samapple789 wrote: » Quite a few times i have seen people shooting up inside the trains in front of railway square at night and then earlier in the evening you have all the little scum bags sitting in the trains smoking magic grass and drinking. If it was me i would get rid of them trains as there seems to be none stop anti social crap going on there.
Tragamin2k2 wrote: » yepp hence the "or irish cities?"
Aquos76 wrote: » Stupid answer tbh, you'd prefer if it was just ignored then, go back to burying your head in the sand then.
BBM77 wrote: » If you care to read my first post I acknowledged that Waterford has a drug problem like all urban areas how is that ignoring it. If anybody thinks this headline/article was not about attention seeking to increase sales is naive in the extreme. I have no problem at all with discussing Waterford’s drug problem but splashing a headline across a local paper calling Waterford a junkie city is extremely irresponsible and damaging. Given the context that (a) it is untrue and the problem in question is no worse than any other urban area in the country and most importantly (b) the work being done to attract investment into the city and the false impression the headline/article gives to people not familiar with the Waterford. For those reasons I believe it is not worthy of discussion or deserves anymore highlighting.
KingBrian2 wrote: » I have been to Waterford lovely city, proud history. Shame nobody affords it any time. All the other cities are treated like cities Waterford is just left be, that will be bad for the local economy and lets hope the inhabitants will be able to reignite the city. Lets not forget along with Dublin and Limerick we were all founded by Vikings.
Shams wrote: » I find also too many people forget the fantastic mountains and beaches we have, beautiful Waterford Imagery fb page is a fantastic resource for sites around the county
TheQuietFella wrote: » Waterford is a hole with little or no advertising of attractions outside the city or means of transport to any particular destination outside of the city. The emphasis appears to be on keeping the tourist in the city without seeing the rest of the county. What bus will bring you to Mt. Congreve or Bunmahon for example? City is filthy and is a poor reflection on us all. More beggars than tourists at this stage. As for that FB page, their photography does more harm than good!
Deleted User wrote: » I live near enough to centre of town. In the city as in the actual centre its very all over the place at night (even though its kept away from the nightclub area). Like just last night on my street there was two junkies fighting a man and a woman and they were 'tearing chunks' out of each other, before anyone says how do I know they aren't drunks? because they live about 20 doors up and are always whacked out of it. In the sense is it limited to a few streets? Yes, I would say that if you are out living on the Dunmore road or a suburb like that then you are less likely to notice it as much.
samapple789 wrote: » If it was me i would get rid of them trains as there seems to be none stop anti social crap going on there.
kaef wrote: » One of my dreams is to get a good few healthy lads and patrol areas like this in the evenings and provide free "cleaning service" if you know what i mean.
Wanderer78 wrote: » id say the council would only be delighted. contact them regarding ppe and equipment required. id say theyd give it to you for nothing. save them the bother
Aquos76 wrote: » Describing Waterford as a "Hole" is very harsh, yes the city has its faults, but a lot of good initiatives are on going to try and turn things around. It's comments like that from people who actually live in the city that do our city more harm that what was on the front of the News & Star.
obezyana wrote: » I didnt think the council provided ppe for vigilantes
Road-Hog wrote: » More exaggeration, did you see parts of ears, nose etc strewn on the street ??
beyondbelief67 wrote: » I'm quite central to the town too, and have seen needles left in the park, along the river walk way by tkmaxx and by bishops palace, I never noticed them until I was walking my dog and unfortunately he finds everything. I think it must of been the night for madness last night. There were a couple outside mine too who decided to argue up and down the street for couple of hours and of course they took the dog out with them just for the hell of it ! Totally off there heads early hours of the morning.
[Deleted User] wrote: » We appear to live on the same street or very close, have you heard the noise all night or if its you keep it down :P
fiachr_a wrote: » Get the Freewheelers to clean up the town; then write a movie about it.
JenniFurr wrote: » I've lived in Dublin and Dundalk so I hadn't really noticed much of a drug problem here since I returned but now that you mention it I have been asked for money on a few occasions in the past while. And the previous posts about railway square explain a lot. I've seen blood in the area a few times in the past year. I always thought it was probably the result of a drunken fight outside of Ruby's (or whatever it's called now) and the loser had wandered off in that direction to lick their wounds. Also a girl tried to attack me near the Granary about a year ago. She asked for money and when I ignored her she called me something not very nice. I stupidly turned around out of shock at being called names and she tried to attack me. Thankfully she was only slight girl, so I pushed her away and walked on. I had seen her begging for a while before this around City Square but haven't seen her since. Felt bad for her since she didn't seem very old if discount the effects drug use.
Deleted User wrote: » The drug problem is getting worse. People can dig their heads in the sand all they want, but is there much support there for them to get help? I don't know much about the help that is available to them but hopefully if they look for help its there for them, if they want to get clean.
Wanderer78 wrote: » i think this problem is showing a much bigger and systemic failure of our mental health services and other complex failures within our society. if our drug problem is getting worse, which i personally think it is, why is this so, what is causing it and how do we deal with it? all very complex questions with probably even more complex answers. i believe these people are a result of very complex failures from all these problems. i find it very difficult to stomach it all. even though i have very little knowledge of drug addiction, im not sure these people know how to help themselves. its a very worrying development for our society. austerity certainly doesnt help the situation
Deleted User wrote: » I don't think austerity has much to do with this problem to be honest. I would think a lot of the problems in Waterford are down to a certain will known drug/loanshark gang in the city who are flooding the town with drugs. I am not a big fan of Sinn Feinn but John Hearne is doing his best to stop them. They burned out his car last year. There is a very particularly vicious gang in Waterford who control the city at the moment and its scary quite frankly. Thankfully I have nothing to do with that scene and have never got involved with them, but I do know the people and heard stories about them and they are scary people.
Wanderer78 wrote: » id disagree there. you d be shocked at the extent austerity has on a society and how much its actually a cod and completely unnecessary. austerity cuts funding to nearly all aspects of society including, garda resources, mental health services etc etc etc. the list is endless really and its completely avoidable and basically its a total lie. austerity also affects our educational system, social housing departments etc etc. all this basically creates a cluster f*ck of problems for a society. what you ll find is the result of all these problems induces mental health problems into a society, and effectively, opens pandora's box. this mainly effects the most vulnerable of society but really, it affects everybody. mental health problems are also a slow burner, so this problem will probably get worse. your not wrong about the other stuff though, we all know thats a major problem for this town and getting worse. dont forget, anyone of us or our loved ones have the ability to fall foul to these gangs at any stage of our lives. its a worrying problem for this town.
Deleted User wrote: » I know, but what can be done about the gangs? The guards contrary to what most people think are actually doing their job the best they can, the guards arrest them and they are just left out of the courts again. This gang is behind a lot of horrible actions in the past two years but nothing has been fixed, what can get rid of them? There was even an article in News and Star a few weeks ago saying that they were making single mother who owed them money perform sexual favours on them, if they were late with their payments.