kevthegaff wrote: » I asked this question before but how many bags of acre per year do ye put on grazing ground? Ive spread 2can 1p/s and 2 18:6:12
cute geoge wrote: » When does pasture sward give the best response ? I go with slurry and urea spread after the first two grazings I go with 1 bag of can after each grazing ,but if weather comes dry i go with pasture so i am left with pasture this year to spread but do alot of lads go with pasture in the back end
mahoney_j wrote: » Great start to day,cows broke wire and moved to next paddock last night ,then started to milk and forgot to connect milk line to tank,all this ams milk now in dirty water tank ,fook that anyway
dar31 wrote: » Been looking at a lot of parlors lately. Most of them have the waste water/milk from dairy dropping into a drain in the pit so you can see if any milk running.
mahoney_j wrote: Great start to day,cows broke wire and moved to next paddock last night ,then started to milk and forgot to connect milk line to tank,all this ams milk now in dirty water tank ,fook that anyway
whelan2 wrote: » i learnt the hard way check dairy after first row goes out
frazzledhome wrote: » Blooded culls and stock bulls today as all sold by hand here. Any all passed without incident till last animal a fr bull. Loaded into race with cows out he pops over wall. Load again with person each side out he pops again onto the table with the blood boxes on. Table in shyte and 5 blood bottles broken. So out for cows again and sort ones to be re blooded. Tried my boy again and over the top. Said feck it he can become a happy meal on Monday, didn't bother testing him. Love the day the stock bulls leave.
mahoney_j wrote: » Why blood stock Bulls ,no need
frazzledhome wrote: » A few were over 2yo
Greengrass1 wrote: » The only animal we didn't serve this yr is bulling tonight Fine cow only a 3rd calver. But couldn't get her to come bulling. Was scanned and was cycling but we cidrd her any way. Still never came bulling. Should I serve he amd sell her incalf or start milking her oad with the other empty cow I have and factory them in November? Nothing bred here since 16th july
blackdog1 wrote: » I know farmers who breed late calvers who their going to cull to beef. Dry them off same time as rest but they get 4-5 months dry so their nice and fat when they calve. They sell the calve and the cow 2 days later. Sometimes they pull in 1500-1600 between both of them on the really big cows.
Blackgrass wrote: » Are your cows lic/kiwi cross hybrids or do you cross fr/je yourselves so to speak?
simx wrote: » enquiring about buying a bunch of incalf heifers at the moment, what would ye expect to pay for decent heifers calving end jan-end march?
caseman wrote: » Crosbreed with good ebi 1200
simx wrote: » only heard of one bunch at that price and no ebi values present, they'll hardly get any dearer in another couple of months?
Timmaay wrote: » Agreed, 1200 is the price that I'd expect to pay for them in Dec! Thats when lads realise they don't have a cubicle space for them, or need the hassle of calving them down etc! Especially with loads of grass around now, people will be incline to let them graze on till housing.
simx wrote: » Yeah I think I'll hold out another while, for heifers that could be bought for circa 800 in April lads are asking 1200 ish now, they gained some value quick enough, would they gain as much value by jan/feb again? Doubt it imo