As I sit at home writing this I know I’m risking my job by attempting to tell the truth about what it’s like to be a member of AGS in 2015. I have been a member of An Garda Siochana for over a decade. Having our wages cut so much that gardai are forced to sleep in their cars so they will have enough fuel to be able to go to work day in and day out. I’m not ashamed to say I’m personally struggling to live day to day money-wise.I’ve gone days eating cereal so my kids can eat a proper meal.I’ve struggled with everything from having tax on my car to having food in the presses at home. I know lads out of work that are on better money unemployed than I am at work and they’re able to go for a pint on a Saturday or Sunday night.
eisen1968 wrote: » Point is, we don't look after our own in this country. That Garda is eating cornflakes because his taxes and yours and mine were spent on entertaining Germans as they got off a cruise ship. How much do we owe again?
jonnny68 wrote: » Certain Gardai seem to take great pleasure in inflicting pain on water protesters , many videos ive seen they look to be provoking people into a reaction, although in fairness they do have a tough job with the amount of junkies and general scum around thesedays, i highly doubt they would last 2 minutes in any other country but Ireland...land of cesspit and corruption.
eisen1968 wrote: » Did you ever think about joining the Gardaí Yourself?
eisen1968 wrote: » I want I want I want. First words out of your mouth. Next.
Billy86 wrote: » Quick question for ya - why are the rest of Europe not up in arms about water charges? As best I know, ours are amongst the cheapest on the continent.
eviltwin wrote: » he should try it, he'd get a land.
the_syco wrote: » Do the people on the dole still get bottles thrown at their face, and blood spat at them?
eisen1968 wrote: » Sam Kade Cornflakes expensive so Garda should have no problem buying proper food instead. That's Your perception of this argument. Your saying if a Garda can afford cornflakes he can also afford proper food. That is incredible, if that is in fact how you actually perceive this argument. Maybe i'm, wrong but that is how it reads. I suggest you lie down for the remainder of your existence on this planet and stay down.
mariaalice wrote: » barley getting by
Crooked Jack wrote: » Perhaps this explains why a disproportionate amount of them, in my experience anyway, have been massive arseholes
Pocoyo wrote: » The gardai want a bigger piece of the pie after all they are the ones doing Enda Kenny's dirty work. Shower of morons attending meter installations over serious crime its pathetic,You'd imagine some form of moral objection would enter their heads they dont give a **** about their duty to the public.
MajorMax wrote: » I'm only suprised it took 29 posts before some mouth breather raised that issue, it has become the Irish version of Godwin's law***...
jimgoose wrote: » This particular mouth-breather is more inclined to agree with that poster than not.
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » Comes from South Armagh, "experience" with the guards eh? Tell us more. Don't tease us.
dr.fuzzenstein wrote: » I've seen posts by that poster you're inclined to agree with. I'm inclined not to. In general. Gardai wouldn't have to attend meter installations in any other country and most police forces of the world don't have the luxury which duties they may pick and choose from according to their personal tastes and I don't envy them having to attend protests by what is, let's face it, a looney fringe who are just looking for an excuse...
il gatto wrote: » Heard on the radio a few years ago that we have the best paid police in Europe with the lowest rate of solving serious crime. Make of that what you will.
Gazzmonkey wrote: » I always thought they were extremely well paid, with one Garda bragging to me during a raid that they get about a grand a week starting off !!! I would be most pleased to hear that they get much less than that