Lt Dan wrote: » Elizabeth, for such a "strong independent" woman, does not really come out as such
TICKLE_ME_ELMO wrote: » I've been thinking about it today and I am inclined to agree with this, in part. I was all for them not focusing on the known names and giving us a look at it from a new perspective. I was also quite pleased to see that 3 of the main characters were going to be women. So I am slightly disappointed to see that we basically had one scene of them all together, very briefly, then two one on one scenes and the rest of it they've been separated and all their scenes have been with men. Frances is probably the only one that's been well written. We've seen her dedication to the cause, the respect the younger boys have for her, the disappointment of PP's attitude towards her and women in general and then the almost disillusionment with it all when she went out onto the streets. Mae's storyline has been entirely about her boyfriend and Elizabeth has had about 3 lines of dialogue over the two episodes.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Yes they wanted home rule but they still wanted to be British citizens...much like the Scottish in the recent referendum "Better together etc. Your getting Home Rule v Republic mixed up. The republic was only founded in 1948. Prior to 1916 the majority of the Irish people wanted a form of self-governance but within the United Kingdom. The country people or (culchies if you prefer) tried to identify with the British through language. Irish was viewed as the language of the poor and English was for the upwardly mobile. It was not just "the pale" that identified as British. You are viewing history with modern eyes. Why do you think the Irish language is relegated behind English in today's Ireland?
josephryan1989 wrote: » Redmond was the Bertie of his day.
TICKLE_ME_ELMO wrote: » Sure. The same way we're ruled by Michael D.
The Rape of Lucretia wrote: » Sort of agree. Elizabeth looks like she was last in line when the writer hit a lines limit. I would think the focus on the women is a good way to tell the story, away from the known names of the events, and even the men, in the majority caught up in the fighting. To tie them together better, the drama would have been better had one of the 3 friends been openly against they rebellion; anti-violence, pro union, with a 'what the hell are you crazies playing at' attitude towards the other two. This would have given a focus and raison d'etre for the trio, personal tensions relating to the events rather than the external soapy ones, and better represented the attitude of the majority of the day unfiltered by the decades of mythology and propaganda that followed independence. Plenty of scope for one of them to die tragically as a result of their own little triangle of conflict.
Lt Dan wrote: » Michael D was voted directly by the People. I assume that you were joking and were pointing out their respective powers or the lack thereof
LordSutch wrote: » John Redmond? Glossed over and not given the credit he deserved maybe, but 'despised'. Despised by who? He wanted Home Rule for Ireland, (instead of being ruled from London). An early form of devolved Government if you will. I wonder will they mention him in the drama next Sunday?
TICKLE_ME_ELMO wrote: » I was likening the Royal Family's control over British politics to Michael D's over our own. They're both figure heads with very little actual power. The UK is controlled by a democratically elected government, just like us.
Lt Dan wrote: » Which one, though? German ? boom boom
Lt Dan wrote: » Boom major typo on the Bachelor's Walk date. Francis Sheffington Sheehy's murder was also a big issue. Though in that case the culprit genuinely had lost the plot 6 were killed at Portbello area too. Wonder will RTE show that? Doubt it. The government probably reminded RTÉ of the apparent need for this period to be inclusive
TICKLE_ME_ELMO wrote: » The Royal family or the government?
Strazdas wrote: » It has to be borne in mind that the Rising was deeply unpopular at the time and had very little support from anyone all the way through to it's conclusion. The fact that opinions changed after the execution of it's leaders is neither here nor there. In a drama depicting the events as they happened, the makers have no choice but to portray the Rising as a very controversial event and those involved in it to be doing controversial things. Perhaps we'll see brutal killings by the British in future episodes, wouldn't surprise me.
Lt Dan wrote: » shocking casting
Lt Dan wrote: » It is "here" and "there" in the sense that one can't keep using the fact that it was unpopular as a yard stick same with the criticism that it was a military disaster (and boy it was). The subsequent actions and attitudes of the people changed that and proved Pearse right. By all means , it is a nonsense to think that the Rising was wanted. If the British Army was taken by surprise (was it really though? they had great intelligence, but not acted upon earlier) imagine what the public thought. THen again, look at Irish history. Irish people willing to fight in wars of America , France , hell even Russia, and recently Spain; yet when it came to war in Ireland the people shat themselves. Makes a mockery of the notion of the "FIghting Irish" (though that is a nickname for a US army regiment) IRB couldn't even successfully entice American Civil War Veterans to get home and rebel . By all means we do not want the romanticism and the usual bs of "my grandfather fought in the GPO" (along with thousands of others apparently) However, the detractors cling onto that fact so hard. When you say "conclusion", for Pearse , "conclusion" included execution. He would have begged the Brits to shoot him so that he could have had his blood sacrifice. In that sense, the public mood changed at that "conclusion" - of course conscription threat , arrest and internment of innocent people would also poison the support towards Britain... The people had little qualms in Dáil Éireann repeating the Proclamation in 1919 and enduring hardship of attacks, house burning, jail , hunger during the Tan War Yes, the show has to tell the truth. Rebel Heart did the same, Veterans who did tv interviews in the 1960-1970's told the truth about public reactions (who could they not, the papers made their views clear) But this show, so far has portrayed some of the rebels as nutters. Eamonn Ceannt was no nutter. The current portrayal of the British soldiers (hey I should say Irish soldiers in British uniforms) as grand auld lads all together. It is sickening that morons are some how ,oh how original, coming up with notions about the religious nature of the rebels shown in this show (like most people of the day) and uttering the words ISIS and Islamic nutters in the same sentence. (while ignoring the fact that armies in World War 1 and 2 had loads of Priests and Victors on the front line) Maybe the British attack on civilians of North King Street will be shown as the home area of Jimmy and Arthur. Family die and Arthur goes Rambo and joins the cause of Irish Freedom ? Doubt it. Hope Stephen gets rubbed out, shocking casting
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Agree with this part another problem with the series. The people are not believable.PS some solliquoy. Hamlet would be proud of that!
TCDStudent1 wrote: » I'm completely confused about the George storyline. Is he sympathetic towards the rebels? And why did his fiancée go to where Elizabeth was helping the injured???
TICKLE_ME_ELMO wrote: » I think most of them are alright. Stephen and Elizabeth's brother are the worst. Jimmy's brother had been the most impressive of the male cast for me. The lad from Belfast is quite good too although I have no idea who he is or what he's doing or even what his name is.
Duggie2012 wrote: » ya agree with that, looks like aiden gillen dosen't he.
Sleepy wrote: » Came to discuss the show, saddened but unsurprised to find the civil war being fought yet again in this thread.
wawaman wrote: » Back to the show, The english guy (cant remember his name off the top of my head) tells May outside the castle to get a train to his house in Dalkey. The train i assume went from Amiens Street Station. Yet when we see them crossing the liffey the Four Courts is in the background and they are crossing from the northside to the southside. Silly thing i know but just takes a little bit of the realism out of it
TICKLE_ME_ELMO wrote: » They were still heading back to the Castle though at that point. It was after that he decided it wasn't safe. I think?