bear1 wrote: » I must declare this my nomination for thread of the month. Tomorrow the op will state that the car also has roll cage made out of tin and wooden chairs for seats.
bear1 wrote: » I must declare this my nomination for thread of the month. Tomorrow the op will state that the car also has roll cage made out of tin and wooden chairs for seats. Get it towed out of the yard and either fix, track day it or sell it. I have a feeling though you wont be taking option a.
Senna wrote: » My bet is its down as a 1 litre on the log book:)
Stheno wrote: » Yiz are both wrong. It's only rubbing with someone in the back, as he took the back seats out and back seat passengers have to sit on the floor.
Senna wrote: » They can't sit on the floor, thats where the 6 Nitrous oxide tanks are, right beside the flux capacitor.
goz83 wrote: » If it looks like a **** box, it probably is. Clear enough now? @ the OP, listen to your solicitor. You won't get advice here and have said so many contradicting things, that nobody will take you seriously anyway. I hope it works out though and you learn a lesson from this.
Daaryl wrote: » That's your own opinion, Keep it yourself, I'm sure alot of people on this site hate or don't mind them!
Daaryl wrote: » What did i say? I don't want any pety comments like yours!!
selectamatic wrote: » clean e36 coupe's are becoming thin on the ground so look after your one properly and you'll have an appreciating asset on your hands. :cool:
goz83 wrote: » As Robert Kiyosaki would say, "an asset puts money into your pocket, a liability takes money out of your pocket." Would you say the OP has an asset in the e36 ?
Stheno wrote: » 17 year old car ( worth at most 1.5k?) requiring the following: 1. Four new tyres - estimate €600 2. New backbox - estimate €100 3. Worst case scenario with airbag - ecu - estimate €200 4. Worst case scenario with brake light (new light unit needed) - estimate - 200 5. Remove hids and replace with normal bulbs - estimate €80 6. Tax - 200 7. NCT - 55 So total cost to get that car back on the road is about €1350 at least.
Stheno wrote: » Having read the Ops thread history, I'd say he's long been on the cops radar before this. He appears to be most unfortunate in the amount of times he has come to their attention with his cars/driving.
selectamatic wrote: » Fact of the matter is though the current market value of clean e36 coupe's will continue to rise especially models from the 318is up so the potential for a return is always there.
st1979 wrote: » I would of said at first that he should get rid of the car. But as he is well know to the cops now he will have problems with the next. Because like it or not the next will be modified as well. So he might be better off fixing this one getting cops to verify it is nice and legal. Then when he is at a modified car meet in the future he will be the only one there that the gardai will know is legal and above board and leave him alone. Now the second part is attitude. Try not to act the prick with them. First part might be easier than the second for you. Now if he does all repairs the rest of you should be happy. As a illegal car which may be dangerous will now be safe
selectamatic wrote: » I would say the op has a potentially appreciating asset however you or I do not know the financial specifics regarding the car in question so it is quite difficult to make assumptions on whether or not this potential asset will or will not remain as such or as you say become a liability. Fact of the matter is though the current market value of clean e36 coupe's will continue to rise especially models from the 318is up so the potential for a return is always there. Quoting businessmen turned motivational speakers won't change this fact unless of course Robert kiyosaki has some insider info relating to Ireland's used car market. Neither will listing guesstimates for how much the repairs will cost (Stheno). Coming from a background deeply routed in cars I would say the OP could right the car for substantially less of an outlay if he carries out most of the repairs himself as he has alluded to. If he corrects the suspension (which is potentially only a matter of winding out coilovers) then no tyres are needed so that's 600 off your well laid out but wildly speculative list I could carry on nit picking but I won't bother.
Falcon L wrote: Yeah but seriously, what are the chances that, having passed inspection, the car will be made illegal again immediately? It only takes minutes to make the headlights illegal.
goz83 wrote: » The only potential appreciation on that heap, is if it is crushed and there is a massive increase on scrap metal. Remember how sure you were that it would pass the psv? Well, lets call it common sense rather than insider knowledge. Tarted cars don't appreciate, they depreciate. The OPs history is a bit concerning too. He has been pulled in quite a few times and has had at least one other car seized. As I said in an earlier post, I had some modifications done to a car I have (currently declared off the road) and the onlh attention I got from the garda was one of them having a quick chat at the petrol station to tell me that "she looks lovely". An old jdm fan. IMO, modifications should never stand out from the car. IOW, the average person shoukd not be able to tell if the car is factory, or modified. Stapling a crappy bodykit onto any old yoke is disrespectful to what might have been an asset.
Daaryl wrote: » That's what i want to do is get it fixed anyway, Like it's all stupid small jobs that would take a hour to fix it all, But they're just being awkward about the whole thing
Daaryl wrote: » I know but the problem is they're being ****ers about getting it towed out! When i get it back, It's going into a shed for a few months and i'll get a loan of a car for a while No completely different car! Considering i only have this car a month
Stheno wrote: » I wonder what happened to the other seized car?
selectamatic wrote: » friends with trailers can come in handy