frostyjacks wrote: » In fairness, I don't think they have this same issue in the north. This class of thieving, junkie scum is very much Dublin based. Walk down O'Connell street and you can spot them a mile away.
phone150 wrote: » In all fairness what do you think would happen if one person stood up and told 2 scumbags strung out on drink/drugs to leave the woman alone?? They'd just say ok and go on their way?? No they'd take it out on the person intervening and would probably use more violence or even a knife on someone for standing up to them, , Very foolish thing to do to take on scum like that when you don't know what they are capable of and what weapons they have. But hay at least you'd be called a hero in the papers when they're reporting your funeral. Only sensible thing to do is call the guards and there's no excuse for not doing that.
Deleted User wrote: » Any violent unprovoked assaults in NI since they took office? Let's search. Bet I can at least one. Which would put SF figures in the unique position of both being involved in violent criminality and failing to curb it.
anewme wrote: » One person would be no use. A few big lads on the luas would have knocked two skinny rat junkies into next week. I hope it never happens to their wife or daughter and people look the other way. I've intervened on the Luas when a junkie robbed a blokes phone. Bloke asked other passengers for support and said if this guy punches me when i physically take back my phone will anyone help? Funny, when I backed him up him so did loads of other people (including women). Junkie backed off (not before calling me a nosy c***) I've also intervened when we (a group of four of us) spotted another group of four dragging a girl down the road by the hair on her hands and knees while a load of people just got out of the way. They did attack us physically by the way when we interfered and could have easy had knives etc. We were later thanked both by the police and the girls mother(girl was in a bad way in hospital) mother was calling us guardian angels and was in tears. I understand people are afraid that they could turn on you. But what's the alternative. Ignore these random assaults till one day it is you, and people pretend not to see. Maybe you could be the unlucky one they kill. Someone should have got off luas and called Gardai if that's the case but to ignore it? I work on the assumption that if my day comes then I will get my payback and that someone will help me.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Any violent unprovoked assaults in NI since they took office? Let's search. Bet I can at least one. Which would put SF figures in the unique position of both being involved in violent criminality and failing to curb it.
Discodog wrote: » Anyone who heard the interview with Noel Hill on Liveline would be amazed that his attacker will be released in three years. The guy was kicked repeatedly in the head & nearly died. There should be two benchmarks. One if violence or threat of violence is used. The second if a person is hit or kicked repeatedly. In the first case the minimum sentence should be one year served. In the second it should be 10 years.
Egginacup wrote: » I can guarantee you that if there was a burly Polish bricklayer on the Luas on his way to work he would have hammered 7 shades of shit out of these two rats. But locals just cower and think "don't get involved".
suicide_circus wrote: » The important difference is that the local cowards know in Ireland there is a very good chance of our Polish hero being done for assault in that scenario
tawnyowl wrote: » "Sterilise them"? Jesus wept!
languagenerd wrote: » People don't intervene for a few reasons. One, on that Luas line, regular passengers are desensitised to it. You see gangs of junkies or scumbags fighting each other all the time - tbh, when I got that line, I had my headphones in and stared out the window the whole way to town. There's a good chance I wouldn't have noticed it happening, or just assumed it was the usual crowd beating each other up. Two, as happened in this case, there's usually no security and the driver will do nothing - the glass door is kept closed and (s)he'll keep going as normal til security appear at a stop further down the line, which may never happen. If you intervene, you're on your own and trapped in glass box with the scumbags until the next station, where they may well follow you off or stop you leaving. And they may well recognise you the next time as well. Three, as everyone said, they might turn a knife on you, or the victim might turn on you, or you might get a syringe in the throat. Yes, it's shameful, but everyone has that degree of self-preservation. You feel it won't have any impact if you do step in, because you'll get attacked and they'll continue with the original victim anyway. And it will keep happening until effective security, policing and sentencing happens. Scumbags do what they like, there's no deterrent, no fear, and they're just let away with it.
How Soon Is Now wrote: » I can relate to a lot of this. As i said originally im on the luas at least twice a day on the red line you just get used to whats going on. I tend to sit at the very top if i can get the seat to avoid everyone really Ive been in the middle of stupid dragged up teenagers talking **** and fighting and i just ignored it. All it takes is you look at one of them the wrong way and one them ends up over at you as it is they fall all over people normally anyway. Any of the times ive seen anything serious happen ive been away from it so i wasnt going to get up out of my seat and run down the other end of the luas like a fool. People closer did get up and help out the situation anyway they could and chances are if i was next to something going on id get involved if i taught it was worth it ive done it before in other situations. What i mean by being worth it is sometimes your best off for your own well being to stay out of it because you dont know whats going to happen! At the end of the day theres no point trying to be the hero if your gonna get knifed or something similar. You can normally judge these situations some what.
homerjay2005 wrote: » Judges should have the choice of sentencing taken away from them...
biko wrote: » It's a sad state of affairs when two scumbags pester and assault a person and a car full of people are to afraid to do anything. I wonder what hurts more, the actions of the scumbags or the in-actions of the cowards.
languagenerd wrote: » We need a Transport Police with actual powers rather than private security, we need better sentencing to act as a deterrent and we need an education system that can nip this crap in the bud. There's a whole section of Irish society who feel the rules don't apply to them and they're entitled to do whatever they like - and a large proportion of them are on the Luas.
languagenerd wrote: » It wasn't every day, or every journey, but it was regular. And every time I wrote to complain, I got the same canned response claiming there's constant security on the red line (no, there f*cking isn't!).We need a Transport Police with actual powers rather than private security, we need better sentencing to act as a deterrent and we need an education system that can nip this crap in the bud. There's a whole section of Irish society who feel the rules don't apply to them and they're entitled to do whatever they like - and a large proportion of them are on the Luas.
BobMc wrote: » Can understand not getting involved, you never know what will happen, as for security, i'm not for it, its a police job not a security guards job, why not transit police like other built up cities. Look no. 1 problem is concurrent sentencing and suspended sentences, suspended sentences should only apply to first time non violent crimes, after that tough titty you're doing time. No concurrent sentences full stop. Each offence committed during a crime get dished out time. Theft from person x yrs, use of weapon during offence x yrs add them up drop in in jail, no early release, stack em and rack em !!, By all means bring in 3 strikes and 20yrs. I get very offended reading about scum carrying 3 digit convictions, even someone with 100 convictions carrying 9 months per conviction should be in jail for 75yrs.
suicide_circus wrote: » It is truly baffling that people with 50whatever convictions is walking around committing crime with seeming impunity. These are CONVICTIONS remember....not crimes committed, not charges against them...actual convictions... by a judge....what the fcuk? I feel like I'm taking crazy pills.