benny79 wrote: » Agree strike when the iron is hot and all that! Its hard to do well the following week after a big win fair enough, but to take 6 weeks off in mid season is a bit ridiculous imo.
First Up wrote: » I wonder how his sponsors feel about it. If he is using a good chunk of the time for sponsor related work they may be ok with it but if he plans six weeks of "having the craic" as he puts it himself, it won't help when his next contract comes up.
yipsnomore wrote: » Thought this second guessing of the way he does things might stop after winning a WGC. You seem to think he's stupid.
First Up wrote: » I think it is perfectly reasonable to question his priorities. Six weeks away from competition can't help his sharpness.
First Up wrote: » There is no better time to maximise the benefit to his sponsors than the period right after winning the WGC.
First Up wrote: » I doubt they will be impressed if he spends it going to hurling matches and running a big bar tab in Esker Hills.
First Up wrote: » I think it is perfectly reasonable to question his priorities. Six weeks away from competition can't help his sharpness. There is no better time to maximise the benefit to his sponsors than the period right after winning the WGC. I doubt they will be impressed if he spends it going to hurling matches and running a big bar tab in Esker Hills. I suspect his conversations with Conor Ridge must be interesting.
Alf Veedersane wrote: » There's not much point being sharp if you're too tired to perform. He has a busy schedule at the end of the season where he won't be taking breaks that he normally would. So he's prioritised taking his breaks now. Did you see the toll it took at the USPGA? Not much point in being out there peddling your sponsors' gear if you're not in a position to perform well enough. Good man. Yeah, he'll just spend six weeks on the lash. Sure what else would he be doing? Ridiculously snide comment to make. The guy takes a break now ahead of a busy schedule in order to be fresh for those tournaments and you come out with this nonsense? Jesus wept.
First Up wrote: » No professional sportsperson, especially one competing at the highest level can justify a six week break at the height of the season. The PGA was a few days after his win and fatigue and distraction was understanable. Will he still be knackered in two or three weeks? If so - why? There is nothing snide in my remarks. I'm comparing his behaviour and decisions with those who operate at the top level. I don't know how he will spend the six weeks - I just know it will not be as a professional golfer. I'm familiar with the importance some of his admirers attach to him being a grand fella. I'm just looking at him as a golfer and how he uses - or doesn't - his obvious abundant talent.
kiers47 wrote: » He is not eligible for the Fed Ex cup which rules out the PGA tour. The European tour has maybe 1 event worth playing in this time so its fairly understandable he doesn't want to play in them. World ranking points will be minimal (as most players will be playing the Fed Ex Cup) and could even be costly to play and perform badly in some of these events.
Alf Veedersane wrote: » Now is not the height of the season. He's not chasing Fed Ex points now just because he's been put in a position to qualify for the Fed Ex Cup. His schedule will have been planned at the start of the season. The next month has small enough tournaments with little return in terms of points or ranking on the European Tour (Denmark, Czech Rep and Russia). He might be back for the KLM and I don't think he'd be any the worse for it. Playing every week isn't the definition of being a professional golfer. As with any sport, recovery is key. as is working on elements of his game. And you didn't just compare his behaviour with others competing at the top. You said he'd be running up a bar tab in Esker Hills for the next while. It is a snide comment whatever way you dress it up.
Alf Veedersane wrote: » If he went 2 weeks on, 2 weeks off for the next 3 months, no one would bat an eyelid.
benny79 wrote: » My point is if he's in form why stop now! but if there's no big events then I see his point in taking a break. but I doubt he'd be sunning himself or topping up the bar. I'm sure he'll be working hard on his game and with his conditioning coach for a strong push for the end of season as he said himself he wants 1 more win before end of the season. P.s may play a few mid week games in Esker when its quiet, you never know who you might bump into
vienne86 wrote: So is this six week break confirmed?
shaunac93 wrote: » Was confirmed in the local paper last Wednesday " Midland Tribune" if you can count that as fact
benny79 wrote: » I this note. I hate the way the majors are so close together & most the big Tournaments, to have 6 weeks in the middle of the season without any big Tournaments is ridiculous! Not to mention the fact we have to wait 8 months now to the next major you would think the powers at be would spread them out more.
HighLine wrote: » The FedEx playoffs start in one week! Every year on here seems to be little interest in this for some reason... it's like the mini world cup of golf.....the weakest get eliminated week by week for a final 30 person shootout to win $10,000,000. Trust me.... these events are big.