ThebitterLemon wrote: » Today while waiting on a flight out of Warsaw, I was doing what I usually do when I've a few minutes to spare, I browsed through the A/R/T forums when I saw that I had won new poster and training log of the year. Amazed and bowled over by that TBH, especially given that I'm a mediocre runner at best and given the quality of other logs posted on this forum. It was Krusty who had told me, this time last year, that a log would also be extremely useful from a training perspective. He was right but in addition I also enjoy keeping it and reading others. The log keeps me honest and part of me thinks that were it not for the log and the community here I wouldn't have bounced back so quickly after a poor showing in Amsterdam, to PB in Valencia! Easier to slink off and take the lazy option when you aren't holding yourself to account on a public forum. It may be more indicative of a sad auld lad, with feck all to do but my running and the logs on here are inextricably linked. I get a great buzz from running and racing and also writing and reading about it. My logging style mightn't be everyone's cup of tea but it is a factual account of my struggle to balance, work and family with a burning desire to run faster. I absolutely love the banter that breaks out on the logs and there are some incredible characters posting here along with some talented runners. The wit coupled with some incredible support and advise make this forum what it is. It fantastic and fascinating to watch the chronological development of runners of all levels unfold. In the 12 months since I've started logging here and with Ecoli's help I've knocked 10 mins off my marathon PB. (And enjoyed almost every minute of it). I never take myself too seriously but I'm fiercely competitive (bring it on Meno ) and I'd like to think over the next 12 months I'll knock another 10 mins off it, have a blast doing it and logging any progress here. I've also met and run with some great people because of this forum but just to let ye all know, I'll be charging a fee heretofore A genuine thanks to everyone who has taken the time to read and provide feedback on this log, with a special mention to Krusty (the now retired stud ) for getting me started. From waffle to waddle: The plan today called for 7 miles easy. I set my alarm early this morning so that I could hit the hotel gym treadmill but I was too tired so I gave it a miss. I flew back into Heathrow late afternoon and made my way to my hotel near Gatwick. The traffic was desperate and it took me 90 mins to get to my hotel. Staying at an old country manor hotel in Nutfield and as the paths aren't lit I decided to use the leisure centre treadmill to do as many of the 7 miles as I could. The leisure centre is fantastic with a well equipped gym, 2 squash courts and a pool. Unfortunately I'm in different hotels again on Wed & Thursday so it'll be treadmill city for the rest of the week. Managed to do 11.38k in 60 mins. Tnx again TbL
Netwerk Errer wrote: » I think it's about time you changed the log title to "the gentry's log":)
ThebitterLemon wrote: » I'm not a fan of trail running at the best of times
PaulieYifter wrote: » :rolleyes:
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Im a mediocre runner
ultraman1 wrote: » Don't be gettin too big for ur boots........well done tbl
ThebitterLemon wrote: » I'd prefer to watch the entire box set of Oireachtas Report 2000-2014:)
adrian522 wrote: » We need to see this photo, otherwise your log has no validity.
Ososlo wrote: » Hear hear. Photo or GTFO!
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Haha Adrian if you need to see the Connemara Hugh Hefner with the Crystals I'll pm it to you! TbL
SamforMayo wrote: » And me! And I promise I won't show it to a soul....
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Ye Mayo wans couldn't be up ta ye, ye lot we always the ones to tell us good looking Galway lads to fcuk off when we asked ye out dancing. Ps. Bulmers has a copy of the picture (along with a confidentiality agreement ) so he can verify!! TbL Pps. Bulmers has just come back to me and said it was no wonder I was in bed early