The Randy Riverbeast wrote: » When you look at unemployment statistics from the past few decades it is really strange how people all of a sudden decided to get a job in the 90s until after 2008 where a bunch of people quit their jobs. Similar idea in the 80s when everyone decided to stay at home instead of working. Have yet to hear an explanation for this from people who say there's loads of jobs.http://www.tradingeconomics.com/ireland/unemployment-rate 26 unemployed for every vacancy in March 2013. Things have probably improved since then but I have been unable to find anything more up to date that's a bit higher standard than a guy I know got a job.http://www.nerinstitute.net/download/pdf/qef_spring_2014_section_2.pdf
AngryHippie wrote: » I love the way this has been studiously ignored. OP is not happy about dole bashing, not happy about being on the dole, but ignores a very valid point offering a shot at redeeming themselves from a very unpopular position. Dole is a necessary evil to avoid abject poverty. Dole is being abused in pretty much every country that offers it. Dole should not be given unconditionally. The same criteria that apply to collecting a wage should be applied....*snip*
Superhorse wrote: » Don't mind the begrudgers the site seems to be full of people who have a sense of entitlement to look down on others. Good luck with the job search.
Permabear wrote: » This post had been deleted.
Permabear wrote: » One could just as easily point out that the Irish government gives pride of place in the national curriculum to subjects like religion and Irish, rather than the marketable foreign language and STEM skills that employers are demanding. It has implemented one of the highest minimum wages in Europe, which has a negative impact on unskilled and inexperienced workers, especially younger people; it has maintained high welfare rates that create poverty traps, where people are better off not working than working; and it has imposed high marginal tax rates that the Taoiseach himself acknowledges are a "disincentive to work." Therefore, the government must "actively want" higher unemployment! Of course, this would be a conclusion that rivals your own for sheer silliness (even if one can marshall an impressive array of evidence to support the thesis that higher unemployment is an inevitable consequence of the high-tax regulatory welfare state). Bringing down unemployment rates is high on the policy agenda for practically every political party, since unemployment creates fiscal instability, political unrest, and a host of social problems, as well as (the crucial factor) reducing the government's chances of being returned to power. Practically everyone, whether in the public or private sector, can agree that government should strive to shorten the dole queues. For those in power, employment leads to economic prosperity, fiscal stability, and higher approval ratings for political leaders. For businesses, employment leads to higher spending on goods and services, and greater profitability. For the finance industry, employment leads to greater demand for mortgages, business loans, and consumer credit, and reduces the chances of default. When unemployment is low, everyone is happy. Suggesting that there are people out there in business and finance longing for higher unemployment is a complete myth -- as evidenced by the fact that you can't show one solitary example of anyone saying any such thing.
Permabear wrote: » Not at all. I'm as cynical as ever about government acting in the best interests of society. Government acts in its own self-interest. But I also know that it's in the politicians' own self-interest to decrease unemployment, because higher unemployment reduces their chances of winning elections.
Permabear wrote: » Yes, and the unemployment rate here in the USA is 5.5%. Saying that corporate profits are high while unemployment is low doesn't "prove" anything, let alone that business and financial leaders "actively want" unemployment to be higher.
Permabear wrote: » Nonsense. High unemployment means that fewer people have money to buy iPhones, new cars, and Starbucks lattes. Unemployment hurts businesses -- it's not "good" for anyone.
jobbridge4life wrote: » So... - people on the dole need redemption... - should have to be sober... - should have their lives closely monitored with severe penalties for breaching whatever narrow definition of acceptable behaviour and expenditure you chose... - And the state should forcibly sterilise the poor... Any chance we could incorporate some kind of compulsory youth camps or groups, you know, so the future generations of Irish men and maidens can be reared properly and instructed in the values of the Republic?
AngryHippie wrote: » - And the state should forcibly sterilise the poor... Would you get a dog that you cannot afford to feed and look after ? Would you expect someone else to feed it ? Why the bloody hell would it be any different for children ? As above, social responsibility, personal responsibility, informed decisions and plans. If the state is paying the piper, let the state call the tune.
AngryHippie wrote: » Would you get a dog that you cannot afford to feed and look after ? Would you expect someone else to feed it ? Why the bloody hell would it be any different for children ? As above, social responsibility, personal responsibility, informed decisions and plans. If the state is paying the piper, let the state call the tune.
Ally Dick wrote: » I couldn't give two fiddler's f@cks about dole bashers. I collect my dole money once a week, and have a good laugh signing on once a month. I worked for over 30 years before my employer decided to seek cheaper alternatives. I paid a lot of tax. I'm in the process of looking for a job and I intend to enjoy myself until I do
Sam Kade wrote: » It's called tax planning and guess what you have to spend money in the business to reduce your tax bill contrary to the baloney in your post.
The Wandering Jew wrote: » Should bring in EBT system so dole lifers can't blow our tax euros on booze, fags and the bookies.