerous cars that some young people have) and get them off the roads or come down on them when they even break the speed limit through towns an villages in the daytime, if the authorities took these type of drivers off the roads would people think good on the authorities their heavy handedness is saving peoples lives on the roads (even the boy/ girl racer from getting into an accident down the line) or would it just be that of the authorities being too heavy handed?
Princess Consuela Bananahammock wrote: » 4am and no other cars? I'd automatically assume drink. Or fatigue. Wouldnt consider age to be a factor though.
Charles Babbage wrote: » A significant proportion of teenagers are irresponsible individuals who don't give a damn about anyone else. Other groups have accidents, but many of these people are driving dangerously deliberately.
Andy From Sligo wrote: » So if its part of 'growing up' what shall we all do then, accept it. Let people get away with driving illegally whilst other drivers on the road (who have grown up) are expected to drive responsibly within the law?
darkpagandeath wrote: Accident implies there is no one to blame or at fault.
Andy From Sligo wrote: » What about other road users at night/morning driving on the roads trying to get home from work or going to work. Should they have to put up with young drivers with a car full of young tanked up passengers acting the maggot and have a near miss, because of leave the kids alone they are just kids having a good time?
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » Some of the "single vehicle accidents" are not accidents at all if you know what I mean
ProudDUB wrote: » A couple of weeks ago, I was nearly ran over in a supermarket car park by some young eegit, driving way too fast. Got inside and saw yer man talking to one of the cashiers. Turns out she was his mammy and he was there to bring her home. So I bit the bullet, marched up to her and told her what had just happened. Said, that as embarrassing & uncomfortable as this was for both of us, imagine how she'd feel if her young pup killed someone with his careless ways. She was genuinely upset and I felt bad about that, but am still glad I did it, if it makes her son think twice about his driving.