needhelpguy wrote: » What's a good level of savings? I'm a 29 year old guy, 30 this year - single no commitments and I've €20k saved. Is this good/bad? Manage to save 1k a month at the mo but think I should have more saved. What level are other people at? State your age and commitments, for perspective.
jester77 wrote: » So you are nearly 30, which means you have been working about 9 years if you take the average graduation age. 9 years is 108 monthly salaries, so you have managed to save an average of €185 per month. Not exactly super, but better than a lot of people.
Greentopia wrote: » These people saving 1k a month...have kids and a mortgage do ye? I'm guessing not. :pac: fair play if you do and still can, it's just that I don't know many people who can save €100 a month, never mind a grand with a few kids to clothe, feed and educate and mortgaged up to the gills.
bilbot79 wrote: » dirt? Claim back? Wha?
c_man wrote: » *bumpity bump bump* Well New Year, lots of people including myself start looking at our savings. Was talking to a friend yesterday about it and was shocked at how little stock ( :pac: ) he puts away for a rainy day, he said around 5-10%. Now he's in the same boat as myself (single, professional job, no 'real' commitments as such) but fair play, he's enjoying life to the full with multiple holidays etc. How much do you manage to stash away? I've usually been good in this regard but have had a lot of unexpected expenses recently so want to get back in the habit. I'm aiming at about 25-30% of my income going straight into a savings account (direct debit ones work best for me, I can't spend it if it leaves my account as soon as I'm paid ). Should I be aiming for more? I'd really like to be a position where I could put a decent deposit on my own place in the next year or two. I'm sick of house sharing.
draiochtanois wrote: » There is lots of potential for matchmaking on this thread, out two savers together and they can hook up and buy the place of their dreams together
Strawberry Milkshake wrote: » I have 2/3 of a large vodka bottle in savings
draiochtanois wrote: » This post has been deleted.