galvo_clare wrote: » I was at both meetings between the residents and the organisers of Inis Fest. ... I can speak for myself that I have objected to the drink licence as is my democratic right. ... Scapegoating those living near the Fair Green is not the answer.
ger664 wrote: » I would like if the organisers would also state exactly the percentage of revenue from Tickets sales and On site Bar facilities that will be after reasonable expenses, donated to the named charities. Some turn around, 35 years ago I used to sneak over to the fairgreenn to drink a few bottles of Harp that we managed to acquire, this year my my son and daughter may have onsite bar facilities at the same location. progress :eek:
Tickets from outlets and charities will cost €27 per night (with €2 going to our nominated charities) Clare Crusaders RapeCrisis Midwest and Lions Club of Ennis Weekend tickets will cost €72 (€6 going to charities) Tickets will go on sale this Friday Feb 20th via our website www.inisfest.com and through ticket outlets in Ennis and via our nominated charities next week for the prices stated above. Online prices will incur booking fees.
crazyguy01 wrote: » Many parties discussing this live on Clare FM right now Turned on late and a female resident speaking, she is unhappy that individuals are being targeted on Facebook and boards.ie!
Clareman wrote: » Was boards specifically mentioned? I didn't think we targeted individuals on here.
An organiser of the now-cancelled Inis Fest says the threat of legal action against the event prompted their decision to scrap it.
Clare County Council has expressed its disappointment at the cancellation of Inis Fest. The three-day music festival was due to be held at Tim Smythe Park in Ennis in June, but has been called off in light of the concerns of people living near the venue. ... The three-day event was set to attract a total audience of 9,000, generating an estimated 1.5 million euro boost for the local economy and raising funds for local charities. In a statement last night, Clare County Council expressed disappointment that the event is not going ahead. The local authority says it's satisfied the organisers had the "capability and capacity" to professionally stage it, and that its Event Management Plan was a "robust template."The Council also says it's fully committed to supporting any initiative that aims to attract festivals and events to Ennis.
Shapey Fiend wrote: » As one of the 8 objectors I feel deeply saddened that I haven't had a chance to tell my side of the story. I had perfectly reasonable justification for rejecting this proposal namely: 1. Mundy 2. Mundy 3. Mundy 4. Mundy 5. Mundy 6. Mundy etc. Could they not have relocated this event to somewhere else that has had concerts in the past like The Showgrounds. Lee's Road would work as well. Plus it's further from my house so I wouldn't suffer any Mundy related noise pollution.
CptSternn wrote: » People around the park are town residents and they represent less than a handful of people. Hopefully someone will publish their names.
ger664 wrote: » Residents didn't threaten the town or the festival with court. They had objected to the application for an alcohol license for the event by the promoters . This was stated early in the thread. This objection would most likely have been held up thus making the event a loss maker for the promoters. So they decided to cut their losses. Its a pity because if the residents had been consulted earlier in the process it may well have gone ahead and we could have avoided grathgateII
Darren Purtill of Impresario Events told The Clare People the threat of a courtroom battle was the final straw for the festival,
Jhcx wrote: » Court room activity would certainly drive the event into a loss. not just the license but the fight for it.
Clareman wrote: » there's locals who think they can do whatever they want,
Clare Champion MD and former President of Ennis Chamber of Commerce John Galvin asked; “So what am I going to do if someone starts tearing into my car? The normal amount of guards will not do,” he said. His wife Shelly Galvin asked what would happen when gardaí go on their break.
CptSternn wrote: » http://www.clarepeople.com/2015/04/14/finish-fest/ Well, I for one will never buy Clare Champion again nor visit their website. Seriously? What will happen when Gardai go to the jacks? That was why they decided to have the whole event shut down? Muppets. But more importantly, I live in the area as well, on the same road. I had no problems with the event and every single weekend as well as many week nights especially in the summer I have to deal with large groups of drunken youth and loud music coming from the Queens. Every weekend large groups of them wander up the road, urinating on things, roaring at the top of their lungs, drinking in public. For years I have said nothing but yet for some reason these resident, who live next to me, seem to have a problem with the idea of a festival but have stayed silent for so long in regards to the trouble that continually happens in the same area due to the Queens Nightclub. I'll be going door to door and speaking with them after I am able to gather enough evidence. I am just after getting a new digital video camera and will be spending this summer recording said event along with the noise I can hear coming out of the place late at night - and you would be surprised how loud it is when you leave your window open when it is warm. If we are going to become a town that takes people to court to block alcohol licenses and groups of roaming drunks from urinating in alleyways, we need to start at the source and there is no bigger offender when it comes to this sort of thing than the Queens.
For years I have said nothing
Johnboy1951 wrote: » So you complain about others not objecting to roaming drunken youths ...... yet you are the very same as those you complain about ? I fail to understand your reasoning.
CptSternn wrote: » https://declanbrandon.wordpress.com/2015/04/14/a-feeling-of-deja-vu/ A very good post in Declan's Blog in relation to the event and Ennis events in general from a recent history perspective. Also note, for everyone who said 'why not just use the showgrounds', well aside from the fact all the involved organisation based their plans on another location and you can't just change that without an equal amount of work, in the past large events were planned there and just like in the Fair Green you find the same small group of people suing the event organisers. Those who forget history are doomed to repeat it. It's well worth a read sure.
But sadly the storm clouds were gathering.To this day I have never encountered so much obstruction to a what was essentially a carnival as occurred in every rural village in Ireland all through the 60s and 70s.We were called to meeting after meeting with bodies I never knew existed and more and more demands were made of the organisers .Extra Gardai up to the rank of Inspector,a drugs incident room,increased security.And there were no residents objecting.