_Kaiser_ wrote: » The idea there would to be try and prevent one party from dominating (as FF have done since pretty much the foundation of the State). There's nothing wrong with fresh ideas every few years.. unfortunately this time round we got FF-lite rather than the real reform and change we were promised. Probably also explains why FG never get 2 consecutive terms in government as all they seem to do in Irish politics is screw things up so badly that they make FF viable again! :rolleyes: I do think the PR electoral system needs to go though too.
Richard Hillman wrote: » Sweet FA? He was probably the first transport minister to finally stand up to the transport unions.
Micky Dolenz wrote: » What have you done/or hope to do by the time you are 36?
AgileMyth wrote: » Never understood the notion of coming out. What business is it of anyone else? Nobody ever comes out as straight.
Wang King wrote: » Nothing useful then?
Jawgap wrote: » Totally agree - FG just proved themselves to be just like FF, only FF were more accomplished at pulling strokes without getting caught. They had their chance to redeem themselves when the heave took place against Enda, but they fecked that up. I'm holding out some hope for their redemption if Coveney takes over after the next election - he should steer them through the chaos of the subsequent 2 years / 3 elections to follow.
Saipanne wrote: » Maybe he has found someone significant, and wishes to be seen openly with him. Perhaps that pushed him to out himself. But to my knowledge, it was the worst kept secret in Dublin.
_Kaiser_ wrote: » Well see that's why I wonder about Leo's announcement.. in reality it has no bearing on most people or his job, and I'm sure many of his colleagues and civil servants already know or suspected he was gay, but as we can see on this thread, despite it being a non-story IMO it does build support from "de public" I think Leo is eyeing the leadership as Enda's performance has been truly abysmal with his own party expressing dissatisfaction over the whip and such, and Labour TDs being told to go out and "differentiate" themselves from FG I think Enda could be gone before the GE (probably to some cushy number in Europe) which would allow the new leader to contest the election on a semi "clean slate" with the public. Leo being popular and seen as youthful and "one of the better ones" would only help that idea. I do think though that the only reason we haven't seen FG be just as bad as FF (if not worse!) though is purely because they don't get as much time at the trough
Armelodie wrote: » Wonder how Coveny can top that...
cloudatlas wrote: » I'd say it was the referendum coming up.
Joeytheparrot wrote: » Funny how most of those shouting "Why is this news?" have equal rights, don't face vicious bullying in school etc.
zerks wrote: » Isn't Leo a bit old & big to be bullied in school?
My name is URL wrote: » Was it not fairly well known already? Fair play to him but I'd have been more shocked if he openly announced he was straight
Daith wrote: » It was only announced to Deflect from the last six months in DoH Deflect from a news story out tomorrow Get the public to support him when he ousts Enda Make the government appear more gay friendly Deflect from buses being 10mins late
_Kaiser_ wrote: » That and it's not just sexuality that makes people the targets of "vicious bullying" - even worse now with the likes Facebook and Whatsapp etc As for "equal rights", there's a lot of straight people who are discriminated against based on other things than their sexuality In short bullying and discrimination is not solely the domain of gay people and it should ALL be stamped out
_Kaiser_ wrote: » You left out... to give the liberal PC types something to be outraged against if not everyone shares the same superficial outpouring of support without asking questions like the above
conorh91 wrote: » So what, we don't target gay marriage until all the 'inequality' is ready to be turned off, in one big lightbulb moment? I am fairly neutral on the issue of gay marriage. I don't think it's as important an issue in practice as civil partnership was. But it makes feck all difference to me and others, so I guess why not? Targeting unfairness in society is like chipping away at a mountain. The ban on gay marriage is a loose piece of rock that was falling away anyway. It makes sense to just get rid of the rock, and keep chipping away.
_Kaiser_ wrote: » No my point was that sexuality is not the sole issue that can result in bullying, discrimination and segregation as some seem to be inferring.
conorh91 wrote: » I am aware it is not. I don't think anyone said it was the sole issue. I don't even think it is particularly important. It's simply an obvious one on top of the pile that is easy to remove.