CrabRevolution wrote: » I think this post shows the point in the thread where we've really started scraping the bottom of the barrel of things to be embarrassed about. Either that or you're taking the piss.
EICVD wrote: » Clearly I'm taking the piss.
DEFTLEFTHAND wrote: » Some of the 'Olympians' we've sent to games over the years. So many dreadful performances to look back on across a wide range of disciplines.
Grand Moff Tarkin wrote: » The Olympians who have represented the Tri-Colour down the years have done so with little or no funding of any sort.
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » I thought it was the opposite nowadays serious investment with embarrasing returns
Henlars67 wrote: » McGregor isn't an embarrassment, but he isn't a sportsman either. Hitting somebody while they're on the ground isn't sport
Henlars67 wrote: » Since when was hitting somebody while they're down allowed in boxing?
who the fug wrote: » To be fair he the perfect corporate player , comes in says all the right things gets his bonus and ****s off before his ****e starts to stink Paul McGrath will always put more on the gate than him
ColeTrain wrote: » What do you think is Ireland's most embarrassing moment on the sporting stage? 'Ireland's most successful Olympian' Michelle Smith and her doping gets my vote.
twinytwo wrote: » You would want to be careful what you say, Smith was never found quilty of doping, only of tampering with a drug sample.
roy rodgers wrote: » I have to say there is questions that were raised about a greyhound that pat Kenny owned called late late show. the dog was running for charity and won 18 races open class races in a row!! it was never heard off and still no dog as come near to it. the dog won over a 100k and the publicity the greyhound board got was priceless now his trainer was caught with a load of drugs imported from Australia but none of his dogs were ever found with substances in them which made us a laughing stock of the greyhound world. unfortunately its still being kept quite by government about greyhound racing doping but one of these days it will be out in the open if mick Wallace keeps at them!!
Baggy Trousers wrote: » I know she is a barrister but it's hardly libellous. She refuses to talk about the 4 medals she won or why she had to tamper with samples.
Duck's hoop wrote: » Any examples? Fwiw, people aren't simply sent to the Olympics for the craic or cos they fancy a wee spin. There's a standard which must be met or surpassed.In othe words athletes need to qualify or they don't go. So already they're better than the huge majority within their chosen sport.
DEFTLEFTHAND wrote: » They are in some cases, wildcard entrants for instance. Anyway I'm talking about athletes choking and failing to perform to their potential at games. Failing to make it out of heats etc.
chicorytip wrote: » Roy Keane.
roy rodgers wrote: » maybe! but I don't care about his personal downfalls he is bringing up a situation about the greyhound board that could also fall the government. im not left or right wing but if he is doing the right thing for the greyhound board im with him. too many suits hiding too many secrets again
grazeaway wrote: » Used to live in limerick and playing Munster rugby means a lot to people there and dare I say it more then playing for Ireland. Worked in Belfast too for while and it was the same with the ulster lads. Know a few ex Munster lads from cork and they would be the same but playing for Ireland meant more to them then some of the limerick lads. The pro contract had nothing to do it with. Not sure about the lads in Connacht or Leinster
tayto lover wrote: » Could Mick Wallace not be described as one of our worst sporting embarrassments himself being involved with Wexford Youths and doing the country out of 2 million in fiddled taxes? Some hypocritic boy to be attempting to highlight the wrong-doings of others imo.
Dirty Dingus McGee wrote: » The ridiculous hype that greets every victory the British and Irish Lions have is quiet embarrassing. 4 countries combined beating Beating Australia (where Rugby union is not massively popular relative to other sports in Australia) was nowhere near the achievement it is made out to be.Frankly they should have been ashamed of themselves had they failed to beat Australia.
Billy86 wrote: » It's just as easy to turn around and say that hitting someone at all being the aim means neither "are sports" - but it doesn't make it at all true. It just makes them a sport that they don''t personally like. At the end of the day though both are, definitively, sports. sport spɔːt/Submit noun 1. an activity involving physical exertion and skill in which an individual or team competes against another or others for entertainment. "team sports such as soccer and rugby" synonyms: (competitive) game(s), physical recreation, physical activity, physical exercise; pastime "he takes part in a variety of sports"