dcrosskid wrote: » Obviously not condoning Rushe's stroke but Maurice Shannahan was goading him for some time and obviously was looking for a reaction from him.
Gentleman Off The Pitch wrote: » Waterford twitter users and posters here getting their knickers in a twist that someone may call out their Maurice on his unsporting behaviour, questioning how could anyone know what was said to Shanahan on the pitch, well the same can be said about what Maurice did or did not say to Rushe.
PTH2009 wrote: » roll on Sun 9th aug. This will be Tadgh De Burcas first ever game in Croke Park i think
deiseach wrote: » If people wish to accuse Maurice of being unsporting, fine. But they should have the courage of their convictions and admit that is what they are doing. If you are going to put Rushe's stroke into context by saying he was goaded then you are condoning the strike.
Gentleman Off The Pitch wrote: » We obviously have different understandings of the word condone.
deiseach wrote: » You are condoning Rushe's stroke. Obviously.
Giveitfong wrote: » As far as I am aware, five of the twenty Waterford players who played yesterday have not played in Croke Park before: Shane Fives, Tadhg de Búrca, Colin Dunford, Eddie Barrett and Maurice Shanahan. Colin Dunford was a sub on the minor team that played there in 2011 but didn't come on.
Giveitfong wrote: » As far as I am aware, five of the twenty Waterford players who played yesterday have not played in Croke Park before: Shane Fives, Tadhg de Búrca, Colin Dunford, Eddie Barrett and Maurice Shanahan. Colin Dunford was a sub on the minor team that played there in 2011 but didn't come on. Speaking of Dunford, he does take up good positions and has an excellent first touch. After scoring two early points, I thought he might go on to have a great game, and could well have scored six points with the chances created. It is probably a confidence thing, and I would persevere with him against Kilkenny. People on here seem to be delighted that Jackie Tyrrell won't be available for Kilkenny. On the big Croke Park pitch, players like Dunford and Shane Bennett could really scorch Tyrrell. While Philip Mahony did a lot of good covering work yesterday, he was in serious trouble in the air against Danny Sutcliffe who won an ocean of ball. This could be a problem against Kilkenny, who are very good in the air.
galwaylad14 wrote: » I'd come straight out and call Shanahan unsporting. His team had the game won, he had no business going out holding on to Rushe's hurl, he was rubbing the victory in his face and nothing else. Hate to see it. Rushe was stupid to rise to it but I genuinely think Shanahan comes out of the incident looking worse to be honest. Should show a small bit more class in victory. Waterford were good yesterday though and deserved the win. Thought Gleeson, Brick and Maurice himself were abolutley superb. Brick never wastes a ball, certainly not the greatest stick man we've ever seen on a hurling pitch but he's one of the cleverest hurlers I've ever seen in terms of using the ball. Thought Gleeson really arrived as a top class intercounty hurler yesterday and playing midfield suited him, gave him more freedom to get forward. He's the kind of guy who'd have fit right in with the Waterford teams of the mid 00's with all their style and off the cuff hurling. And Maurice definitely is right up there with the top forwards in the game now. Had a great game yet again. Definite All star for him. Yesterday was my first time to see Waterford in action in person this year as I didn't make it down there for the league quarter final and it's often hard to get a sense of the shape they are playing when watching it on telly but I have to say they weren't anywhere near as defensive as I thought they'd be from what everyone had been saying. Didn't use a sweeper for much of the game really, played 2 in the full forward line mostly, I had expected it to be just Maurice up front on his own for long periods. Don't see ye beating Kilkenny to be honest, just don't think the firepower is there to score enough to beat them. Would like to see ye do it but hard to envisage. But who knows, we might get a Galway and Waterford final yet, would be great to see and great for the game.
Mountainlad wrote: » Would you call joe Canning unsporting?
galwaylad14 wrote: » Would you? Can't remember him ever carrying on like Shanahan did yesterday to be honest. I know he actually got a yellow for "sledging" earlier in the year after scoring a goal but I think Brian Gavin just got that one wrong to be honest as did most people at the time if I recall rightly.
galwaylad14 wrote: » I'd come straight out and call Shanahan unsporting. His team had the game won, he had no business going out holding on to Rushe's hurl, he was rubbing the victory in his face and nothing else. Hate to see it. Rushe was stupid to rise to it but I genuinely think Shanahan comes out of the incident looking worse to be honest. Should show a small bit more class in victory.
galwaylad14 wrote: » Would you? Can't remember him ever carrying on like Shanahan did yesterday to be honest.I know he actually got a yellow for "sledging" earlier in the year after scoring a goal but I think Brian Gavin just got that one wrong to be honest as did most people at the time if I recall rightly.
redlead wrote: » My personal view on sledging is that it is harmless enough provided that it is not personal abuse. It's certainly something that multiple players on all intercounty teams partake in. I don't know what was being said on Sunday but I suspect that it was harmless enough goading. I believe that Maurice himself was getting lots off it from some of the Dublin players when he was taking his frees and it was like water off a ducks back. I can see why some people would hate it too but any suggestion that it is worse than physically striking an opponent is just wrong. You cannot equate the two.
Stacksofwacks wrote: » If sledging isn't personal abuse then what is it? You seriously think that players full of adrenalin won't cross the boundaries from harmless banter 'oh you could have done better there lad'' to ''go **** your mother and sister ya Dublin pikey'' bla bla
Stacksofwacks wrote: » You seriously think that players full of adrenalin won't cross the boundaries from harmless banter 'oh you could have done better there lad'' to ''go **** your mother and sister ya Dublin pikey'' bla bla
redlead wrote: » What are you on about? Believe it or not most intercounty hurlers are normal enough decent lads who don't personally abuse people. I don't know what you are trying to prove by making up some ridiculous insult and putting the words in someone elses mouth.
Stacksofwacks wrote: » ok so give me an example of something that would be ok for a normal decent lad to say in the field but dosen't constitute any kind of personal abuse whatsoever