Fabio wrote: » How do you suggest they "use their ample free time to improve their lot" minidazzler? Where should they start, if you don't mind me asking?
Cybercommando wrote: » There are two young girls going around town asking for money for a bus to Midleton. They asked me for 50 cent about a month ago, saying they just need it to pay for a bus ticket. They were only about 17 or 18 and didn't really seem like junkies, just maybe emo types who hang around outside Tesco Paul street. I gave them the 50cent anyway as they seemed genuine. Two weeks later, I came across them again. "Excuse me, we're trying to get to Midleton and we just need 50cent to get the ticket". They didn't recognize me. I asked them "Are you still stuck in Cork? I gave you money for the bus ticket a few weeks ago!" They looked shocked and started to make up an excuse "Yeah but, but.. but.. yes... but.." I just told them to feck off. So watch out for two young girls looking for bus money. Maybe they're junkies in the early stages. First met them on Cornmarket street, second encounter was around the dodgy carpark on Grattan street.
whisky_galore wrote: » A bit like a Goth or a Curehead. It's the new thing now, like.
mcko wrote: » Again it is a lack of a Garda presence on the streets, I can't remember when I last saw a Garda on the beat in town.
WhiteRoses wrote: » I agree that Cork city has become really rough, lots of dodgy characters hanging around. I'm quite good at discerning the difference between actual homeless people and junkies, but I can still sometimes be fooled. I've also noticed a lot of very young well dressed beggars lately - about two weeks ago there was a girl no older than 20 sitting by Uncle Pete's by Paul St. sitting with a cup in front of her, while texting off an iPhone! Also another girl outside Vera Moda immaculately dressed (well, she had decent clothes, clean shoes and a face full of make up on) asking for spare change. What's up with this? Some of them do seem to make a career out of it and can always be seen in the same places, there's an elderly Roma lady consistently on the footbridge leading from Sullivan's Quay to Grand Parade, and I get really upset seeing other elderly people handing her notes, feeling sorry for her, none the wiser to the fact that she most certainly isn't homeless. Just makes me sad that these fraudsters are getting money from good hearted people when those who genuinely need it are looked over.
Ralf and Florian wrote: » You're right there,shes living on Evergreen St.
Herb Powell wrote: » lol, emo has been dead since about 2008 I'd say, nothing new about them. I'm just back in Cork after a year living in a decent-sized city in Germany, and I think it was much worse before, tbh. Maybe the begging is just more aggressive in Germany (it can be pretty in-your-face, and there's lots of them) but I was really surprised when I got back, from all of the horror stories people had been telling. As usual, bit of perspective needed, lads. Cork is not that bad.
pwurple wrote: » Uh, the library for a start. Stuffed Full of free books to learn any skill they can imagine. If you can read you can learn absolutely anything you want. FAS. Job-bridge. Volunteer work. Do you have any idea what people in developing countries give for the services we have here? I don't think it's too bad in town myself. In the daytime I've no issues bringing the kids in. I'd avoid the dodgey spot down by the bridge end of south mall, that's about it. There are a few people asking for change alright but they are generally polite and not intrusive. Never seen anyone get agressive about it.
rob316 wrote: » Its not that bad, Ive experienced Dublin and its much worse but why should we settle for the city centre going to ****. Near zero police presence and the ones that are around don't seem to care about this stuff. Junkies, bums, homeless, beggers, shabby empty buildings left to rot, it doesn't exactly showcase the city in a good light.
Fabio wrote: » The library is a good place to start yes but for almost any job you need both an address, a permanent one, and a qualification of some form. To get that qualification, indeed to get any state benefits really, you need a postal address. Homeless people do not have that and therefore it is incredibly difficult to even start the process of lifting yourself up again.
The stories of homeless people making another start are rare for a reason. Because it is very difficult given their external circumstances.
Ralf and Florian wrote: » Be wary of this big fat guy with a beard and balding curly hair about 30 and sounds like a traveller.He is very aggressive in his begging and is not averse to standing in front of people blocking their way and going up to people using ATMs.
Dave47 wrote: » fella got harassed today near atm and he had a small child with him. Incidentally didn't see a garda patrol all day.
IrishGurll wrote: » My mam was doing her shopping in dunnes in North Main Street about two weeks ago and a man (definitely on drugs) came up to her trying to see her SVP vouchers for 50 euro, he followed her around the whole shop trying to prove they were real and was getting very aggressive. My mam was getting frightened so reported him to one of the security guards in there and he got escorted out. She was in town again on Saturday and the same man followed her in North Main Street and grabbed her jacket and called her a "rat". She was petrified. North Main Street is flooded with junkies.