Dan Jaman wrote: » "Money's short and times are hard, So here's your fecking birthday card."
DEFTLEFTHAND wrote: » Getting birthday cards from family with no money in it. I don't want your card ffs, I want money riiight.
Hollister11 wrote: » I have an aunt and uncle who are fairly well off. There both working and go through money like its going out of fashion. New house, rental property, new cars, top designer clothes you name it. Well for my communion back in 2004, they sent me out a card with €5 in it. Now granted i was only 8, but looking back on it ho give someone a fiver for their communion. My folks always give between 20-30 depending on who they are. Another time in school, we were doing a sponsored reading for MS. She sponsored me something like €4, but never gave it to me.
bluewolf wrote: » 30 quid? for a communion? You're a kid. What would you be doing except buying sweets with it anyway
PARlance wrote: » Just an isolated scam here. Have a neighbour who is in his 70's at home. He wouldn't spend Christmas. On the Friday evening of every bank holiday he goes to his doctor complaining of severe head pains... without fail he then gets an ambulance called for him to take him into hospital knowing full well that he will be kept under observation until a consultant sees him on Monday evening/Tuesday. Free accommodation and food for him for his bank holiday retreat. Up until the last bank holiday when he was turned away
Faith+1 wrote: » ^^^^ Christ I remember watching her on Extreme Cheapskates. She cooked dumpster food for an old college friend and his girlfriend. When they found out their reaction was priceless. I'm sorry but she is one manky b*tch.
sligojoek wrote: » Today, a very wealthy friend of mine called to see me. We speak on the phone a lot but haven't met in person for about 3 years. before he left the house he gave each of my children a crisp €50 note We adjourned to the pub and he ordered 2 pints of stout, and a pint of coke for his wife. Just as the barman served up the stout my friend fucked off to the toilet and I had to pay for the round.
sligojoek wrote: » You were there, were you?
DVDM93 wrote: » Lies.
sligojoek wrote: » Tipperary. Okay. I was being harsh on him. I typed that after a few pints and regretted it the next day. They called again today on their way back from Ballyshannon and took us all out for lunch. I showed him my post and the replies and we had a good laugh about it. He especially liked qwerty1991's reply.
Dwarf.Shortage wrote: » By any chance Sligo Joe are you in fact from Cavan?
partyguinness wrote: » What's wrong with that? That was standard student activity in my day. Yeah okay, it is disgusting but that reminds me of a funny incident years ago. A buddy was well aware of this type of activity and toward the end of the night he would take his pint class into the toilets and fill up with piss. Then place the glass back on a table- sit back and watch....:D
TOEJOE wrote: » So she wore a carpet, that is extreme !!!!
partyguinness wrote: » Mate seriously, the myth about Rohypnol is just that. We have all heard this conversation: "Jaysus, did you see the state of Mary last night? She was in an awful way. She said her her drink must have been spiked" ......all nod in agreement. As if in pubs up and down the country people with unlimited access to powerful sleeping drugs randomly sneak it into pints on a regular basis. This just is not true. An ER consultant in Dublin wrote about this. The amount of times women off their faces arrive in A&E claiming spiked drinks is untrue. He said in his entire working career he was never once seen a positive result for Rohypnol, Simple fact is that women are getting off their faces on alcohol and then blaming it on drugs...hilariously we all just seem to accept this. Mary drank too much. End of.
chewed wrote: » There was a guy in my class in 6th year who was always flush with money, but a miserable git all the same! At lunch we'd head up to the town and he'd always go into the chipper, while us poor lads waited outside with our corn beef or jam sandwiches. When he opened the bag, he'd gob straight in all over the chips and then say "Anyone want a chip?".
osarusan wrote: » Any chance she was senile or something and had forgotten her money?