Egginacup wrote: » Just think about that. The guy allegedly points a gun at a cop. So this guy is pointing a gun at a cop and the cop then pulls out his gun and fires several shots at the guy. Was the guy in a trance or was the cop some kind of "Sundance Kid quickdraw"? The victim didn't get a single shot off between the time he was "pointing his weapon" at the cop until the cop reached, drew, undid the safety, aimed and fired multiple shots? (I await the analysis of the gun nuts on here who will brag about how they can draw, aim, discharge a few rounds from their glocks into a paper target or beer can or some such sh1t in a matter of seconds)
Bacchus wrote: » or reform the police force to better tackle the problems (& criminals) they are facing. I saw some mention of a camera on every officer (by their badge I think) so that there is full accountability for their actions. Sounded like a good place to start.
Dan_Solo wrote: » All those things you describe as "obvious" aren't even mentioned in the text. Obvious to those determined to blindly agree regardless of what was actually said perhaps?
irish coldplayer wrote: » Ah here, Where did I say I agreed with all the sentiments expressed? You seem to have a problem with the word "obvious" and enjoy shifting of the goalposts. I used obviously twice in the post 1. I substituted "hardened criminals" for "Bad guys" hardly an unrealistic synonym. 2. And since you have read the article yourself and then chose to cherry pick the quotes to suit your agenda while ignoring aspects of it that dont. I and I think many other people would think that it shows an obvious bias. Lastly why would my criticisms of your posts be contained in the text of a NYPD officers blog? Surely you can make a better argument than that.
BattleCorp wrote: » If the guy pulled a gun on the cop, then fair enough, what else was the cop supposed to do? This race sh1t is really bugging me. Who gives a fcuk what colour someone is, if they pull a gun on a cop then they should expect them to respond. Is society so fcuked up that you are a racist if you shoot back at a black man because he pulled a gun on you? The media need a kick in the hole too. They are whipping everything up, trying to aggravate every situation. It's almost as if they wanted to create a race war. Bottom line, no matter what colour you are, pull a gun on a cop and they are going to do their very best to put you down, fast.
Highflyer13 wrote: » From my viewpoint it looks like the US is on a serious downward spiral. Social and income inequality seems to be getting worse.
Egginacup wrote: » And he'll get away with it too.
Bacchus wrote: » The current station that has evolved over the last year has moved beyond gun law. Gun law is obviously a huge divisive issue in America but this has become a PR war between the police that are supposed to protect and the people who are outraged over a handful of isolated incidents (with the media pouring fuel on the fire). Not that I'm trying to diminish the impact of those shootings but a police force that is taking such a hammering over every action they take is a police force that won't work. Even in reform, with such scrutiny you risk the reforming removing good with the bad.
Dan_Solo wrote: » They seem to keep breaking or running out of batteries whenever a kid is shot dead or a disabled man beaten to death.
RacoonQueen wrote: » White policeman shoots white teenager wouldn't have quite the se ring to it. Have the black people not realised yet that if they stop waving guns around the police will stop shooting them?
Egginacup wrote: » But the AREN'T isolated incidents. A black male is killed every 28 hours by cops or vigilantes in the US. The same shabby "couple of bad apples" argument was used to piss away the Lyndie England Abu Ghraib torture photos but it's clear to anyone with half a brain that torture was and is systemic. Take a look at this wanker in the photo:http://sfbayview.com/2014/12/outed-undercover-cop-pulls-gun-on-oakland-protesters/ This prick and dozens of his buddies who were in on the act tried to infiltrate peaceful protesters and even smashed windows to try and make it look like the protesters were some mob of knuckleheaded anarchists. US troops in Iraq routinely planted AK-47s next to the corpses of civilians they killed in order to paint them as legitimate targets. US cops in their moral bankruptcy are no different. You can talk about isolated incidents all you want and wring your hands about how these thugs are "doing a tough job" as if that gives them the license to be assholes. But the facts show differently.
darced wrote: » This post has been deleted.
Egginacup wrote: » And this gem of wisdom from a moderator!
Grand Moff Tarkin wrote: » I hate to bust the bubble but the average American citizen is a lot sharper than the average Irish person. Americans are correct in thinking that their nation counts on the world scale while us Irish are happy to delude ourselves that we are more that an international drinking joke.
Bacchus wrote: » If something more foul comes of the investigation then I'll reassess my thinking on what happened but I'm not going to get drawn in on hypotheticals. I'm sure cops are well trained to draw their guns and fire quickly. Assuming that the man did pull a gun on the cop, I don't think there is much argument saying the cop was wrong to open fire. Would we all have preferred he take a moment first and ask the man what he intended to do now that he was pointing a gun at him?
h2005 wrote: » Have you anything to back up what you're saying? Having lived in the states for 5 years I can't say I noticed the average American was "sharper" than the average Irish person.
Egginacup wrote: » But the AREN'T isolated incidents. A black male is killed every 28 hours by cops or vigilantes in the US.
irelandrover wrote: » Can you provide any links or backups of this number? Does it include justified killings? How many people of other races are killed by police. Who are the vigilantes and why are they included in this?
Egginacup wrote: » The vigilantes are people like the racist, sexist, wifebeating thug and "neighbourhood watch" gobshite George Zimmerman who was told by cops not to go near Trayvon Martin but followed and shot and killed him anyway.
Manic Moran wrote: » Got a link for that? Because I don't see it on this thread, and certainly not in that open letter on the previous page.
The mayor’s hands are literally dripping with our blood because of his words actions and policies and we have, for the first time in a number of years, become a ‘wartime’ police department. We will act accordingly.
A spokesman for the Patrolmen’s Benevolent Association has denied that the group issued a now-widely circulated memo reacting to today's killing of two police officers