DDC1990 wrote: EDIT: By the way, Anthony Maher was by far and away the best player on the pitch yesterday IMO. Terrific all round performance. Sheehan kicked lovely scores at vital stages, but Maher was ever present and stifled a great attacking midfield.
Fear Ciarrai wrote: » Agreed. Based on yesterday neither should be dropped for Munster Final. A problem for Moran if fit
keane2097 wrote: On form Buckley could easily be dropped for Sheehan.
Fear Ciarrai wrote: » For Moran
D'Agger wrote: » Sheehan you'd prefer on the 40 due to his lack of pace - he can get up and down the field just fine, but Corks wing backs would cause him trouble, we won't move Cooper from that berth and rightly so. Geaney could be dropped seeing as he tends to drop deep naturally - have Sheehan act as a 3rd midfielder as such, getting up and down the pitch and looking to link play out of defence?
DDC1990 wrote: » We might go with: 1. Kealy 2. Marc 3. O'Mahoney 4. Fionn 5. Lyne 6. Crowley 7. Young 8. Maher 9. Moran 10. Geaney 11. Gooch 12. Donnacha 13. James 14. Geaney 15. Sheehan With Sheehan operating as a 3rd midfielder and Geaney and James causing wreck as a two man full forward line. Most likely Sheehan will miss out or start at 12, Donaghy will probably start. Worryingly, Darran looks a shadow of his former self. Was a very poor cameo vs Tipp.
keane2097 wrote: » Wouldn't drop Donaghy in a month of Sundays. He's absolutely flying IMO.
ciarriaithuaidh wrote: » DDC, IMO the days of starting AOM AND Marc in the fullback line are gone I'm afraid. Ok, worked out grand against Donegal last year but that was after Marc finally getting a spurt of form and fitness and Aidan suited Murphy very well given the system Donegal play. The stars would have to align in a massive way for us for that to work again..or against Dublin, Mayo or any top 6 forward line. No idea why you've dropped Enright either. Look at the job he did last year overall. Was our go-to man marker for virtually every game and did it very well. I wasn't in Thurles either, but I'm informed he was solid if unspectacular. Donaghy is playing, end of. Sheehan is midfield or bust really.
DDC1990 wrote: » I certainly wouldn't drop him, but Eamon plans for each opposition accordingly. I wouldn't be massively surprised to see Donaghy miss out vs Cork due to Cork having a physical presence in Shields to try to counter Donaghy. I just have a feeling Kerry will go for all out pace in the forward line, maybe start O'Brien as well instead of Mikey Geaney or Donnacha Walsh. I'd still have Donaghy there as he creates havok and needs to be tightly marked, which create space for others to score. I'd have: Maher + Moran M. Geaney, Gooch, Donnacha James, Star, P. Geaney Sheehan, Buckley and BJK miss out, which is unfortunate. That of course depends on how fit David Moran is.
DDC1990 wrote: » I've edited my post to make it clear that I wouldnt go this way, but I feel Eamon might. Having said that I'd have absolutely no problem playing Aidan and Marc in the full back line. Marc on O'Neill and Aidan on Hurley. Neither have the pace to trouble the "old men", but would be very clever footballers, and could take an inexperienced player to the cleaners. For me Enright has more positives then Fionn, but he is absolutely criminally inept under the high ball which would kill us. Fionn is more comfortable across the board and would strike me as the safer option. Enright did well on Austin when Austin went into the corner, but the ball in was shíte, and he only had to deal with one long ball, which he fielded, fell over and got a rather fortuitous free for. I agree with both other points, for me Donaghy has to start. Sheehan can play at midfield, but is caught for pace anywhere else. I wouldn't be surprised to see him start, with 15 on his back but act as a 3rd midfielder. I'd prefer to go with 6 forwards, have Donaghy as a target man, and James and Geaney causing damage off him.
ciarriaithuaidh wrote: » It seems like me picking on you right now, so this is the last one tonight..but AOM v Hurley? Hurley would roast him for pace..do you realise how quick Hurley is? Hurley will be picked up by Enright on July 5th, mark my words and if he does a similar job to last year (held him scoreless for 69 minutes) then that will be a huge plus.
ciarriaithuaidh wrote: » AOM marked John O'Rourke last year. He was half back. I know you're saying Buckley was poor yesterday, but Buckley is a class above Mikey Geaney when he gets fit AND like I said, no need for Walsh/Geaney in the same half forward line. I thought it was the root cause of a lot of trouble last year in the Mayo games actually. No harm differing in opinions anyway like you said, we all want the same thing!
keane2097 wrote: » We've gotten way too civilized in here over the years, ye can both go **** yerselves :pac:
DDC1990 wrote: » How are the Narries doing in the County Championship Keane? They're in the losers round? How did that happen? Maybe they should pack it in and join the Rock to try and win a bit of silverware.
ciarriaithuaidh wrote: » I gave up the uncivilised stuff after our first ever "discussion" on here Keane! I still can't fathom why I was such a complete d*ckhead that time..anyway, at least we can laugh about it now!
jimmytwotimes 2013 wrote: » Forwards Buckley Gooch D. Walsh O'Donoghue Donaghy Geaney
keane2097 wrote: » I'm getting a sense that people think Buckley is way more mobile than Sheehan?
keane2097 wrote: » Ah here...
homerjay2005 wrote: » Every time I see M Geaney on the pitch for Kerry I die a little bit inside. We have so many better options than him it's criminal to see him selected.