punk_one82 wrote: » Do you think what the OP described is deserving of their reaction? It sounds completely unacceptable.
Fozzie Bear wrote: » No one asked you to bend over. All they asked was your name. Why not be curtious and reply with your name?? You immediately went on the defensive with them, like, I dunno, somebody with something to hide. Refused to co-operate in any way shape or form and then decided to get the camera phone out. Why in Gods name did you feel threatened or intimidated? They are 3 Gardai in a marked squad car in the middle of Kilkenny asking you your name. Not 3 gang bangers in the Bronx. Did you think they were going to steal your money or something? FFS, seriously?! What did you expect the Garda to do from that point on ward apart from arrest you until the could be satisfied you were not a burglar? Maybe they shoud have asked your name again and say "pretty please" this time in the hope you would just answer him? Maybe wait for you to get the camera phone out, get the camera function on, switch over to video and then point it in his face? Maybe just let you walk off without knowing who you are or where you are coming from? How would I or most people react? Well right after the Garda mentioned there had been burgalries in the area (hence why they stopped a lone guy with a hoodie up walking down the street at 3am on a random Tuesday night) and asked me my name, I'd have told him my name. Then when he asked could he search me I'd have said sure but by the way I have a grand in winnings from the casino, shown my memebership card, receipts, whatever proof I had on me and mentioned that the CCTV in the casion will no doubt prove this also. After all this I would have made my way to Supermacs, had a burger and chips and went home to bed still buzzing from having won a grand earlier. It would have made a good story even greater to tell my mates over a pint this weekend that I won a grand and almost got nicked by the Gardai afterwards (ha ha). But instead you are on here moaning about getting yourself arrested with the usual defenders of freedom spouting crap and telling you to complain to all and sundry. No point because you have not got a leg to stand on.
matt-dublin wrote: » I'd also send a tip into the journal about it because if they publish something it puts the Gardai on the back foot immediately as there's already enough publicity about excessive use of force from them.
Agent Smith wrote: » Boom
asherbassad wrote: » Aren't the cops PAID to help him? Protect him? He was afraid and wanted to record what was about to happen and his fears were justified because they did indeed end up hurting him.
asherbassad wrote: » If the cops have nothing to hide they've nothing to fear, right?
kneemos wrote: » I would have arrested you for just being annoying.
asherbassad wrote: » Are you just making sh1t up?
Tones66 wrote: » You failed to mention the choking on the ground part...???why choke someone when already handcuffed...pretty important detail!!
Jawgap wrote: » I'd imagine the fact he went to take something from his pocket led to him being taken down. Bit of a dickhead move - I'd imagine a well trained Guard isn't going to wait and see if it is in fact a phone you're going for.
Deleted User wrote: » Mother of Jesus. It's laughable what people churn out about the law. A search warrant needed for a stop and search...:D:D:D
asherbassad wrote: » Really? Are you a lawyer? A garda can ask you to stop at any time. In certain circumstances, such as when you are driving, you must stop if asked to by a Garda. A garda can search you, without your consent, if the garda has reasonable suspicion that you have committed an offence. This includes people under the age of 18. The Garda should tell you why you are being searched. Search on Arrest When you are arrested, the Gardai may take goods in your possession if they believe that it is necessary to do so and if the goods are evidence in support of a criminal charge. The Gardai may search you after your arrest without a search warrant and the goods seized may be kept and used as evidence at your trial. The OP said he didn't consent to being searched. The Guards, from what I can gather, didn't tell him why he was being searched without his consent because it didn't get that far. He told them he wanted to record the proceedings and that when they cuffed him and put him in a choke hold. Are you telling me that a Guard can just walk up to you in the street and say "turn around, face the wall, spread your legs" and then proceed to search you? Come on Atticus, enlighten us.
asherbassad wrote: » Necessity for a Search Warrant In most cases, a search warrant is necessary before a Garda may search a person, a vehicle or a premises. However, certain legislation entitles the Gardai to go on premises without a warrant, for example, the Intoxicating Liquor Acts, the Public Dance Halls Act, and the Health Acts. You still want to throw in a bunch of fcuking smiley faces, Columbo?
One eyed Jack wrote: » You're right, it's absolutely not any sort of an excuse for Gardaí to behave like that with a citizen who is being cooperative with them when they are trying to protect said citizen from harm (if the OP had been relieved of his winnings by one lesser upstanding citizen, who would they expect should have protected them?). That's why I'd love to be privy to the details of the incident from the Gardaí's perspective. You're right in pointing out that a bit of perspective wouldn't go amiss, but that's exactly what's missing here.
Deleted User wrote: » Tell us about the one where you thought a search warrant was needed for a stop and search! Your funny stuff is far better than the sweary stuff.
LexieOnRale wrote: » Yeah, three thieves riding around in a squad car and uniforms. If the victim complied with gardai there would have been no issue.
asherbassad wrote: » The phone was already OUT of his pocket. The choke hold was thrown on him when he said he wanted to record what was going on.
asherbassad wrote: » Right here buddy: Necessity for a Search WarrantIn most cases, a search warrant is necessary before a Garda may search a person, a vehicle or a premises. However, certain legislation entitles the Gardai to go on premises without a warrant, for example, the Intoxicating Liquor Acts, the Public Dance Halls Act, and the Health Acts. If a Garda gets a search warrant relating to certain offences he/she may search the premises named and any person on the premises. Examples of this are a search warrant issued under the Offences Against the State Act 1939, or the Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud) Offences Act 2001. Under the Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1979, as amended by Section 6 of the Criminal Justice Act 2006, the Gardaí can obtain a warrant in relation to an arrestable offence. Other legislation, for example, the Dublin Police Act, the Misuse of Drugs Act, the Criminal Law Act and the Animal Remedies Act, entitles police officers to search you and/or your vehicle without a warrant. If one of these statutes is being invoked in order to search you without a search warrant, you are entitled to told about it. I hope you read down through that and can tell us where the Guards in this case cited not only the reason for the search but also under which statute they were exercising their right to search the OP without a warrant. Is that good enough for you?
LexieOnRale wrote: » What's wrong with me is, three gardai tried to do what they're paid to do and you have someone back answering, refusing to co operate and threathening to record them just doing their job. And we all know where that would end up, all over Facebook, even when it makes the person who took it look foolish (think during the water protests. Trying to goade gardai into reacting) He could have been anyone. He could have had drugs on him. He could have had a gun on him. He could have had a knife. They did not know because he would not comply. Are they supposed to be mind readers?? If the OP Was dodge and was on his way to shoot someone, the same gardai would be under fire for NOT detaining him.
LexieOnRale wrote: » What's wrong with me is, three gardai tried to do what they're paid to do and you have someone back answering, refusing to co operate and threathening to record them just doing their job. And we all know where that would end up, all over Facebook, even when it makes the person who took it look foolish (think during the water protests. Trying to goade gardai into reacting)He could have been anyone. He could have had drugs on him. He could have had a gun on him. He could have had a knife. They did not know because he would not comply. Are they supposed to be mind readers?? If the OP Was dodge and was on his way to shoot someone, the same gardai would be under fire for NOT detaining him.
asherbassad wrote: » Excuse me? Anyone can be anyone.
One eyed Jack wrote: » At the risk of pointing out the obvious, but wouldn't that apply to the OP moreso than the Gardaí? The Gardaí are in a position of authority to question the OP. It just doesn't really work the other way round... as the OP quickly found out :pac: Bloody brilliant!
kneemos wrote: » Often are.
Dr. Mantis Toboggan wrote: » I'm pretty sure i'm somebody. I may also be anybody.
H3llR4iser wrote: » I just can't understand why people think it's fine to film/photograph everything, especially other people working and even more particularly, in situations that can turn volatile at any minute.
Deleted User wrote: » You have littered your posts with swearing and abuse of other posters, calling them clowns, sneering at what you suggest is their ignorance. Only one poster here, on either side of the issue, thought a search warrant was needed for a stop and search. That was you. It's still the funniest contribution here mind you!
Little CuChulainn wrote: » This is what the op said