Little CuChulainn wrote: » Where they be addressed to the landlords by name or just by address? If we want to talk IW data concerns, I would be interested to know why packs are going to peoples parents addresses instead of their own home. Where are they getting this information from?
Smidge wrote: » This was discussed before. Iw are getting information from somewhere and imo (and an awful lot of other people agree) it is not ethical and above board. Don't ask for proof. Like anything else that is untoward the evidence is there in people's laps.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » Like Sega? 1.3 million accounts compromised. Maybe Ebay, gmail or mastercard are more your thing. Eircom, Bord Gais, Centra, Unislim, ESB, Paddy Power if you want to go Irish. The list goes on. You're a fool if you think you are 100% secure.
gladrags wrote: » That's a fairly condesceding remark,to call someone a fool for expressing a logical comment.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » If they haven't detected any breaches then they may be lucky not to have any. But it's not down to control. Even the best controlled data is vulnerable to breaches caused by malicious action or human error.
Irish Aris wrote: » I can't argue regarding malicious actions, but, at least in the three companies I have worked for, the controls that were/are in place, would eliminate any chance of human errors.
Banjo String wrote: » Delaying the inevitable imo. In fact I hope the mass demonstration and protest is delayed by a month to coincide with it.http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/homeowners-to-be-granted-one-month-reprieve-as-water-bills-delayed-30682001.html They're just drawing it out at this point/ awaiting further instructions from their German betters.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » Maybe to a large extent but you just can't account for it all. How do you prevent an incident such as an employee letting details about a client slip when they have a few drinks? Even small things like sending an email with a spelling mistake in the location. You can take lots of preventative measures but it's just not possible to completely protect data.
Satriale wrote: » Jaysus, i love it, the longer they drag it out the better. It's fierce entertainment.
cajonlardo wrote: » What action will be taken against the Irish Water employee who illegally disclosed client information and is it known if a fee was paid for that information? Just asking because you have moved so far away from the breach of the data act by Irish Water that people might forget about what this point was about to begin with
Little CuChulainn wrote: » I thought most people accepted it was a mistake. There was no evidence to the contrary was there?
hju6 wrote: » In a statement, a spokesperson for the Office of the Data Protection Commissioner said… “I can confirm that Irish Water reported this matter to this Office under the Personal Data Security Breach Code of Practice and it was dealt with as a data security breach. “This required that (1) affected individuals be notified of the matter, advising them of steps they can take to protect themselves, (2) the actual recipients of the letters be contacted and asked to return the letters to Irish Water and (3) put in place procedures to prevent a repeat of this type of incident.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » Does that have some specific meaning I'm not aware of? Is that not what all data protection failures are referred to as by the commissioner?
Cuttlefish wrote: » OK so a water meter was installed on Sept 3rd - 46 days (roughly 7 weeks) I have been lifting the lid and checking the readings and I "seemed" quite high. Rang Irish Water to clarify how to read properly and asked for someone to call and check all is OK, They called when I was out of the country, rang me afterwards and said that their fitting is OK and there is no leak 200mm up from the stop cock. Dring the course of the conversation the call person didn't have a reading from the engineer who called and had to clarify if my 17yr old daughter is entitled to an allowance (she is of 21,000litres). So I told her that I read the meter on Wednesday it was 26xxx (xxx being red digits), this equates to 26,000 litres. So she said you may well have a leak, Great I say to myself. I arrived home yesterday to an empty house and I checked and yes the dial is moving, it looks like a litre every 1min 40sec Round this up to 2mins a litre this means 30litres per hour and on to 720 litres per day!! So Irish Water rang yesterday as I was checking and I said there may be a leak and what do I do, he says call a plumber! I said I thought there was a first fix free policy announced and he says not until 2015. So we both conclude that I do one of the following… 1) call plumber and fix it now off my own bat, no reimbursement from Irish Water or 2) wait for the first fix free policy to start and allow water to leak,if it is a leak. Questions.. 1) anyone else come across this? Having a meter installed and the meter indicating that there is a leak 2) What do I do? fix now or wait 3) anyone have suggestions as to identifying where the leak is?
hju6 wrote: » So two data breaches by a company not even 6 months old does not set any alarm bells ringing?
Smidge wrote: » I don't think this kind of mistake could be accepted by anyone.
Smidge wrote: » Least of all the ten people whose LL's know exactly how much is in their bank account. Not everyone is on good terms with their LL but take this under consideration. ..........
hju6 wrote: » https://uk.news.yahoo.com/13-controversies-dogged-irish-water-094355225.html 14 reasons why people don’t like and don’t trust Irish Water 2 reasons include "data breaches" So most people do not accept it as a mistake
Little CuChulainn wrote: » A data breach can be a mistake though. You seem unable to grasp this concept for some reason.
Bongalongherb wrote: » But there was 10 data breaches. More than A mistake.
Catari Jaguar wrote: » Sending out bills.. what have they done yet?? Currently, who is maintaining and treating our water? Where? How? When? I want to know EXACTLY what is happening with every drop of water I am supposed to pay for. All I know of (apart from data breach) is that they've opened 6 new office and a headquarters in Dublin (including a €55k gym) & paid €64m to consultants. They're leaking money as though it coming from the dodgy burst pipes they're meant to be maintaining. Again, plucking figures out of the sky (where water apparently doesn't come from...), jobs for the boys, bonuses etc. and ****ing muggins here will pay for it all. So will future generations. Where have I seen this craic before? Oh, yea, Anglo Irish Bank.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » That's just hair splitting. The same mistake made 10 times before being noticed. But have it your way.
Smidge wrote: » And given your last few posts, your tenacity to defend the indefensible and your complete disregard of any responses given to you in reply to any of your questions, I chose to no longer acknowledge your posts as you clearly have an agenda.
hawkelady wrote: » I've read all of this thread and you keep coming on here saying stuff that makes it look like you will defend IW no matter what !! There are other supporters of IW but you are fanatical about them , so I have to ask if you are auld big thick Phil hogan ?? How's the new job goin, have ya fecked that up yet !!