bnt wrote: » Imagine living in a tribe in the Amazon jungle. Women from different generations would stay in the village and take care of the kids while the men were off hunting. They had to be fed, and that was about it for costs. A few might toddle off in to the jungle and get eaten by jaguars, or eat something bad and die - but it was the jungle.
bnt wrote: » Now, people live in overcrowded cities. where everyone has to work to make ends meet (no stay-at-home mothers). Every kid is precious because of the sacrifices and investments of time etc. you have to make, just to keep the kid alive and safe in the concrete jungle. If your kid dies, all that investment is wasted, and if the law suspects it's your fault, you can be prosecuted.
bnt wrote: » In short looking at it from the outside: having a kid today is like willingly walking in to a minefield. One wrong step, it all blows up in your face. "It takes a village to raise a child"? The village is gone: everyone around you is fighting to survive and has no time, resources or interest in helping you raise yet another resource-munching parasite the world does not need. :cool:
durpdurp wrote: » I like travelling, sport and one nightstands. Anyone else like this or am I just a nut job?
H3llR4iser wrote: » That is social pressure; It seems to be particularly bad here - seemingly nowhere in western societies you will find men so hell bent on "getting married, having kids!" as much as in Ireland.
H3llR4iser wrote: » Frankly, I think it is an absolutely terrible thing - there are lots of people, men and women alike, who just start families because their mammy says "it's the right thing to do". As for the OP, there's nothing wrong with you. What a lot of people fail to understand is that not necessarily everyone is suited for the fairytale, traditional long term relationship, kids, school runs and so on. There is nothing strange nor "selfish" about it; If you don't feel you'd be a good life partner/parent, it's better to steer clear of it rather than make an half-assed attempt at "fitting in".
durpdurp wrote: » Does any one else find this strange? I never want a girlfriend or wife as would find it like prison. Wake up she's there, home from work she's there, having to check in with her on what I'm doing and always having her there would drive me up the wall. Im 28 now and had a few on off relationships back when I was 20 to 24 but they drove me cracked and longest one lasted three weeks and ended it then as couldn't stick having to check in, she wants a DVD night, your not going out tonight, getting annoyed over nothing etc etc. It could be rihanna, Taylor swift and I wouldn't last more than a week in a relationship without having to end it. I also never want children as they waste all your money, free time and there's more commitment in your life which I never want I like travelling, sport and one nightstands. Anyone else like this or am I just a nut job?
Guy:Incognito wrote: » Have you tried going out with anyone older than 15?
Lau2976 wrote: » I'm a woman and I feel exactly the same way. I decided last week to go travel Europe for a month. I'm going Monday. Could I do that with a boyfriend? Nope. Or worse - a husband and kids. People like different things, I certainly don't plan on settling down.
Everlong1 wrote: » That's great news. I'm 50. Where I find all these chicks?
H3llR4iser wrote: » I see what you are doing here, but to be fair I think he might have a bit of a point. I have witnessed the "daddy complex" more than once; In particular, I have one work colleague, well into his '50s, wife, adult children et all, who is the one attracting girls whenever we go on a night out. Strange things DO happen!
Lau2976 wrote: » I'm a woman and I feel exactly the same way. I decided last week to go travel Europe for a month. I'm going Monday. Could I do that with a boyfriend? Nope. Or worse - a husband and kids.
K_user wrote: » In fact I think I'm fairly secure in saying that it has been going on world wide, in various ways, for thousands of years now. The earliest records of marriage go back to 2000 B.C. in Mesopotamia.
because we don't live in each others pockets and we're not joined at the hip like my single friends perceive a relationship should be!
iMac_Hunt wrote: » You're meeting the wrong women if within 3 weeks they're telling you, you can't go out!
Saralee4 wrote: » It just sounds like you are a selfish person and I don't mean that as a critisism or insult. You just don't get joy from making sacrifices, comprising and making other people happy. If that's what makes you happy then that's fine and you know what you want and don't want. You are the centre of your world and always will be. As long as you don't expect to receive anything from anyone else that you wouldn't give them in return then it's grand. Also make sure you are straight with the women that you have one night stands with. As long as they know that you are only interested in sleeping with them for one night then it is fine but if you falsely give the impression there could be something more then that is wrong since you are getting what you want from them but have not the ability to give them what they want from you.
Vandango wrote: » 3 week, 3 months or 3 years it will happen eventually. Stay the course OP, you'll keep your freedom. Live your life for yourself, not someone else.
i dont want kids because i dont think id be a very good father , my own father ( deceased ) was a decent man but a pretty poor father
Dormtrume wrote: » Maybe he just assumes sec isn't put of a transaction, that when two people have sex the give and take is complete by giving each other sex.
RoboRat wrote: All it takes is a simple conversation to say... 'look, I love you more than anything, but I need some space sometimes. It's not that I don't want to be with you or that I don't like your company; we're different people with different needs and I like time to myself and time to do things for myself as much as you like to be close to me." If they can't understand that, then they are not right for you but my experience is that you are always better to be honest and forthright, this is how you maintain a happy relationship.
RoboRat wrote: » Never make that assumption, my father is a great man but he couldn't handle kids, he evens says it himself, he just cant deal with them. Both my brother and I are great fathers and we would do anything for our kids. If you don't want kids, fair enough, but don't make that decision based on your own father.
doctor_yes wrote: » how can someone be a good father if they never experienced it themselves
The Corinthian wrote: » Can you do that with a full-time job, more to the point?
Jenny Thalia wrote: » Do the opposite of what the bad parent did!
Jenny Thalia wrote: » Lots of couples don't share beds, except for 20 mins for sex, and you don't need to 'entertain' anyone once the honeymoon period has worn off!
jester77 wrote: » You just haven't found the right one. When you do, you will know. You'll come home, and the house is clean and dinner is on the table. You go out with the lads, come home in the early hours all over the place, she will put you to bed and have a good fry up ready for you in the morning. You get horny and she will satisfy your needs.