how.gareth wrote: » i had feck all free memory so i deleted a load of plugins i dont use and checked again and i only have 3% free memory. box seems to be running ok tho, is that ok or have i something set up wrong? epg is set up ok. swap says its on. ps- 3 hours of wife use on the new image and new skin and no nagging so far! cheers for the image FP
Slevster wrote: » There you go- Life lessons . This box just gives and gives. fair play Jayo. no small thing starting a business. continued success to you.
soberasajudge wrote: » I've only one sat and saorview connected. An update, I just went to TV3 on saorview there, pressed the record button and navigated to a sat channel. Running sound now? I'll try another timer in a bit and let ye know how it goes. Cheers.
soberasajudge wrote: » Just checked there, swap is active. Dunno if it matters but it was RTE2HD I was recording while watching an SD sat channel?
soberasajudge wrote: » Hi FreshPots, Firstly, I love the image and am sure its my bad that I have no cache space, not yours. Yes I have the hdd connected, have the crossepg pointed there and have the picons you posted also stored there. I used DCC to empty the/enigma2/picon folder as well. Is there any way of giving the box a "good clean" and reloading your image again? Thanks again.
soberasajudge wrote: » Hi All, I got my Alien so I could finally get rid of SKY and am almost there. I have cross epg up and running, picons are all on show where I want them. The final piece of the puzzle I need to convince she who must be obeyed to lose the SKY HD box is the recordings. I've read some issues here about needing plenty of cache space for this to work properly. I'm running FreshPots version of Hv4.5, (Thanks!), and am really impressed with it, compared to OpenAtv. Today I tried to record from the saorview tuner while watching a sat channel. I got the message that a recording was about to start and within 5 seconds the sat channel froze and I had to power cycle the box to get a response and delete the recording.I believe my problem is that I'm hovering around 16% free cache all of the time. I've deleted what plugins that I can but cannot seem to gain more space. Am I right in thinking that the Blue Panel contains a load of plugins that I don't need? If so, can anyone help me get rid of them or find some other way of clearing the cache please? PS, this thread is excellent!
how.gareth wrote: » Yep everything that should be done is done I think, I used dcc to ftp the picons across so that's another new thing learned! I get the feeling people just ftp files across? For example if I download a film off piratebay I used to send the file manually from my pc to the box hard drive but is it better to ftp it instead?
Fresh Pots wrote: » Have you set share 1 to hdd in the smb server menu?
cyndale wrote: » I hear you, I had a skin on a previous image (Hyperion V4), it was PKT Gold, I have PKT Red, and PKT Silver. I liked the look of the PKT Gold
jayo26 wrote: » Agree with you mate if people don't try new things you get nowhere in life I'm self employed because I started messing around with computers and laptops I am now certified and have my own little shop. So try all you want just backup everything.
mass_debater wrote: » It'll end in tears. Be sure you have a backup. Most are made for different versions if enigma on different hardware.
Slevster wrote: » very true. but don't let that stop you young Cyndale. seek them out and report back.....
Ronan.om wrote: » Hi there, I'm new to all this freesat world so forgive the idiotic questions. I'm running the Enigma 2 on my Amiko alien 2. Any time I switch on and off the box it boots in E2 but finishes with the Amiko sunrise homepage with the audio of the channel running in the background. I can hear the channel (in this instance UCB TV) and while i can change the channels using the buttons on the box the remote is not connecting. I've tried the reboot via spark but the OS says that it can't find the image. It will boot in enigma but again no picture just the sunrise. Any help would be gratefully received. Rónán
Slevster wrote: » thats not in the spirit of adventure ! how will we know if no one tries!
mass_debater wrote: » Don't, you'll have no idea if they'll be compatible, the ones in the repo are
cyndale wrote: » Sorry, I should have been clearer. I was enquiring about where to get skins from the internet!:P
Slevster wrote: » menu-plugins then choose plugin download (often by pressing the green button, depending on image) then scroll down and expand the "skin" option. once you download what you want, then menu-setup-skin. select one of your downloaded , and reboot. can be a bit of try and see what you like. and there are other skins on various forums around the place, which may be of interest.
alanhiggyno1 wrote: » what is the best skin
cyndale wrote: » Where can I download skins from?:eek: