cloud493 wrote: » JK Rowling was super disappointing to meet, mainly cos she was really rude and dismissive. I mean I'm sure lots of HP fans were gushing to her as well, but still.
syklops wrote: » A bit more context please.
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » It was a devastating disappointment. He was rude and pompous. He was so rude to everyone I spent most of my time apologising for him. I felt so let-down I almost burst into tears
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » Tonight I went for a group dinner with someone I'd wanted to meet for a long time. Not a celebrity or anything, just an intelligent young guy my friends have been raving about. We DM'd conversations on twitter a few times. He's smart. It was a devastating disappointment. He was rude and pompous. He was so rude to everyone I spent most of my time apologising for him. I felt so let-down I almost burst into tears. (Thankfully, for everyone, i didn't.) Have you ever felt totally let-down by meeting someone you looked up to, even to the point of questioning your own beliefs? Or worse, have you been disappointed by a hero?
anncoates wrote: » Wouldn't ever presume to guess what kind of person somebody like JK Rowling is. Maybe she is just a cnut, but my gut feeling is that for fans, meeting our heroes is a once-off. special event but for the actual object of fandom, i'd imagine it's something that's nearly replicated into horrible infinity, even to the extent that they simply cannot live their life. Imagine any of us getting doorstepped by gasbaggers at every juncture of our lives by people that want it to be An Experience whereas you are just hungover, going to collect kids, depressed, tired, frssh from a scrap with your partner, etc...
Wacker The Attacker wrote: » People are a disappointment in general
BMJD wrote: » I met "Big" Phil Hogan at a function type thing, he was surprisingly pleasant, I was kinda hoping he would be an obnoxious arsehole so I could knock him the fúck out and be a national hero. So in a way, it was a let down.
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » Tonight I went for a group dinner with someone I'd wanted to meet for a long time. Not a celebrity or anything, just an intelligent young guy my friends have been raving about. We DM'd conversations on twitter a few times. He's smart. It was a devastating disappointment. He was rude and pompous. He was so rude to everyone I spent most of my time apologising for him. I felt so let-down I almost burst into tears. (Thankfully, for everyone, i didn't.)
DuckHook wrote: » Was told a story about a mutual friend how doesn't have a clue about sports being down in Kilkenny, all the lads were in a pub and got talking to dj Carey and the non sports guy asks him "do you dj in a club in Kilkenny?" Apparently dj Carey kinda looked at him before realizing he wasn't being a smartarse and was sound about it while another of the lads nearly wet himself.
endacl wrote: » I'm not. I'm bleedin' deadly, so I am.
Poor Uncle Tom wrote: » ...reminds me of a girl who worked in the Arlington, she was working with a big hangover and I asked her how she was able to do it, she just said "..'cos I'm amazing, me..." but not is a sarky way. you had to be there, but it was funny....
BunkMoreland wrote: » Why would anyone seek or request to meet someone they don't actually know like JK Rowling? Seems kind of deluded to expect anything from them. They don't care about you.
cloud493 wrote: » This girl I know knows JK Rowling, and she (my friend) asked her if I could meet her (Rowling) cos I was a big fan and what not, and she said ok. When we met, she spent the time looking at her phone and was as I said, rude and dismissive* *not that she owes me anything or I'm entitled to anything from her, but come on. Don't be a dick.
Yawns wrote: » ^^ Had the pleasure of pissing him off in a pub one day. He didn't want to go to his hotel room to get money for bookies so asked me for a score from the til to run down with. I refused so he pulled the whole "I'm Alex Higgens ffs". I just kept a straight face and said "Sorry, I don't watch football" before going to the other bar to break my bollix laughing at the rage etched onto his face.