Ciaran_B wrote: » Had a South African guy try give me the same nonsense in Rathmines a few weeks back. "I need 17 euro to get the bus to <some made up place>.I lost my wallet etc"
realies wrote: » Not all junkies are homeless and not all homeless are junkies . There are a number of things we can do to help the homeless. If you feel uncomfortable with giving money, Then why not buy them lunch or dinner.
SMJSF wrote: » And we have the Romanians pulling the rubbish from our bins and scattering it on the ground, steps and path. The other day a well known one was trying to get money from the landlord and I opened the door to put my rubbish out, and she scattered quickly, we dont get along after a few run-ins with her!
SMJSF wrote: » Its the Romanians which grind my gears! And it ticks me off that we can't send them back because of the "oh my 10 kids are in Ireland" crap, and that the EU scheme was set up. Scrap that awful EU idea, keep laws and countries to themselves and stricter boarder/gate rules and checks. Where I'm living there is 3 different beggars a day in the same spot. And the guy with the small brown dog and the shopping trolley in Dublin city ended up getting banned from my area because he started harassing people in their own cars in traffic at 5pm and blocking the doorways of public businesses to stop people going in or out to give him money, and followed me to the front door of my apartment building, and I ended up having an argument with him and had the call the gardai!! And we have the Romanians pulling the rubbish from our bins and scattering it on the ground, steps and path. The other day a well known one was trying to get money from the landlord and I opened the door to put my rubbish out, and she scattered quickly, we dont get along after a few run-ins with her!
jungleman wrote: » I just divide them into two categories: 1. Genuine homeless people 2. Romanians
Hammer89 wrote: » I was in Canada earlier in the year and two of the many things I noticed were: a) it's not possible to go one day without somebody asking you for money and b) their tone of voice is almost childlike. We're talking about grown men and women, of a very diverse age range, but they all sounded like children when asking for money. This could've been intentional, a method of provoking sympathy, or it might've just been reflective of their situation and desperation. I don't particularly care whether or not they deserve their struggles, due to addiction or whatever, but it's still f*cking sad.
John_Rambo wrote: » I'll ask you the same question. Are you sure you're not confusing our friendly Romanians with Romani?
jungleman wrote: » I know the difference between the two, but refer to them as Romanians out of habit. Everyone does, in fairness.
jungleman wrote: » I just divide them into two categories: 1. Genuine homeless people 2. Romanians There are a lot of homeless people out there who literally are living each day to the next. It must be awful actually having nothing to look forward to when they wake up each morning. I wouldn't mind tossing them a few bob. There's a guy who sleeps under the bridge at Pearse St train station and I get him a cup of tea and a bit of spare change if I see him. Romanian beggars are professional beggars. They have houses. They beg because they just see it as a way to make easy money. I have no sympathy for them, and wouldn't give them the time of day.
Flippyfloppy wrote: » Completely discrediting yourself talking about 'Romanian beggars'
jungleman wrote: » I know the difference between the two
jungleman wrote: » but refer to them as Romanians out of habit
jungleman wrote: » Everyone does, in fairness
John_Rambo wrote: » Glad you know now. I reckon that's a bad habit. You should try and kick it. They don't really. Only silly people do.
bluewolf wrote: » Romanians are as fed up with the roma as anyone else it's not exactly "political correctness" any more than it is to not call the french spanish or something ... just wrong
jungleman wrote: » Gee whizz mister, thanks for the crash course on political correctness and ethnic group differences. Hopefully everyone reading the thread will glean some of your wisdom and go forth as wiser people. It's obvious from your comments that you are such a good person. Fantastic stuff, really.
The Dogs Bollix wrote: » I normally feel so sorry for homeless people, like they have nothing. Walked past someone sitting on the street today smoking a cigarette. I didn't feel so sorry walking past. 10 euro for a box of cigarettes. 10 euro can also go a long way in aldi/lidl.
Stheno wrote: » They might have been smoking rollies?
Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime wrote: » Used to work dublin city a lot and still do and you don't see a lot of this "beggers" at night but you do see a few usuals sleeping rough like the couple on nassue Street and the bloke at trailfinders on Dawson street.... these i genuinely feel bad for
foggy_lad wrote: » All these people are more than adequately catered for by social welfare/mental health/homeless services so I say
foggy_lad wrote: » I remember giving that guy that died a tenner on Abbey st one day a few months before he died
An Claidheamh wrote: » Surprise them, take it off them and walk off or dump it.
KingBrian2 wrote: » You should not enable him, he needs some treatment. A better idea would have ben to recommend that he check himself into a local clinic or join Alcohol Anonymous to meet other people in the same situation. A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » The sad reality is that the people who are least capable of pulling themselves out of addiction are expected to do all of the heavy lifting before a detox bed will even be given to them. In the case of homeless service users, a residential unit might insist they have to be coming off their addiction in a substance-free hostel before they can be considered, for example. KingBrian2 wrote: » They should not being doing it alone, without a family or a friend it will be very difficult for them to get through. A loving relationship can improve their lives and may them give up an addiction.
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » The sad reality is that the people who are least capable of pulling themselves out of addiction are expected to do all of the heavy lifting before a detox bed will even be given to them. In the case of homeless service users, a residential unit might insist they have to be coming off their addiction in a substance-free hostel before they can be considered, for example. KingBrian2 wrote: » They should not being doing it alone, without a family or a friend it will be very difficult for them to get through. A loving relationship can improve their lives and may them give up an addiction.
KingBrian2 wrote: » They should not being doing it alone, without a family or a friend it will be very difficult for them to get through. A loving relationship can improve their lives and may them give up an addiction.
John_Rambo wrote: » Anyone remember the barefooted beggar on Henry street in the 90's? His feet were mud scattered and trembling... but he had a mobile phone! Absolute chancer! Edit... I saw so many elderly inner city women and men give him cash. Not good.