RockyMills wrote: » You're wrong there anyway, didn't shefflin tap a free over in the 2012 final with about 2 minutes to go against Galway? It would have put the game beyond Galway but instead he tapped it over for a point because he didn't have the balls to take a go at the goal. It's just a pity Galway didn't go on to win that game & shefflin's fûck up wasn't punished.
Buck Melanoma wrote: » Maybe i am wrong but i dont think amprodude is from kilkenny, please dont be using him as reference to have a go at kilkenny posters.
dcrosskid wrote: » I wouldn't include Paul Curran in the list of hurling full backs, he was an excellent competitor, man marker, excellent in the air and you earned everything you got on him but his first option when in possession was usually a hand pass or short stick pass.
Amprodude wrote: » In 2009 he went for a goal against Tipp and that what won it for them. Anyway I rest my case.
robopaddy2 wrote: » Pity he was forced into retirement after the roasting he got off colin dunford up in nolan park in the league semi final earlier in the year. A sad way to finish up after a tremendous career.
deiseach wrote: » I remember Michael Duignan expressed utter disbelief at that. Made me respect the oul bollix that he disagreed with King Henry (although there is only one King and that's Rocky Mills). I don't think it reflected a lack of balls on Shefflin's part. There were pros and cons to the decision and the one he took was easily justified. But had Maurice, or any Waterford player, done the same in the same circumstances, you can be sure he would have been utterly slaughtered had Waterford gone on to lose the replay. FAO trolls. Please note Kilkenny winning the replay didn't retrospectively mean the decision Shefflin made was the only decision to be made. And yes, I know the chances of any Waterford player being in that position are pretty slim at the moment. Swap Henry with Joe Canning if it helps.
The Dickler wrote: » It is a personal attack. He is the best we have available, or do you have any suggestions. Taking every opportunity you got over the whole season to undermine him constitutes a personal attack in anyones book. We have tried and already know that Fives is definitely not a full back. De Burca- spectacular this year. But could he contribute as much with Reid, Callinan or Canning to mark.
Mountainlad wrote: » Two championship wins. You are insufferable, prepare to be mercilessly contradicted later when I get my laptop back.
thinkstoomuch1 wrote: » Two championship wins yes and as I said huge credit to McGrath this year and I had doubts but credit due But it is logical for me to say I still remain to be convinced regards all ireland and many others said the same There no contradiction and I said it before I'm not going in to old cork ground with you or anyone I'm giving a view what I think of waterford just like you and others give views cork other counties and no one minds you doing it Your entitled to your opinion We all are Debate any of the points I raised above if you want I have no intention going over old debates as like I said well agree to disagree on my part you well entitled to your opinion my posts contradicts themselves but I explained this before
CaseysRock wrote: » Agree with this, everyone did very very well this year but to win the all Ireland is still a massive step from where we are now barring a freak year like 2013. Scoring goals, something KK, Tipp and Galway are all well capable of doing is the next big step for us and not scoring goals against cork and dublin etc but against KK and Tipp because as this year proved there's not a hope of beating them without goals. Also lads if anyone could visit the page Quality Cleaning Waterford on facebook there's a small competition running looking back at Waterford's best hurling moments since the turn of the millenuim, only a bit of fun and good memories to relive so any support would be appreciated!
thinkstoomuch1 wrote: » Will have a look and I'll tell my cork fans Thanks for that it's a great idea
CaseysRock wrote: » Thanks....doesn't seem to be working thus far though, only one entry. some great choices to be fair 04 munster final breakthrough in 02 beating the cats league final 07 eoin mcgrath going for goal in the last min v cork 07 beating tipp 08 kevin morans point v KK 2013 Winning league this year etc Maybe people aren't sentimental anymore!
thinkstoomuch1 wrote: » The 04 munster final was epic and magnificent in waterford beating cork and on the day no one can deny waterford were the better team Waterford I always felt lacked that tactical extra edge under McCarthy to go further but that team was a very good team and many heroes like McGrath mullane kelly Browne etc As good as waterford were this year this current team have a long way to go before they are imo up with them as while they didn't win all ireland had lot success and got to all ireland final the last waterford team to do so and that legacy of them lives on until next waterford team get to an all ireland final Some great choices there Waterford were great for hurling in those times
Mountainlad wrote: » From a penalty, not a 21 and 21s are even harder to score now than they were then. Think he should of gone for it but your logic that it was a defeatist mentality exhibited throughout is assanine. Your comments about Connors are sheer muppetry now in fairness. There's a reason nobody else is making that assertion. You can be sure they were sick in the dressing room after, but you seem to have absolutely no concept of what it's like being an intercounty player. I would advise you go out and watch a week of their training in November, in the gym and on the field and then try and make your idiotic comment about them not being too bothered. Are the two of ye really that bitter that ye would be this mean spirited over the fact that we beat ye twice in May? Two children.
Buck Melanoma wrote: » Hope the "trolls" comment is not aimed at me. Yes i mentioned kilkenny won the replay but still say taking the certain point on offer late in game was correct decision, what if he missed the goal, Galway went down field a got a point u know, missed penalty means galway would likely have won. B ut sure he would have "balls" but one less all ireland medal. Fwiw not too many hurlers at inter county level lack "balls". It takes enormous drive, dedication and skill to compete, more than what is needed to post annonymous comments on t'internet.
carq wrote: » Sad as it is, I can only agree with the so called ‘trolls’. A lot on this thread are quite blinkered and windmill at any perceived criticism of the team. For me it was a lame way to exit the championship, the game was over with 15 minutes to go , the players didn’t have the energy or know how to challenge Kilkenny once they asserted their dominance. The ‘system’ clearly does not work. To say we are knocking on the door of an All Ireland is farcical. We never looked like winning either game vs Tipp or KK. In fact we were trailing each game for 80% and never took a meaningful lead. We have improved of course since last year but the gulf between winning an All Ireland is as wide as ever.
carq wrote: » We have improved of course since last year but the gulf between winning an All Ireland is as wide as ever.
Figsy32 wrote: » I think it's clear what Waterford need to bridge the gap and its not as much as many would have you believe. You need either a second top class forward to play inside with Shanhan or a full back who is good enough to play without TDB sweeping, which will allow you to play another forward (maybe Curran) and Shanahan won't have to consistently fight two men for the ball. Could Shane Fives do a job there? Otherwise I think man for man your 5 backs are practically as good as anything else out there. An extra winter in the gym and a year of conditioning for the likes of the Bennetts, Dunford and Curran will bring them on a long way. Ye looked quite overmatched in the physical stakes on Sunday but that's hardly surprising. There's always going to be injuries but having Mahony back will be huge. I think next year will be critical though in that getting a scalp over one of the big two would do wonders for the belief levels. That's obviously easier said than done though. Overall if I was a Waterford man and looking at the year you could only be thrilled. I wouldn't go throwing out the way you play at all, that's a very knee jerk reaction.