pc7 wrote: » News quoting Enda now as saying charges here to stay, if removed tax would rise by 4% and budget cuts would be wiped out. I can't see it being stopped no matter how many marches take place.
dxhound2005 wrote: » I don't want income tax increased to fund water for non tax payers. Workers like me are already paying more than our share for all the non tax payers. And suffering much more in wage cuts than the non tax payers would pay for water.
Smidge wrote: » Good old Enda. Nailing his own coffin and he is so arrogant that he doesn't even see what he is doing. "Beat the people down with a stick and threat of taxes. That'll do it lads" Other parties... "Vote for us and we will get rid of that tax" Enda you really are a numpty.
tayto lover wrote: » Time will tell. Many bigger protests to come. Met loads who never marched before and they are now in for the long term. The people are rising.
Beaner1 wrote: » Yeah, shame on him for not engaging in ruinous, populist economic policies.
dxhound2005 wrote: » I think you meant to reply to Smidge.
pc7 wrote: » You could be right and as I said earlier in thread fair play to all involved. I firmly believe the charging will go ahead regardless sadly. On the plus side hopefully the protests will see IW sorted properly and the bonus, mismanagement etc will be fixed. After the bin, property tax protests all failing in the end I see this one ending the same way. The whole IW thing has been a cluster **** of epic proportions.
Smidge wrote: » Do you know what ruinous means? As in he is ruining his chances of re-election for himself and his cohorts
My name is URL wrote: » Would you protest it if it were to happen? I'm guessing you'd still just bend over and take it :rolleyes:
yipeeeee wrote: » And even though he knows this, why do you think he is still going ahead with it? Is it because he has no choice as the country has a massive debt that needs to be paid back.
Larbre34 wrote: » There are other choices, including inflating our way out of it instead of more and more prohibitive austerity. You know that as well as Enda does
Beaner1 wrote: » Yes, my words were perfectly chosen. SF topping a poll today. Enjoy your time with them.
gladrags wrote: » There is a choice,and always will be.
Beaner1 wrote: » So leave the euro then?
dxhound2005 wrote: » As I said earlier Enda needs to take a lesson out of Bertie's book. By adopting more popular policies and putting them into action. Like increasing the spend on old age pensions by 700%. That is what got Bertie elected three times and let him and Biffo rule for 14 years. Enda. Listen to the people and give them loads of money. Otherwise you will be out on your ear.
Smidge wrote: » NOBODY is saying that dx and well you know it. What the people are saying is "We have no more money to give to keep people in quangos and bonuses and private gyms and cushy numbers" And that goes for tax increases too