mariaalice wrote: » I saw the most bizarre thing the last time I was at mass, it was perpetuation for communion mass for children, the children sat with their parents and were called up by the priest take part at various points, anyway one little girls spend the whole time on her I pad and only put it down when they had to go up to he alter her parents didn't seem to be the slightish bit bothers.
gctest50 wrote: » A church tax is needed kinda like the Kirchensteuer?? thing in Germany Want to go to the big building ? Pay On Pension ? deduct at source Don't want to go to the big building ? Make official declaration that you're leaving the church This would also give a much more accurate measure of the actual numbers of each religion .
HiGlo wrote: » It's bad enough having to be at mass in the first place (although, I pretty much never go!) there's no way I'm giving them a cent.
gctest50 wrote: » Grand - want to contribute extra ? go ahead
Maximus Alexander wrote: » Is Sunday mass still a thing?
Jaxxon Rancid Snowplow wrote: » ...... Deduct at source? Oh come on! Someone could give €1 one week and €5 another, as they feel fit..........
Amiya Damp Babel wrote: » Farcical system. People give what they can afford in the basket on a Sunday, government forcing a tax on people who want to practice their religion is total discrimination, don't know how it's even allowed.
gctest50 wrote: That's exactly my point - it makes it harder for the priest to plan say roof repairs etc etc
gctest50 wrote: » That's exactly my point - it makes it harder for the priest to plan say roof repairs etc etc A regular dependable source of income and then people can "top it up " as much or little as they like It's like a cat being a stray - they'll get by but it's a bit touch n go - much better with a regular dependable source of food How do they judge "as they feel fit" ? a particularly nice bit of singing that Sunday or ?????
beach_walker wrote: » On the slim chance this is a serious thread, they do get a certain amount from the Church but really parishes/dioceses are financially independent units and can and do go bust. As to why don't the Church completely fund them all, well most Catholics seem to prefer the money going towards charity, education, being the largest NGO healthcare provider in the world etc etc. No-ones forcing you to give money OP. I do hope you're keeping to your almsgiving this Lent though.
Badly Drunk Boy wrote: » Didn't he say he was only throwing in coppers anyway?
Theboinkmaster wrote: » I was actually chastised by some old yoke one sunday for putting in coppers...
Theboinkmaster wrote: » No he did not, read the post again
Amiya Damp Babel wrote: » Of course it is. Farcical system. People give what they can afford in the basket on a Sunday, government forcing a tax on people who want to practice their religion is total discrimination, don't know how it's even allowed.
The current average price of a pint of stout countrywide is €4.30.http://publin.ie/2015/the-price-of-a-pint-from-1928-2015-in-todays-money/
diomed wrote: » I want to know where the OP got the €5 billion assets figure. Assets do not mean cash. Perhaps the buildings are part of the assets. Or is it just that "everyone knows the Catholilc Church is loaded"?
Oasis1974 wrote: » And you see the feckin priest drive away in his BMW not a chance.
Oasis1974 wrote: » Is the money they get every Sunday taxed then?
Theboinkmaster wrote: » Many churches seem to do 2 collections - 1 for the priests and 1 for parish. Question is if the Vatican have €5Bn in assets why can't they fund the priests entirely themselves? On the face of it if I'm in mass I may have a problem giving money to the church, if the Vatican is already very wealthy. I'd rather use the cash to give to charity.
Theboinkmaster wrote: » Question is if the Vatican have €5Bn in assets why can't they fund the priests entirely themselves?
Capt'n Midnight wrote: » There's 1.2 Billion catholics so that's about €4 each excluding currency and transfer charges.
gctest50 wrote: » Very roughly the price of a pint then Now if every church had that every week from each of its attendees
gctest50 wrote: » Makes perfect sense
Jaxxon Rancid Snowplow wrote: » Yes, read it again.
etoughguy wrote: » Do you go to mass?