darkdubh wrote: » Anyone remember a PIF that used to be on RTE in the mid 80s that showed this young guy in silhouette,you coulden't make out his face and it started out with him saying in a strong Dublin accent "my old mans always going on about the youth of today"?I think it might have been about underage drinking,not too sure.
Seasan wrote: » I have so little to go by with this one so I'm relying on ye.... This was an English ad which started out with a moody fella walking out of the room and slamming the door,and then the sister turns to her friend and says: "My brother's been acting really weird lately.You don't think he's taking drugs,do you?" The confusing thing is,I don't think this ad was actually about drugs,because I think there was a series of other different things happening in the ad. I really hope someone else remembers it.....
darkdubh wrote: » Yes,I remember this.Mid to late 80s or thereabouts.I can't remember what it was for.Could possibly have been one of those womens magazines that featured true stories or some upcoming feature in a tabloid.
Seasan wrote: » You're dead right about the magazine part.... I've remembered another line from that same ad,with two women talking and one of them says: "They say you won't feel giving birth if you give birth by accupuncture". It was an ad for some new weekly health and safety magazine back then,but I havent a bull's notion what twas called....
Seasan wrote: » and of course "the spirit of the dark lonely water".....
RainyDay wrote: » https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xZWD2sDRESk My all-time favourite - with Donald Pleasance's scary voiceover and cheeky-chappy cockney kids
darkdubh wrote: » Remember the lawnmower safety one from the early to mid Nineties?Guy is watching football on telly and and when the keeper fumbles the ball yer man says something like "Oh,Butterfingers!"I used to think that was quite funny.Then he starts an inner monologue."Remember when they used to call me magicfingers?"And theres a flashback to him using the lawnmower and sticking his hand under it when something goes wrong with it and then it freeze frames his reaction when he loses the fingers.
Seasan wrote: » Luckily for me,I didn't even exist when that ad was on the telly(I don't even know if twas shown here in Ireland),but I do have it on the Charley Says DVD and if I had seen it back then I think I'd still be s******g myself and sleepin with the light on!!
RainyDay wrote: » Yep, in those days we all watched UTV which had all the UK and NI adverts, including these films, so they got plenty of coverage over here.
jca wrote: » Along the east coast we had HTV Wales, I still miss the nice accent, the UTV accent really grates sometimes.
Seasan wrote: » This one has just crept back into me head... An anti-smoking ad from early 90's I think,it starts with this dance/pop music playing in the background and then this pretty-boy walks out all acting like a hunk introduces himself and says "Hi,I'm Nico".And then he starts going on about all his different "Nico" products. And then towards the end of the ad,the music starts to die and gets slower and slower-and he says "Take me into your heart,take me into your lungs...." and then in a really sinister voice,he says "....and then I will be yours-FOREVER" and laughs menacingly,with a camera close-up of his teeth which are all black and rotten.
sugarman wrote: » 2001 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K7j8_xoPfIk 2004 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOE9zOsD5kk Hes a semi famous actor now too
Ralf and Florian wrote: » Yes remember that,there was another one from roughly the same time where the guy narrating the ads eyes go all weird and satanic looking at the end,can't remember what it was for.
Enjoy Heroin Responsibly wrote: » I was always amazed at the length of some of those seventies/early 1980's ads ? Did the organisations(/governments ?) who commissioned them pay the full market rate for television adverts :eek: or were the TV stations required to carry them for free/at heavy discount ?
darkdubh wrote: » Heres a blast from the past with the TV license ad at 4.23.The lead in is interesting too,I'd forgotten about Eureka. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AfxrWos5DVA
An Riabhach wrote: » Luckily for me,I didn't even exist when that ad was on the telly(I don't even know if twas shown here in Ireland),but I do have it on the Charley Says DVD and if I had seen it back then I think I'd still be s******g myself and sleepin with the light on!!
An Riabhach wrote: » Wasn't there a series of those TV licence ads back in the early 90s with him in them? The first instalment,I think,was a kind of scary one where Dave is alone watchin the telly,and then the telly starts doing all weird things,the doorbell rings and then "ANSWER THE DOOR" repeatedly flashes up on the TV screen. And then in the other one,the telly starts talkin to Dave again and this time it sounds more sinister,and at the end of the ad the telly says: "And when they come calling to see you,it won't be 'Do the decent thing,Dave.' It will be 'Where is your licence,Sir?'"