ProudDUB wrote: » Other counties have done it, when their own ground wasn't available, so it's not pure rubbish. I'm just throwing it out there as a possibility. There is nothing at all to stop the Roscommon co board from deciding to do it too, if circumstances warranted it. It's not money for the GAA btw. It's money straight into the coffers of the counties involved, which is a different thing entirely. Also, would the co board, the players and mgt really prefer to play games in Tuam or Carrick, when the offer of a freebie at Croker is on the table? It's not the greatest way to prepare for possible big games there later in the year. The likes of Donegal and Kerry leap at the offer of a freebie at Croker every chance they get & they haven't done too badly out of all the experience playing there.
rossie1977 wrote: » who do people see starting tomorrow? murray i assume will fill in for mcdermott at corner back. higgins might start in midfield (though i think its too early but whatever). there are two spots in half-forward open because kelly certainly didn't do enough last time in mullingar to start and neither did healy. enda smith looks like he needs the rest of the year off going by his performances in the last two under 21 games. 1. o'malley2. murray 3. carty 4. collins 5. keenan 6. niall daly 7. cafferkey 8. cathal shine9. higgins 10. conor daly 11. ? 12. ? 13. cregg 14. senan kilbride 15. diarmuid murtagh
RoscommonTom wrote: » and what about the cost of fellas having to travel the whole way from ros above to dublin for what is meant to be a home game, jacks get to play most of their games at home should ask them to play more in the country
DDC1990 wrote: » Deegan is such a bad referee. The Red Card was very soft. Now he's gone evening things up and Roscommon can't buy a free. A Down player throws a boot into Creggd head and nothing is given. Then the Black card is the wrong decision. Yellow but not even close to "deliberately pulling the man down". He pulled the Jersey and the down fella threw himself to the ground. Hope ye do it. Better footballers.
yabadabado wrote: » Any chance you can stop posting. Retarted stuff.
RoscommonTom wrote: » your no brain box yourself, you cant even spell
ProudDUB wrote: » Sigh....this isn't a Dubs vs Rossies thing, you know? I was just offering up a possibility as to what may happen, if your county ground is out of commission for next years league, based on what has happened in previous years. The decision will remain with the Roscommon Co Board and Roscommon management. Neither the GAA nor the evil Dubs, are going to make you play anywhere that you don't want to. (We only do that to counties we don't like.... like Mayo. ) Your manager was just on League Sunday talking about the importance of his lads getting valuable experience playing & winning games at Croke Park. He said that it builds confidence for playing big games there later on, against the stronger counties. You don't get that kind of confidence playing games in Tuam or Carrick, even if they are more convenient for spectators to get to. Inter country managers know that, hence their willingness to play freebie games at CP, if the opportunity allows it. I honestly couldn't care less where we play you next year, but I'd say that your manager does. He's a Kerryman. They know a thing or two about this kind of stuff. Congrats on the win today btw.
Lt J.R. Bell wrote: » Croke Park will not open up for a League game between Roscommon against a team other than Dublin. It wouldn't get a crowd. Not economicinal. Would do well to get half a section of the Hogan Stand full. Sure, they are starting to send some Leinster championship games down to the provincial stadiums in Tullamore, Port Laoise and even Mullingar. Roscommon wouldn't be stuck for alternatives. Kiltoom has done them alright for years. Hell, for a period, when Tuam couldn't be used Galway would played some league games in Ballinasloe, a ground more known for the Hurling Parnell Park Dublin, would be more likely offered than Croker. There is also Mullingar as an alertantive
nice_guy80 wrote: » Carrick and Longford too
ProudDUB wrote: » I never said that stand alone Roscommon games would or should be held at Croke Park. I said that a Roscommon vs Whoever game could be on before a Dubs vs Whoever game, as part of a double header. It has happened before, with other counties.
ProudDUB wrote: » Kildare did it. They didn't make the semis the year before.
yabadabado wrote: » My point still stands.Some of the stuff you post on this thread is ****ing idiotic.
Lt J.R. Bell wrote: » Suffering sweet Jesus and all that's holy. Kildare is a glorified satellite town of Dublin. Dublins bitch, a border County They more or less play all of their Championship games in Dublin
RoscommonTom wrote: » exactly, a bit of sense at last, the cost for supporters to have to go above to dublin for a home match and then the extra costs for the team like bus and hotel and the like, it would be pure daft, some fella said that the Hyde is not closing till the year after next anyway , hopefully we are still in the division one at that stage
RoscommonTom wrote: » well agree to differ, a lot of the stuff you write is pure rubbish,
yabadabado wrote: » Examples please.
RoscommonTom wrote: » get off now trying to start a scrap, nobody wants to be reading it, go away and do your lessons like a good lad, pure rubbish