Brendan O'Carroll wrote: "To not be able to get from the check-in to the aeroplane without stopping for 40 photographs is really weird," he says. "I don't even think my mother if she was alive would want a f**king photograph of me." But he's not – at least initially – forthcoming with explanations. "Brian, do me a favour," he says. "Analyse this and tell me what the secret is, 'cos I don't have a ****ing clue."
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » Fair play Brendan but from what i have observed most of the SVP clients I know deserve and need nothing this Christmas sort your vetting system out SVP
Kensley Salmon Xylophone wrote: » I wonder will the lads from the Zuckerberg thread be along shortly, asking the vital questions like.. "how many turkeys has he got for himself?", and "sure he's not exactly on the breadline is he"
NachoBusiness wrote: » O'Carroll .... ham .... Turkey .... ISIS.... David Cameron
PirateShampoo wrote: » People can criticize his comedy all they want. I'm not a fan of it myself. But the one thing we can't criticize is where this man's heart is. He's always been outspoken about how SVP helped out his family growing up, it's awesome to see him giving back all that help in spades.
The_Valeyard wrote: » Not my humour at all. But Fair play, making millions and loves what he does. We should all be so lucky.
eviltwin wrote: » This. I met a family who are spending 2000 on gifts for their kids this year, they get a hamper from SVDP every Christmas as well as other things during the year. Its a great charity with its heart in the right place but they need to be stricter about who they give help to.
Hurtbuthealing wrote: » If he was sincere he wouldn't be publicizing the gesture, more ego than good heart on his part.
Strumms wrote: » If that's the case it is a separate issue and a separate thread. You will get people scamming anywhere and everywhere they can. Social Welfare etc... it doesn't mean that the vast majority are not deserving and should be in no way brought into this thread to do down the effort of Brendan and indeed the people who work to help others. Easier to sit and mouth off behind a ****in keyboard if you are that bothered about it call them up or better still throw them a few quid.. or better again.. volunteer and you and that individual you are quoting may get a better appreciation of what they do and the difference they make. :rolleyes:
Junkyard Tom wrote: » Jesus Christ! :eek:
ClovenHoof wrote: » PR stunt by a shifty no talent to offset a possible future tax conviction? Didn't Saint Liam Lawlor also pull stunts like this?
Sam Kade wrote: » Exactly what I was thinking.
eviltwin wrote: » What makes you think I don't?
Strumms wrote: » If you did your views would be hardly as ignorant, ill informed, agenda laden.. and I would have expected that you would have used your experience to clarify your views... for a start.
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » If you arrive at a house and see a newish car in the drive,house done up to the nines heating on, Sky TV playing in the background well fed and dressed kids on their PlayStation will your organisation still hand over the Christmas hamper,turkey and ham and a dunnes voucher for 200 Euro?
ClovenHoof wrote: » Irish people have no taste. We are an uncultured nation of simpletons.
colossus-x wrote: » I'm sorry but this donation does not deserve a discussion thread of it's own
Shurimgreat wrote: » No offence to Brendan, but this just underlines the fact once more that most Christmas TV these days is dire. You would think the TV companies would make a bit of an effort, rather than throwing out more of the same in double helpings.
Strumms wrote: » what has this to do with SVDP and Brendan O'Carroll ?
Shurimgreat wrote: » Excuse me but I don't see SVDP in the thread title so in other words the thread is about Brendan O'Carroll. I'm sure he's a nice guy, very generous, but he's all over the telly and since I pay my licence fee, it kind of entitles me to offer an opinion on that. Satisfied?
"You get more out of it than you get"