wellboytoo wrote: » Brother Boland and I had an amicable man to man chat in fifth year and we agreed to go our separate ways before it all fell apart. I would have been leaving cert 77 or 78 can't really remember Rocks Roche and I never got on so I guess he won in the end.
High-Tower wrote: » St. Paul`s for me too. Some beauts of teachers back in my time e.g. Billy Womble, Hector, Chinbar and Podge Casey :rolleyes::)
Ostrom wrote: » Don't forget Mad Murphy, Barney Gumble, and Dob. Billy Womble was an epic name though.
jimbojazz wrote: Yip, he was also ushered away when I got into 2nd year - came back as the career guidance teacher of all things, where he would have one on one sessions with students - god knows what went on in that office. I still see him around and get the shivers when I see him because of what I witnessed in class.
Aquos76 wrote: » Mount Sion primary and secondary, left there in early 90's as others has said, delighted to see the secondary is starting to turn things around again, thankfully teachers like John McArdle, Bill Doherty and Domo Connolly has turned things around up there now.
christy02 wrote: » I graduated waterpark in 1994 and he was still there. Taught geography during my time if I remember correctly.
High-Tower wrote: » Yeah, I remember Dob and Murphy, cant place Barney tho, must be my old age
lassykk wrote: » This post has been deleted.
jimbojazz wrote: » There was a lad in Waterpark nicknamed Pigsy - cos he looked like yer man in the TV show Monkey - that was harsh lol
jimbojazz wrote: » Was he up to his old tricks up to then or were ye aware of what he was previously up to?
taytobreath wrote: he was at a lad in my class in the one on one careers counselling thing in his office, we had a sex education class the day before from him and ill never forget it when the lad came up to us and said jesus christ i just got felt up i think. Apparently he was checking to see if both his balls dropped. He got in trouble for it but he was still working there 4 years later when i left
Samsgirl wrote: Repeated the LC in Waterpark 1992 /1993. Think it was the first year girls were allowed in. There was about 20 of us over in the Monastry. Was a great year, we were pretty much left to our own devices as we had about 3 free classes a day. I don't think they knew what to do with us re discipline. There was one maths teacher - a very small man. We saw him hit some of the lads in 6th yr.
christy02 wrote: » We were all excited about the girls starting school. Hormones everywhere!!! Small guy was always a bit rough with students. Made me stand through a whole class 1day with my head in a locker. Good times...
taytobreath wrote: » he was at a lad in my class in the one on one careers counselling thing in his office, we had a sex education class the day before from him and ill never forget it when the lad came up to us and said jesus christ i just got felt up i think. Apparently he was checking to see if both his balls dropped. He got in trouble for it but he was still working there 4 years later when i left
Johnboy1951 wrote: » A lot of us had our eyes opened very early in life regarding sexual abuse by those in authority. My only regret is that there was no way we kids felt we could discuss or mention such things to parents. It just was not done. Knowing my father, may he RIP, it is my estimate that if he had known of the events I regularly witnessed (was not a victim myself) he would most likely have spent time in jail after he dealt with it. I had thought that such reticence to disclose things to parents had eased if not disappeared decades later, but obviously not. This is the saddest part of the whole thing IMO, and is the one most relied upon by such deviants.
jimbojazz wrote: » +1 Did you go to Waterpark also
Johnboy1951 wrote: » That oh so very 'christian' brother took of the child's tie; tied the child's ankles together with it ....... and then hung the child up on one of those old large coat hooks, upside down. I have no recollection how long he was left in that position ... not that it matters a whole lot.
fricatus wrote: » :eek: Jesus! When was this? I was lucky enough not to have experienced or witnessed much violence at school, but I've long been well aware of stories like these. Nevertheless I have to say I'm getting angry reading some of this stuff. To do something like that... to a child... Christ! :mad:
Samsgirl wrote: » Quite a mix of people in there. If you lived in one of the nicer estates like Lismore Pk you got on.
Samsgirl wrote: » Some of the stories on here are shocking.