Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » Chin up girls and boys. Ye are in the A side of the draw. A QF v Dublin or Kerry is still possible if ye really want it.
wow sierra wrote: » Yes - as we are trying to get over yesterday we can at least take comfort in that. A win in the easy side of the draw might help get the team into a better mindset, to take on bigger challenges. It has been a long season for the younger players with Sigerson, Under 21 and a tough league campaign. With the London performance people in Roscommon were getting very nervous - a lot of the over-hyping was from outside the county in the National media. This constant calling us a Div 1 side is stupid - we won a very tight Div2, that's all. A few crucial injuries, two missed goals and a few other things went against us yesterday but overall in almost all positions Sligo looked hungrier, better prepared, quicker to every ball. Some of the decisions on the sideline were poor - leaving Senan on so long was crazy. Connolly had a brilliant league final but by the time he came on it was tough to get into the game. Maybe Megadodge is reacting to your comments on another thread not this one.
The Roscommon crowd are the biggest shower of tools around.
megadodge wrote: » For those of you getting wound up by my comments earlier, on the Mayo thread only a few days ago the same Fr. Tod Umptious who pops up here straight after the Sligo match posted the following Kind of hard to take his comment on 'keeping our chins up' as genuine having seen that crap! And I know what I've experienced at numerous matches against Mayo in the last 10 years or so. It's not an opinion, it's fact. I've never experienced that kind of gloating from Galways supporters, who whould have beaten us just as often as Mayo. It's something that numerous football people I know have commented on and it's extremely disappointing to see, as for years I always regarded the Mayo supporters as the crowd you could have the best craic with and they'd always stay around town after a big match, etc. That's definitely not the way it is now. And obviously that doesn't apply to ALL Mayo supporters, but there seems to be more of the classless types now than ever before.
closeline wrote: » Haha have to laugh. What rubbish was John Evans talking about..Beat a poor Down team in Div 2. All the talk of winning All Irelands has clearly not worked out.
padd b1975 wrote: » I heard a snippet of his post-match interview earlier on the radio. When asked if he had learned anything from the game, he said they learned that championship football is totally different to league.... I would have thought he might have already been aware of that little nugget of information!
RoscommonTom wrote: » can we get the galways in the next round
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » No they are in the B side, you can never meet them in the qualifiers. You will get one of Cavan, Longford, Antrim or Offaly.
RoscommonTom wrote: » Thanks, id be happy with any of those
Rawhead wrote: » I think it's only fair that you put his quote into context. His post was in reply to the posting (since exposed as fraudulent) of a statement from the Roscommon GAA Facebook page after the Mayo vs Galway game. The fake post said that they'd be playing Mayo in the Connacht final and seemed to disregard Sligo completely. It was a very clever deception and like most great satire had an element of truth to it. The post was a reply to a very provocative statement that turned out to be false.
megadodge wrote: » Well, considering the "very provocative" statement was proven to be false within a half an hour of the remark, why didn't he withdraw said remark? The answer is obvious. And I still stand by my comments on the behaviour of certain sections of Mayo supporters in the last decade or so. I've experienced it first hand from them AND NO OTHER COUNTY and it's just classless.
megadodge wrote: » Well, considering the "very provocative" statement was proven to be false within a half an hour of the remark, why didn't he withdraw said remark?The answer is obvious. And I still stand by my comments on the behaviour of certain sections of Mayo supporters in the last decade or so. I've experienced it first hand from them AND NO OTHER COUNTY and it's just classless.
Rawhead wrote: » The underdogs won yesterday and everyone is delighted, as they always are when an underdog wins. Indeed there are Mayo supporters who have jumped on the bandwagon recently who are gob****es and I've heard stuff said by my own countymen at matches that has made me cringe, but show me a supporter who hasn't. However, the most bile and genuine relish in Mayo's many All Ireland loses has come from Roscommon people I work with and know. There was more Donegal jerseys around Ballaghdreen after the 2012 final than there was in Lettterkenny. What kind of bitterness must a person have to spend €70 on a jersey that you'll only wear the once just to upset your neighbour. I have never even heard of anything similar on the border with Galway or Sligo. I know you keep saying it's everyone's fault but yours, however, go through every other county thread on the site and you won't see what you see on this one. Maybe ask yourself why that is?
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » Yes you are correct. <SNIP> And for the record I don't give a damn about what you or anyone else thinks of me or Mayo fans in general.
megadodge wrote: » I rest my case.
Cosmo Kramer wrote: » For me, the experience I had in the Hyde in 2001 forms a lot of how I feel about Roscommon GAA. I have never been treated in any GAA ground in the manner that I and other Mayo followers were by a significant section of the Roscommon supporters that day, it was shocking stuff. I know that, for me and many other Mayo supporters, it was a watershed day in terms of the rivalry between the two counties. However, I'm sure others may see it all differently based on their own personal experiences.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » As I said the A side is weak. Win your next game and then you could play one of the above or Clare, Fermanagh, or (likely) Kildare or (unlikely) Dublin Win that and you play loser of Munster or Leinster, win that and you play winner of Munster or Leinster
Jampip wrote: » Another trip to Breffni for yas lads.