_Kaiser_ wrote: » See this is what annoys me in this country.. Someone announces that they're gay and there's an immediate outpouring of support from the liberal politically correct types (you only have to read the first page of this thread) Personally I don't give a fook if someone is gay or not. It's their own business and if they're happy then who cares what anyone thinks? In short this is a non-story and in fact, isn't that how it should be?
mad muffin wrote: » I would put everyone who is in charge of making the big decisions on notice. As I review their failures.
jank wrote: » Chirst, the guy is in the job not even 6 months and you want him to come out with a grand plan to restructure the health service, pick a huge fight with the unions, cut public sector administrative jobs, close down all low grade regional hospitals all within 12 months of a General Election... and you call him populist for not doing it... Jaysus!
jank wrote: » There is a lot that can be done with the Health Service but now is not the time to be looking for a huge overhaul. Guide the thing over the line for the GE of 2016 and then FG and Leo if they are still in power can commit to their radical changes or whatever strategy they have in mind. No use picking those huge fights now and watching on the sidelines over the next 6 years when the Shinners and whomever get the levers of power. If you think FG and Leo are populist in this regard, the god help you if Sinn Fein get into power.
Drumpot wrote: » Most people don't know what pressure and difficulty there might be in coming out under normal conditions let alone as a minister in Ireland.
Doesn't seem to stop people from minimising it. But aren't forums a place for people to share what they know for sure about things they have not actually any experience with?
Had Leo not come out and supported the gay marraige referendum he would be leaving himself open to being accused of being no different to politicians who use their powers for their own good. In this case it's quite clear that he will benefit from a yes vote so I think he was correct to disclose a vital piece of information before canvassing on this referendum.
_Kaiser_ wrote: » See this is what annoys me in this country.. Someone announces that they're gay and there's an immediate outpouring of support from the liberal politically correct types (you only have to read the first page of this thread) Personally I don't give a fook if someone is gay or not. It's their own business and if they're happy then who cares what anyone thinks? In short this is a non-story and in fact, isn't that how it should be? I'd be far more interested in hearng what Leo is doing to fix the HSE myself
DeanAustin wrote: » Notice that they are about to lose their jobs?
DeanAustin wrote: » What were the regulatory controls? How did you go from that to proof reading students' assignments?
mad muffin wrote: » Notice that shîts gonna hit the fan. I'd say lose their jobs but I know it's impossible to fire incompetents in Ireland. They just get moved along.
_Kaiser_ wrote: » I don't see why it has to be a headline news story myself. It's his own business. Why the need to "come out" to the public at all
Daith wrote: » Yes but it is not atm. If you truly didn't give a **** you wouldn't be moaning about the liberal ppl showing support. What difference to you does that make? You wouldn't even have bothered clicking on the topic
Daith wrote: » He's the first openly gay cabinet minister. Of course it's going to be news.
Jawgap wrote: » Well I don't know how this suddenly became about me but I'm not mentioning the legislation as it's specific and I'm not sure I'd like to be identified on an internet forum. As for the reference to another thread - before working in the PS I worked for a consultancy firm and I'm back working for another consultancy firm now. Anything else?
DeanAustin wrote: » So what would you hope to accomplish by reviewing their failures? Also, how would you identify those failures in the first place?
_Kaiser_ wrote: » It "bothers" me because it's headline news and a distraction from the mess that is the HSE. Leo is gay.. so what? How is that going to affect anyone else in this country? Leo's plans in Health would do however - and as with everything this government do, I get wary when "distractions" hit the media as it's usually a cover for something else.
mad muffin wrote: » Leo? Is that you? I ain't doing your job for you. Unless you want to give me a position? PM me we'll discuss terms.
Daith wrote: » So now his coming out is a distraction. For someone who says you don't give a **** it seems like you clearly do.
lorenzo87 wrote: » So what. The things people talk about these days.
AgileMyth wrote: » Never understood the notion of coming out. What business is it of anyone else? Nobody ever comes out as straight.
_Kaiser_ wrote: » I've already said i don't give a toss what the guy's sexuality is. I don't know him, never met him, amn't dating him so why would I care? As I said, I'm far more concerned with his job performance and don't see why him being gay has to be headline news in a country that considers itself so enlightened. If this was the 80s or 90s yes, but aren't we beyond that now?
_Kaiser_ wrote: » but aren't we beyond that now?