selous wrote: » Wow...so amn't is good and ain't isn't!
Thespoofer wrote: » Their not solicitors anymore, their lawyers... OMG, this one gets me.
moc moc a moc wrote: » Grammar a five-year-old would be ashamed of gets you?
gormdubhgorm wrote: » I am sure there are loads more examples of new terminology that replace older words, that were doing a fine job in the first place!
Banjoxed wrote: » Amn't is perfectly good Hiberno-English. Nothing wrong with that..
Je suis tres mal wrote: » Hiberno-English is nothing but a bastardization of an actual language commonly referred to as "English".
[Deleted User] wrote: » Eason = ✓ Easons = ✘ Eason's books/restaurant/deals, etc (i.e. the books etc belonging to Eason & Co) = ✓ Tesco= ✓ Tescos = ✘ Tesco's books/café/deals, etc = ✓ Aldi = ✓ Aldis = ✘ Aldi's books/café/deals, etc = ✓ And so on. Not knowing how to use an apostrophe correctly is the sort of basic mistake which will get a job application thrown in the bin. Seriously.
[Deleted User] wrote: » It's always been a mystery to me why "amn't" is non-standard but "aren't" is standard. I am not, but you aren't. There doesn't appear to be much consistency. Nevertheless, "amn't" is recorded in English since at least 1618, and is recognised as a common contraction in Ireland and Scotland by most if not all English dictionaries, including the OED: "Definition of amn't in English: contraction Am not. (chiefly Scottish & Irish)""I'm right, aren't I?" sounds very, very wrong to my ear, even though it is standard English. Then again, it will be a cold day in Hell before most Irish people would say formal things like "I should like to thank", as opposed to "I would like to thank" (In British English: I should, but you/he/she/they would; I shall, but you/he/she/they will) Standard English ≠ good English.
selous wrote: » Gardaí or Garda is Irish language its been English-ified now to Guards or Gards, :mad:
endacl wrote: Buns. OK? They're buns. Not cup cakes. Just. Fancy. Feckin'. Buns.
Eugene Norman wrote: » I bet there are people employed in Tesco who call it Tescos, even in their CV.
axer wrote: » Hi, I am just fixing up my CV and I have in it that I worked in Tescos. I cant remember what my job title was there and im sure someone here must have an idea.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » 1 they are fancy buns. 'Cup cakes' qualifies them as the fancy version.
brevity wrote: » GO TEAM IRELAND'S!!!
While on the subject I find "Eason's" grand, but "Tesco's" terrible (maybe that's totally peculiar to me)
RandomName2 wrote: » FFS they have the same etymology. Do you think it's just coincidental that garda and guard sound almost exactly the same and have roughly the same meaning? Mind you, that goes for a lotttt of Irish vocab.
RandomName2 wrote: » FFS they have the same etymology. Do you think it's just coincidental that garda and guard sound almost exactly the same and have roughly the same meaning? Mind you, that goes for a lotttt of Irish vocab. While on the subject I find "Eason's" grand, but "Tesco's" terrible (maybe that's totally peculiar to me)
wendell borton wrote: » ...and English is a bastardisation of Frisian.
selous wrote: » The term "Sports tourer" in cars for an Estate,
Je suis tres mal wrote: » Tesco's Is the most annoying Oirishism of them all.
mikhail wrote: » Enthusiastically humping French for all its vocabulary.
Guy:Incognito wrote: » Which irish car manufacturer started that?