Little CuChulainn wrote: » People say this like it's a sure thing. The provision allows for Irish Water to raise the price, having cleared it first, if they run at a loss due to low demand. It just takes account of the fact that we really have no idea how much it will cost to run a national water supply.
Satriale wrote: » Ye might be better off not using the "just doing their job" argument. Give a quick google, it doesnt have a great rep.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » I think you are trying to use the "just following orders" argument. If so it's a pretty ridiculous one to make.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » People say this like it's a sure thing. The provision allows for Irish Water to raise the price, having cleared it first, if they run at a loss due to low demand. It just takes account of the fact that we really have no idea how much it will cost to run a national water supply .
EazyD wrote: » Wouldn't fancy the inevitable infraction, so no I won't.
Iwasfrozen wrote: » How about anyone who doesn't give their PPSN doesn't get any allowances? That's a fair way to do it, no?
dxhound2005 wrote: » You will know the cost. It will be announced before you have to submit your application, and more than two months before you get your first bill. I hope other people here will find your reasoning instructive. All that will happen to people who adopt the failed Don't Register, Don't Pay approach is that they will incur higher charges and make their lives complicated. And in the end they will all pay.
mfceiling wrote: » Doesn't matter how much it costs. Bottom line is profit. If we reduce our consumption by 50%, don't think for a second your bills will reflect this.
Satriale wrote: » Feck lad read it again, i wasnt using the argument , i was advising the protax side to stop using it cause it makes you sound like traffic wardens/clampers (or as you may be alluding to, nazis, three equally nasty groups in my eyes )
Banjo String wrote: » Not how much it will cost the user's per unit. Yet they expect people to enter into a contract blindly. I'm pleading to the gods their is mass civil disobedience on this one. Without Revenue, the chances are very likely. Lots of people are underestimating the anger out there. I think the Govt are in for a short sharp shock though. The first dose to be administered on Oct 11th.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » No party will withdraw the charges. To think otherwise is lunacy.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » If i wanted you to get an infraction i would have already reported your post for accusing posters of being shills.
EazyD wrote: » Except you'd have no leg to stand on, as I made a general statement, that in no way targeted any one particular poster. Better lob another bit of bait on the rod there.
bladespin wrote: » What about those who are trying to register (for or against) that are being obstructed by the pps nonsense? Having two kids entitled to their allowance and no way of getting it without handing over their pps numbers is a major hurdle for me and quite a fcuk up from those responsible for implementing the charge/bill.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » Like I said, ridiculous.
Banjo String wrote: » Well, we'll have to agree to disagree I'm afraid. Like I said. A lot of people are underestimating the level of anger out there. Bare in mind this charge escapes no one. Social housing, tenants, over taxed middle earners, etc etc. I predict trouble and lots of it. The media aren't reporting on it, but the Gards have been ran out of estates already Garda stations surrounded by mobs of angry disillusioned people. Thousands at marches, all going unreported. Labour may be the loose link in the chain. Mark my words.
Banjo String wrote: » Bare in mind this charge escapes no one. Social housing, tenants, over taxed middle earners, etc etc. I predict trouble and lots of it.
BarryD wrote: » Ahem! Aren't you forgetting the many thousands of households who've been paying for their own water supply for many years either via private wells or group water schemes. These people have been paying twice all this time, first in their general taxes for a service the state can't or won't provide and then second to fund the supply themselves. The new water charges just even things up a bit!!
Banjo String wrote: » Garda stations surrounded by mobs of angry disillusioned people.
seamus wrote: » If this actually happened, big chunks of the media would be all over it like a rash. Whatever about RTE and their occasional wink/nod agreements with the government, Denis O'Brien's stations tend to be very happy to pick up this kind of stuff, not to mention the gutter press of the Sun and the Daily Mail.Do you even have a link to a dodgy and poorly laid out crank site to back this up?
Banjo String wrote: » Will youtube suffice https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nScZj2xb8_M This is before bills arrive on door mats (immediately after Christmas)
The media aren't reporting on it, but the Gards have been ran out of estates already Garda stations surrounded by mobs of angry disillusioned people. Thousands at marches, all going unreported.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » Hardly evidence of
Banjo String wrote: » That's what seamus wanted evidence of. It's right there I the post I quoted. That's an angry mob, outside a Garda station. The Govt should be anxious. Troubles brewing.
Banjo String wrote: » Will youtube suffice
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » Bollox You claimed gardai in riot gear being "escorted" out of estates among other claims. Show that video.
Plates wrote: » De peeples are angry. Backs to the wall, put to the pin of their collar. De Govmint are quaking in their boots. It's a revolution. Me arse. The Celtic Tiger is dead, long live the Toothless Tiger. So many mad rebels on social media. Just like when the Property Tax was due, which the vast majority are now paying.
Missyelliot2 wrote: » Just curious... has anyone handed over their PPS numbers? I haven't and don't want to - I will only hand those numbers out to revenue (which I feel, are the only people I should deal with). October next week - and still no clearer on what to do re water charges???
Fr. Ned wrote: » Only, this isn't a tax. They haven't got, nor won't have, revenue to enforce this. Revenue aren't in the business of collecting money for commercial setups.