mickstupp wrote: » Not a chance... Do you mean not a chance that she could possibly have any interest in using her own misfortune to highlight a very serious issue?
Gowlasauras Rex wrote: » What can't we link the video directly here, but link to other sites that have it? So, why aren't we allowed link it from Facebook?
NachoBusiness wrote: » No, if she (or anyone) wanted to do help other victims of domestic violence, they would make the video, take photos, keep them and post them on YouTube or write an article / blog about it six months down the line when it was all done with and say: 'Here's what I went through, but I did x, y and z and I got help and now I am back on my feet, you can too, don't let this happen to you, there is help available' etc. Posting a video straight away on FB, with no mention of the authorities, helps nobody.
eviltwin wrote: » I reckon to 99% of the population he is a nobody.
poeticmakaveli wrote: » Terrible to see any man hit any woman and vice versa, even mental torture is as bad and worse! But the only thing that annoys me is this "raise awareness" Everybody is raising awareness these days, we know what's right and wrong and nobody needs to see this video to learn that its wrong and you need to go to the guards and friends about this man, I think some people love the glory of it all by getting more attention than help!
NachoBusiness wrote: » Indeed, but the video was no doubt made with the 1% in mind and to ruin the chances of that single digit ever becoming a double one.
NachoBusiness wrote: » Indeed, but the video was no doubt made with the 1% in mind and to ruin the chances of that single digit ever becoming a double one. Which is all cool if all is as she suggests and as I say, if it is, hopefully imprisonment will be his punishment, not being unfriended.
c_man wrote: » I think Internet Law allows him to outline his defence on Twitter.
eviltwin wrote: » The thing is there is not much that gardai can do. He will at most get a night in the cells if that.
mickstupp wrote: » Helps nobody... except for all the people that it helps, who might not have had the bravery to stand up and get out of bad situations otherwise.
You have no idea the effect it will have but you're dismissing the possibility out of hand. You've also dismissed any positive motive she may have had, i.e. raising awareness (yes poeticmakaveli, that phrase is clearly an indicator of insincerity), by saying she wouldn't have done it if the man in question wasn't well known, whoever the hell he is. You say 'if she wanted to help other victims of domestic violence', clearly implying you don't think she does want to help other victims of domestic violence, because she's not following what you deem to be the logical, rational, process. You seem so sure. When did she tell you this was her motive?
mikom wrote: » Interestingly yer man tweeted on Apr 18th............ "It's hard to beat a person who never gives up".
bucketybuck wrote: » Posting videos to the lynch mob on Facebook and doing radio interviews are not the correct way to handle being the victim of a crime. It wouldn't be the first time baying mobs went after somebody despite not having all the details and the damage done can be not insignificant. Vigilante justice is no justice at all, especially when fueled by the "U OK BABE" brigade.
Mightydrumming wrote: » To be honest, from my point of view - I haven't seen anything like this on Facebook before. Hence why I think it's affective. As it was stated earlier in the thread, in this day and age - the Gardaí most likely wouldn't have done much. We don't know if she went to them before posting the video. I think it's a great first step in bringing the 'big hard' men to justice. She had a choice whether or not she wanted to post the video, she decided to post it - Kudos to her I think
NachoBusiness wrote: » As I said earlier: there is a time and a place to release videos and pictures of your injuries to the public and that is when your effort at seeking justice through the correct avenues have been exhausted and you have some real advice to give women and what it is that they need to do should they unfortunately find themselves in similar circumstances.
bucketybuck wrote: » Effective? How about asking, is it even true?
blue note wrote: » If he's innocent he can sue her for defamation of character and show the world the claims were unfounded. If he's not he has nothing to complain about.