SeanFrank wrote: » http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/10368853/ Part 1 of the 6 part doc on the RTE player.
Kop On wrote: » Jaysus, 6 parts. That seems fairly excessive. Has there ever been the likes of that for a sporting legend in Ireland? I like McGregor, I hope he beats Aldo, but I'm just not sure I could watch him playing up to the camera for over 3 hours.
Dtp1979 wrote: » Embrace it. It's not often us Irish have a true global super star to call our own.
Kop On wrote: » Listen, as I said, I'm all for him winning a title and have been up till all hours watching his fights. I just think a 6 part documentary seems a bit excessive. I recorded the first one tonight so will have a look at it later this week.
therickster wrote: » Two of the greatest names in the sport who continually brought PPV buys in, GSP & Anderson Silva but managed to basically not carry on in the manner Conor does. He does try to put himself across as some intelligent, deep and thoughtful martial artist but the reality is he is just coming across as the exact opposite as that. Calling Siver a Nazi? Hardly intelligent or classy. Sticking his finger up at him pre fight. I could go on... Two of the greatest athletes to ever step foot inside the octagon and the reason they drew such huge PPV buy rates is because they let the action in the cage be the reason to watch them, not mouthing off and acting in a disrespectful, unprofessional and in a manner not befitting martial arts.
Mellor wrote: » For Conor stuck up his finger at Siver, but only when Siver refused to touch gloves. Key detail you are leaving out.
JJayoo wrote: » In fairness Conor did call him a Nazi
altairscreed wrote: » Oh ffs, here's another idiotic article by a chap that knows so much about the sport he actually thinks the sport is called UFC. http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/comment-the-notorious-asked-us-to-admire-conor-mcgregor-while-neglecting-to-explain-why-he-is-worthy-of-hero-worship-30939577.html
Tobyglen wrote: » How difficult would it be to get tickets for the Vegas event? Would it be possible to get them via ticketmaster when they go on sale or is that a no hoper? Would you have to join fight club to get pre sale access for a ticket? 75 bucks!
Gits_bone wrote: » Imagine if he actually won something. Documentaries without having won anything is like a documentary on Usain Bolt after 2 races. Small minded mentality in this country.
csallmighty wrote: » Yeah just ignore the phenomenal achievement it is to get as far as he has in such a short space of time :rolleyes:
Gits_bone wrote: » Seamus Coleman went from playing League of Ireland football to becoming one of the top full backs in the Premier League. Don't see any documentaries about him.
scudzilla wrote: » Yeah it's $75 BUT if you're gonna be paying big money for flights/hotel/spends then it's $75 well spent as you're more or less guaranteed a ticket, and it lasts for a year so you'll be grand for 1, maybe 2 of Conor's title defenses