tayto lover wrote: » Silly post DX.
While the Garda press office could not give a figure for the numbers in attendance, one garda observing the march estimated they could be as high as 100,000.
dxhound2005 wrote: » How is the population broke if they can afford to spend 12 times as much on alcohol as they will be paying for water next year?
dxhound2005 wrote: » Not if you look at the figures. He said the population is broke and can't afford to pay IW €500 million next year. That is at the high end of expectations. I asked how this made sense when the population spent €6.3 billion on booze in 2012. In the middle of the deepest recession of all time and the most cruel austerity ever visited on any people in the history of the world. I think the population can afford to pay for water. The ones that don't drink are already quids in compared to their neighbours who like a tipple.
Banjo String wrote: » Slowly the truth is oozing out.http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/over-50-000-march-in-dublin-to-protest-against-water-charges-1.1960704
KERSPLAT! wrote: » So ye refuse to believe garda and media figures... unless they support your opinion?
adrian92 wrote: » I am at a loss as to why a decision was made to spend 500 million putting in meters. Presumably in the interests of the Irish people. I suppose it was just spare change and no other use for such a sum of money
listermint wrote: » And you are still going. You are literally flying in the face of all evidence. And you refused to respond to my well rounded comment. Utter Ridiculous.
KERSPLAT! wrote: » Apologies, completely miss your well thought out and very detailed post. I appreciate it. My comment about waiting to see the news wasn't with regards to the amount of protesters, I was hoping for plenty of coverage so I could see for myself what it was like and to see some of the speeches. If you read my other comments you'll see that while I don't support the protest, I admire the people that went to the protest instead of sitting on their arses, complaining and getting no where. My comment above is in relation to all the posters who say the media and garda are towing the government line but when a member of AGS supports their opinion then he is to be believed, just this member, not any of the others.
dxhound2005 wrote: » Take the long view. They will be working away measuring water consumption years after we are all gone. A sound investment based on a very common practice worldwide.
zerks wrote: » It's a pity the subbies who installed them nearly ended up in the poorhouse trying to get money out of the main contractor/IW.
Banjo String wrote: » http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/organisers-claim-100000-attended-anti-water-charges-protest-644984.html There's another 100k claim.
IrishExaminer wrote: Around 100,000 people have taken part in a mass demonstration against water charges in Dublin, according to the organisers of the rally.
dxhound2005 wrote: » This time I'm not going to google. Please explain.
KERSPLAT! wrote: » Lads, I hope there was 100k, that'd be great to see. All I was saying was that I was waiting for a reliable source
zerks wrote: » I personally know a few who took on the job of installing meters,getting paid was like getting blood from a stone,even at that there were so many obstacles put in their way by IW that it would actually have been easier to bleed said stone. IW got mega bucks to get this thing up & running but are very reluctant to give any to the guys actually doing the hard work.As a result very many simply packed up their tools & cut their losses.
dxhound2005 wrote: » Looking good for SF in 2016 now. They will have to dig up all the meters. There is now way they could leave them in place. The suspicion would always be there that water charges could come back if their budgets ran into trouble on other fronts.
Glock Lesnar wrote: » Why bother protesting if you just have to write 'no contract' on the envelope and send it back?
darced wrote: » This post has been deleted.
zerks wrote: » And would you be back celebrating if charges did come in or would it be the wrong party?
dxhound2005 wrote: » Why bother paying to post it back. You have to pay because nobody is under any contract to return it for free. Same result, you still get a water bill next year.