commonsense. wrote: » Yeah, great win for Roco. Leaders in every line. Mind you ard scoil were a little (a lot??)arrogant in putting ronan lynch in full forward at the start. Obviously thought they would blitz roco with an early flurry of scores. They soon realised the error of their ways and once he moved to midfield he changed the dynamic. Also no brownie points for ard scoil in fluting around with jersey numbers. Giving Peter Casey no 35 and giving his 13 jersey to eoin ryan was designed to throw roco. Silly stuff from niall moran. Better team on the day won, no question. 17 points to 11 might suggest ard scoil were unlucky but roco had 16 wides to ard scoils 8. Margin of victory could have been higher if they had their shooting boots on. Cashman set the tone with an introductory shoulder on ronan lynch as lynch was taking up the full forward position before throw in. Lynch was unsettled as a result(made a half hearted attempt to win the first ball that came between cashman and himself) and was never likely to make any impact on cashman after. Griffin inspirational again and has moved into pole position for cork minors given ian cahills departure. John o sullivan my man of the match. His point when he pick pocketed ronan lynch was sublime. Powter is proving a revelation. Tormented the full back line all day. Funnily enough kingston and cormack were quiet by their standards and yet got the crucial goals that killed off ard scoil. Their work rate when things weren't going their way (best evidenced by cormacks ridiculous turnover for powters first goal) is indicative of the spirit within this group. Thurles' challenge in the final will be how to set themselves up to counter the triple threat of kingston/cormack/powter. Thurles have reached the final by struggling over the line in both quarter and semi finals. Ideal way to be heading into three weeks preperation for the final. Roco will have to be vary wary and will need another huge performance if they are to win.
Smith614 wrote: » Goals are vital in hurling as as predicted Friday the school which got the goals would win. Fair play Rocco on a fab. Performance. There was some real heroic performances from their usual big guns but jez every lad from Rocco really stood up to the plate. It will take a good team to beat them. They have steel and metal to go with great hurling and hurlers.
homeofhurling wrote: » they made you eat your words today thinkstoomuch1 after your post after the McGrath cup defeat, but sure it's 30 years since the Dubs won there Cork have some of the best forwards in the game and thats what will keep them in division 1 if they could get a good midfielder and two good backs they are a match for any team, and in my opinion should have beaten Mayo last year in croke park, they are not that far off.
rebelomar wrote: » Good win...lots to work on though. For a start management need to nail down some of our players best positions, particularly in the back 6 positions. We need to let guys play their natural positions and refine the blanket around that. Couple of small things annoyed me. 1: Hurley an unbelievable talent but his decision making leaves him down, he shoots too often when he's in a poor position instead of giving a simple pass. Hopefully he will improve over time. 2: in the last couple of minutes while two points up we had good secure possession and kicked it away while in complete control of the ball. We need to simply hold onto it if such a situation arises again. Overall though a decent start. First twenty mins I felt we were poor. Too slow moving the ball outta defense. Second half this improved. Also we need to cut out fouling in our own 45. This renders the blanket pointless if we give away cheap frees. Effort and commitment was top class by all. A huge positive
homeofhurling wrote: » this is a crazy result i know its only january and Mcgrath cup but with corks record over the last few years at under 21 where are all them gone. no disrepect to waterford but i' would bet the kerry under 21's would have got a result today again waterford, but fair play to them i'd say its between them and offaly for division 4 this year. as for cork if this doesn't give the cork county board a wake up call nothing will.
thinkstoomuch1 wrote: » I'd agree with that but hurley can only improve with good coaching Who is coach? Cuthbhert so time will tell The huge worry today was midfield we bypassed it yes but I can guarantee you Dublin and kerry know this going forward and today where didn't foul much if needs be will foul cork high end up ptich to slow down counter attacks if necessary No McCauley yet won midfield battle and even suprised took off Mccarthy Midfield has huge problem still Last year I highlighted this nobody here seem to agree It's clear as day midfield is huge huge problem Solved that you give forward possession and take pressure off your backs No sign thar solving one game in and looking at the bench
rebelomar wrote: » Maguire did carry a lot of ball today and I felt did ok. He will in my opinion be a brilliant player in time. Goold kicked a few poor wides which of he got we'd have said he did well. However in the primary duty of winning possession yes both look a good bit off the top guys at this level. Imo it's up to management to counter this by coming up with a plan to almost bypass midfield in terms of short kick outs, hitting them on the run like Cluxton does...putting it into space. Whether or not our keeper can do this I'm not sure. Or is there any guy out there with the potential to improve the midfield we are not seeing at the moment?
wackokid wrote: » Anybody who saw D.Og Hodnett doing well today needs glasses. John Hayes played more intelligent football while he was on the field than most, and IMHO is at worst a great sub to have when opposition is tiring. Easy on the eye with the ball in his hands. He doesn't drop it either like some we could name, and if I hear you knocking my favourite player again TTM, I'll find you and strangle you..................lol D.Og is far too cumbersome and lazy for intercounty senior football and is unlikely to make it. That Dublin team today was really not the Dublin team we know, but nevertheless Cork were decent and defended well apart from Lougherey who hasn't a clue about corner back play. Gould is a half back and should be forbidden to shoot for goal under pain of being sent to the ISIS crowd. Holy Jasus those misses today were even worse than his howler v Mayo a few years ago. Final comment.......the event in Killarney was clearly played under a different set of rules to the event in Cork and if anybody can differentiate between the stuff that went on in Killarney under Mr Deegan and Rugby League, please let me know. Hickey has is own rules too BTW and a few of his decisions today mystify. Cubby seems to have adopted the Donegal system and Colm O Driscoll fits that system perfectly. Just my opinion of course and no doubt not universally accepted by other 'experts' here.
sean mac wrote: » Ttm i agree about midfield however an even bigger issue is ohallorhans kickouts,ge gas no distance and has no confidence going ling,the pressure on tiring backs to win a shirt kickout and turn ut into an attack is too much all the time.Could you imagine what a team like donegal would do to us?1 long kick out in2nd half and he didnt reach 45,criminal at this level. Imo maguire is corks only real midfielder atthis level and thats huge pressure on a young fella. However great effort from team and good spirit shown,they gad to win and did;flanagan has them in top shape
zetecescort wrote: » good win but look who Dublin had out, 4 or 5 starters come the summer and didn't bring on any big names either while we had 11 or 12 and brought on Kerrigan. Whats the story with our setup on Dublins kickouts. contested only 2 or 3 in the full game. have any sort of system what you want but giving your opponents uncontested possession in the middle of the pitch every time they restart a game is woeful imo.
Richmond Ultra wrote: » As mentioned a few days ago.it looks likely that both Sligo and queens will be in trouble over unregistered players but further info will be available soon.
Gary Neville wrote: » I'd agree that Donal Og was only average today but I think he might make the grade, in time. I agree that Hayes brings something as a last quarter sub - good vision and will take a score. We are obviously badly caught for corner backs - Galvin is probably an option - we may have to use BOD there. Jamie was OK. It's not Cuthbert's fault - the lads are not there. Loughrey is a problem - great ahtlete but poor vision - modern game requires wing backs to be able to link play. Ken O Halloran is a very good shot stopper and is hard to beat but we won't beat a top side unless we can mix kick-outs - long and short - he can't kick long with the required accuracy and our MF'ers need an edge - by placing the ball to where they run. Bastick outfielded them with ease today. KOH is a luxury we can't afford IMO. A vital win today and maybe we can win our 2 other home games and sneak an away win (Tyrone are our best chance) 4 wins might give a semi slot.
leaf123 wrote: » Great win for Roco yesterday, well deserved .Kingston and Cormack didnt have their best game but were always a threat.John o Sullivan from blackrock was outstanding and the point when he picked pocketed the ASR player along the sideline was simply unreal.he was my motm. Powter was frighting , his pace and unbelievable is amazing ,his was a threat through out and last week he kept Roco in the Corn Ni mhuiri with a last minute block. Eoghan O Brien did ok on Lynch however it is hard to keep such a player quiet.Putting lynch in full forward didnt work and they soon realised it was a terrible decision as roco went 0-6 0-1 up.Overall it is great achievement for roco for getting this far only in their second year playing Harty and i hope they go all the way
thinkstoomuch1 wrote: » I'd totally agree flangan top shape fitness wise What did you make cork tactically What did you make of subs the tactically changing three aera to solve one Full back line??? What you think we're strongest aera and weakest Have we turned a corner!??? Or is it too early with Dublin missing around five key regular today
Gary Neville wrote: » I'd like to see the Cronins - they could mark small nippy corner forwards like Kevin McM and Stephen O Brien. I'm aware BOD would be wasted in the corner but we may not have better options - Crowley would be better option but it's a problem that we must address. I think Ken O H is a great keeper but he simply is poor on kick-outs and I don't think we can afford this - however, we may not have a better option but we have got to see. Maybe Martin. I'm not a big Hayes fan but I think he has something to offer as a sub - however I'd agree with trying Vaughan and maybe the likes of Sam Oakes - I was surprised that Desmond was deemed good enough to try but u can't complain about trying guys in the McGrath. I'd also be concerned as to whether our coaching is good enough - but as least if we fix on a system and work at it, we should improve.