jdbarry wrote: » It said during the week we couldn't play either Tyrone or Derry because we've already played them. So Galway it is, even if we win that we have Mayo in the quarters and Dublin in the semis, not a nice route!
Nidgeweasel wrote: » Sense of entitlement? Behave yourself.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » What your point about league results has to do with anything I'm not sure. We're not a team that puts massive emphasis on the league. We were a last minute point away from being relegated in 2012 (AI winners) and operated out of division 2 last year (AI finalists). "Carrying that form over" is such bollocks anyway I can't even be arsed going into it.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » The first half approach was totally and utterly wrong (Management error). The second half was better where we changed our approach and began running the ball (was that not a different approach) with support runners off the shoulder. We then made wrong options at times and kicked a horrific number of wides. They did (because they are) look tired though so blue Peter badge for you for picking up on that. Well done.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » So yes, Donegal pissed that game away through incompetence on the line and the worst shooting in a long time.They could have won it pulling up had they been at it.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » Also, they "beat Donegal at their own game" and they "out donegaled Donegal" has to be the laziest, most tiresome tripe that will be trotted out for the rest of the week. Up there with "the blanket" and "negative football".
Nidgeweasel wrote: » Sense of entitlement? Behave yourself. What your point about league results has to do with anything I'm not sure. We're not a team that puts massive emphasis on the league. We were a last minute point away from being relegated in 2012 (AI winners) and operated out of division 2 last year (AI finalists). "Carrying that form over" is such bollocks anyway I can't even be arsed going into it. The first half approach was totally and utterly wrong (Management error). The second half was better where we changed our approach and began running the ball (was that not a different approach) with support runners off the shoulder. We then made wrong options at times and kicked a horrific number of wides. They did (because they are) look tired though so blue Peter badge for you for picking up on that. Well done.So yes, Donegal pissed that game away through incompetence on the line and the worst shooting in a long time.They could have won it pulling up had they been at it. Also, they "beat Donegal at their own game" and they "out donegaled Donegal" has to be the laziest, most tiresome tripe that will be trotted out for the rest of the week. Up there with "the blanket" and "negative football".
pmasterson95 wrote: » Nidge what did you think about Toyes ball carrying today? Its his biggest asset apparently.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » Stick to the soaps like a good child.
pmasterson95 wrote: » Insightful.
STB. wrote: » LOL. You need to get over yourself.My point is that your general attitude of dissing anything negative said about Donegal GAA and your sense of entitlement regarding a "a thrown away Ulster championship" has no semblance of reality to it and shows a complete lack of respect to your winning opponents (its called grace in defeat). Monaghan were simply better. This should have come as no shock as they beat yis earlier this year in the league. As I pointed out Donegal's performance at the highest level this year has been poor. This is not 2012. This is 2015. This is where you are.
STB. wrote: » So it wasnt a case of Monaghan being the better team then.
STB. wrote: » Well that is the game you play despite apparently having the most intelligent and naturally gifted footballers in the country.
STB. wrote: » Talk to ya.
Mackas_view wrote: » Shocking shocking game. Rory Gallagher was clueless on that line IMO. Still though we could have drawn the game if Marty O Reilly (open to correction) had of put the ball over the bar in the last attack instead of passing back inside. Depressed!
Nidgeweasel wrote: » Seen much of Toye yourself by the way? Down through the years like, you must have a wealth of experience of watching Donegal and St. Michaels.
pmasterson95 wrote: » I'm getting the impression you think the "95" in my name is my DOB? Thats cute. Wrong but cute. Well I probably havent seen as much as you admittedly but I have seen enough of him to see he is not the same player as when ye won the AI. I guess he has declined with age somewhat. Just from watching this years matches. And also reading your latest post about stopping the unstoppable Dubs I think I've realised your problem. You are talking about performances from last year. There is A new season going on? I presume you have realised this so why talk about last year or what Toye used to be like? If you came up against the dubs and played like ya did today ye wouldnt stop them. I find its best to talk about this years performances when talking about this years championship. Also theres loosing with class and there is being a sore loser throwing toys out of the pram. I guess age might give experience but it doesn't always stop a good auld hissy fit.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » The dubs post came a month or two ago during a discussion about the last years championship, in particular the semi finals.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » .... We've been poor at the highest level. We got to a league semi final and got to an Ulster final. So we were in the top 4 teams in the league and the top two in Ulster. Is that poor is it?
Nidgeweasel wrote: » The dubs post came a month or two ago during a discussion about the last years championship, in particular the semi finals.. And Toye was better in 2014 than in 2012. So no, you don't really know what you're talking about. I'd just leave it there to be honest.
Triboro wrote: » So when do they give date and venue for qualifier?
pmasterson95 wrote: » And again Nidgeyboy. This isnt the 2014 Championship. Its the 2015 Championship so Toyes performances last year are still irrelavent to this years performances. Maybe in 2016 you might start talking about this years Championship.
STB. wrote: » Untrue. It was at the start of the month (in the Champsionship thread, linked a few posts back) when you where winding up other posters about how good the Donegal 15 are in the context of the current champsionship, and how the current Dublin team were only youngsters with nothing under their belt. When it was pointed out to you that the vast majority of the current Dublin panel have 2 AI medals and countless NFL medals and POTY accolades, you continued talking out your rear end about the Dubs being rattled. I said it then, you have some shock coming to you.
riginally Posted by Peist2007 View Post The dubs got their tactics spectacularly wrong. That is why they lost. Sending your half back line marauding up the pitch is a sure fire way to lose to Donegal. They believed their own bull**** and hype that they could just go and outgun teams. That's how they play, fair dues to them. Donegal play a different way and have more intelligent and natural footballers who picked them off with consummate ease. The game was over 2 minutes after the restart.
STB. wrote: » You cannot even be graceful in defeat.
Congratulations. Another one chalked up and won't be the last. We didn't play as we can and as such can't have any complaints about the result only a frustration and 'if onlys' which count for fúck all and which is 100 times worse than had we gone out and just been wiped away by Kerry like Mayo did to us last year. Heartbroken.
Just wanted to give my sincere congrats as a Donegal man for your great win on Sunday. Don't get me wrong, that defeat hurt alot and will for a long time. We needed 3 in a row as a county after the things we've been through but it wasn't to be. The highest praise I can give you is that your performance on Sunday is exactly the type of performance I longed to see a Donegal team produce in Ulster finals against Armagh in 02,04,06. You's have had plenty of heartbreak too and to see the duck broken in the fashion which you did was extraordinary and full credit to yous. Yes, Donegal were below par but I honestly think even if we had have performed we would have lost. The desire and hunger your players showed was simply immense and they are a credit to your county. I hope the heads aren't still suffering. Best of luck in Croker in the quarter final, I have no doubt you will give a very good account of yourselves.
2moreMinutes wrote: **** me. That's about all I can muster up on that day. Even though we had the chance to equalise, I think we deserved exactly what we got out of the game.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » The posts were specifically referring to last years championship match. And you're bleating on about we're going to get shocked this year. I've expressly said in this very thread several times that we'll end up on the heap by round 4/ QF beaten by a fitter fresher team.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » We've got intelligent natural footballers from 1-15. Dublin don't.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » Donegal play a different way and have more intelligent and natural footballers
Nidgeweasel wrote: » If you say so.
STB. wrote: » They are posted in the "The 2015 All Ireland Senior Football Championship thread". Once again thats the 2015 Thread. All of your language is in the present tense. The post was about tactics for that game being wrong and Dublin believing their own hype and puff going into that game. Any talk about how they play was intended as reference to last year. They don't play the same way this year. It was bookended by saying that particular game was over 2 minutes into the second half. It's not intended to be taken as a specific reference to any potential meeting between the two in the future as the circumstances going into the same will be markedly different. STB. wrote: » I do say so. And so have others in response to your ramblings about Donegal throwing away the Ulster Championship this year, rather than being gracious in defeat. No amount of posting previous posts to previous matches can hide that. Anyhow I am done here. I get no satisfaction on calling people out on stuff, even when they come accross aggressively and resort to insults. And hey, its only a game. So I'm apparently ungracious because my assessment of the game leads me to think we've pissed away a massive opportunity to win a provincial championship? And I strongly believe that. My congratulations were offered immediately after the game to those around me as they always are and always will be and via text to those appropriate. I wouldn't say that's ungracious. I've no problem with Monaghan, I know 2013 meant to them what 2011 did to us and I'd love to see them get to a semi final and give it a real crack. I've given you two of the worst defeats I've encountered and the reaction to them which should be proof enough. Anyway, you can think what you want, is cuma liom. Thanks for stopping by, enjoy what remains of the weekend.
STB. wrote: » I do say so. And so have others in response to your ramblings about Donegal throwing away the Ulster Championship this year, rather than being gracious in defeat. No amount of posting previous posts to previous matches can hide that. Anyhow I am done here. I get no satisfaction on calling people out on stuff, even when they come accross aggressively and resort to insults. And hey, its only a game.
Redsoxfan wrote: » Well, anyone who had been at our games this year won't be surprised at what they saw today. It's still very disappointing to lose a final. First half was awful. Much like Letterkenny earlier this year. Monaghan played us like chumps, and despite all the bodies at the back, Monaghan were able to recycle the ball until they had a man in space in the scoring zone. Second half, it was better, our defence especially. But it took us too long to get going and take the game to them. The 16 wides and Paddy's last shot will get all the attention, but that only masks the real underlying issue - our attacking strategy and decision making is awful. Our shooting has been very poor in too many other games lately to just write it off to one of those days. This from a team that used to have such an efficient strategy and has plenty of experience. Was there anyone on the team who wasn't rotated in at full forward? What did this achieve exactly? All the guff we heard about how Donegal looked like they were playing with more freedom this year and that this was now 'Rory Gallagher's team' sounds even more hollow now. In general, we looked a tired team in the first half - there was a real lack of intensity. That's a real concern. I didn't really see why Christy Toye was the first to go. That turnover was hardly on him as he was given no way out by his teammates. Is Lacey injured or what? I haven't watched it back yet do don't know if Toye and Lacey were as bad as their hooking suggested. Colm McFadden had a shocker - but the signs were there against Derry - sure he scored two points, but he took six shots to do so. We left it far too long to bring on Leo. His style was suited to today's game. Fresh legs would have made a difference. Jigger showed well for the ball but in general was ignored. Anthony Thompson is a shadow of himself. Frank McGlynn was immense. Scored a point, made a fantastic defensive play in the second half and generally ran himself into the ground. The two McHugh's did well in the second half. But, their size will always count against them against physical teams. I thought MacNiallais and McElhinney had far too little impact for players who can score and also for two lads who represent the future. They kept the Michael injury quiet. Hard to say what impact it had, but he didn't contribute much. Is Paddy injured or not? Seemed to be lame at times. Hard to criticise him if he is. But you wonder. I am very concerned by how this year ends. Would happily draw a line under it after today to be honest. But, I'll be there the next day.