JanBan24 wrote: » HI everyone I am new to this thread and to Boards.ie. I was recently accepted onto PME course with Hibernia. well done to all of you on getting the interview and your Irish results that is a great hurdle to overcome. I am living in County Longford and was wondering is there anyone in the Midlands/west region that got into the course? I am looking forward to the induction day and hope to meet loads people. Best of luck to you all in the coming year ....ps is there a facebook page set up for us?
Teenie07 wrote: » Hi Guys..I'm also starting on this course in September 2014. Is there a link for the facebook page or what do we search for? Thanks
Sonshine wrote: » I PMd mo chuisle and she can add u then!
Docscar38 wrote: » Hi folks. Ye have all probably well forgotten this thread. I was looking for anyone's opinion on the Dianchúrsa. I received an offer from Hibernia this week. I will have to complete the Dianchúrsa as well. Can anyone tell me what it entails? Is it hard? Any advice is appreciated :-)
Blablacat wrote: » As a hibernia student my advice to you is to reject the offer entirely and go to a different college. This is advice I wish I'd gotten before giving them just over €12,000.
karkar athlete wrote: » Hi Docscar38, I agree somewhat with Blablacat. I too am a current Hibernia Student and the Masters course is quite difficult. As a cohort if we complain about something all we ever get told is that 'it's a Master's level course'. The college is quite unhelpful although there have been a few times they have listened to us. I myself looking back would still take the Hibernia route as I failed to get into the other training colleges which would have meant another year wait with no guarantee. I would, if offered take one of the other colleges but in spite of an offer Hibernia is the only option. While Hibernia is not ideal, I personally do not think it completely bad. Once you do the work and apply yourself get a good result at the end of the day thats all that is needed. I have friends in other teaching colleges and I would there workload is more or less the same in some respects. In relation to the Dianchursa I too had the same offer as you. The course is absolutely useless three Saturdays at a Gaelcultur course doing bits of Irish that is useful for the interview to get onto the course in the first place when you get to the Nua-Ghaeilge module the standard of Irish is on a completely different level where you must compare short films and short stories and poetry to a "Master's level". So long story short Docscar38 - this seems as your only option therefore go for it. Work hard for two years while it is close to €14,000 in total with Hibernia compared with €11,150 with the other colleges (which I believe does not include the Gaeltacht) I find it much more accessible and you are free to work at your own pace in your own time.
Mares88 wrote: » Now Mo Chuisle, I popped into the tax office today! They told me that as its a full time course we will be exempt from the 1st 1350 or something and can only claim off 7grand a year. So she said we could be getting 1400 back next year providing we have paid d tax. Next year the same amount comes off so we might only get 300 back. I told her it was a part time course through a private college so hopefully shes right. That would be a great help! I posted off my acceptance forms today after much deliberation. I was thinking of postponing until april with the new baby but i said feck it im just going for it now. The thoughts of waiting 7 months to start is not appealing to me in the slightest. This time next year we will be half way there :)