Aineoil wrote: » Italians are brutally honest! I love them for that, most of the time:D
ClovenHoof wrote: » As a Corkman I was going to instinctually post Dublin - but that would have been more reactionary than fair. I once stayed with some people in Cabra and everyone I met was very nice. So there are pockets of human decency in Dublin. Thinking about it long and hard for me it is Donegal. Particularly once north of Ballyshannon. Everyone seems to be a cross between Eric Cartman, the Banjo Player from Deliverance coupled with the most obnoxious control freak you ever met. They are also incredibly insular and will accept no wrongdoing of any kind takes place in their county. It is always someone else fault. If you want to murder someone in Donegal, the Guards won't investigate you unless you are from another county.
the evasion_kid wrote: » Leitrim....had a few altercations with its folk in my time!
jungle_hostage wrote: » what an incredibly boring view
Betty Bloggs wrote: » Surprised with so many Donegal responses, I know a good few Donegal people, and have always found them lovely. I love the accent, and always found them to be really friendly and warm, great craic - always joking about, extremely chatty and very decent/fair people really. Well the one's I've met have been anyways!:) Can't think of anywhere that has "horrid" people as a majority. As has been said there are pricks everywhere but I think most people are generally nice.
Graces7 wrote: » I lived nine years in Donegal and shudder at the memories. Hard and dour and inhospitable folk ..... lucky to get away with my life ...
aaronc182 wrote: » westmeath!
John Doe1 wrote: » As a Donegal man living in Cork at the moment, I thank you for your kind words:p I have met some very nice Cork people but I have also met some of the most obnoxious, arrogant and dour people on Thor's green earth. And this is coming from someone who has actually lived in the county they are criticising.... As an example of the mindset of a Cork person, I overheard a work colleague tell someone who phoned in that when asking what Cork is like "Cork is a really big city and has around 600,000 people and Donegal only has 30,000 people." (Actual pop-Cork 120,000, Donegal, 160,000) Also the whole rebel thing is cringey as ****:p
AudreyHepburn wrote: » There are bad apples everywhere tbh, I don't think singling out one place or another is accurate or fair. That said I'm a Dub myself and there are some parts of this city I wouldn't walk into without a gun and bullet-proof vest.
Balmed Out wrote: » I dont believe that for a minute. I doubt there is a person in Cork who thinks a) its a really big city, b) has 600000 people or c) thinks there are only 30000 people living in Co. Donegal. Since the actual population of Co. Cork is about 500,000 with Co. Donegal about 160000 I think its safe enough to assume you may be prone to exaggeration and maybe just making stuff up. For the record having been to Donegal a few times and knowing (just as acquaintances) a few Donegal people I quite like them. There's always one though....
The_Captain wrote: » I have heard someone from Cork say that the economy of Ireland is dependent on Cork. If Cork left the republic and formed its own state, it would be rich, while the other 25 counties would be reduced to poverty, on the basis that Cork is a MASSIVE business region and takes in far more tax than gets spent. While most of them are grand, there are some absolute freaks who buy into the Cork Uber Alles thing in a big way
Macavity. wrote: » Not necessarily horrid, but for arrogance probably Cork people.
ShowMeTheCash wrote: » Anywhere south of Donegal, I generally find the IQ gets lower the lower I go and the women get hairier! By the time I get to Cork it' like a scene from Planet of the apes, cannot understand a word they say boyo!
Gazzmonkey wrote: » Your not serious ??
Mint Sauce wrote: » I was going to say Dublin my self OP, but after reading that I think Cork.